Skip to content

kitchen diary: july 26

July 27, 2009

IMG_8324

now that i am back from vacation, summer seems to be in full swing and the markets are bursting with new fruits and vegetables each week. i’m craving a summer fruit dessert. these are my favorite kind of desserts because they are so easy to make at home … crisps, crumbles, buckles, pies, etc.

today, i make a blueberry & peach pandowdy (what a funny word, i know — i also call this the “lazy man’s pie”).  a pandowdy has only one crust (on top), and traditionally, it is cut up halfway through baking and pushed into the fruit (i never do this, though).  i think that peaches and blueberries are a dynamite combination and i have both of these fruits in my CSA box this week. i always use this recipe from gourmet, and i simply swap in whatever fruit i have on hand. if i am really feeling lazy, then i use store-bought dough as the recipe suggests. but today, amazing summer thunderstorms come rolling through brooklyn in the evening, so i make my own pie dough while the storms thrash outside. it is very much worth the effort.

IMG_8325

22 Comments leave one →
  1. marthasnail permalink
    July 27, 2009 7:37 am

    yum yum. making pie dough inside with thunderstorms outside–now that sounds so nice.

  2. July 27, 2009 7:44 am

    i just gave you a standing ovation.

  3. Nina permalink
    July 27, 2009 7:45 am

    looks so good brian. i like the pile of crumbs for some reason in the top photo. thanks for the recipe links, this is on my list of must makes.

  4. July 27, 2009 8:05 am

    Love this idea. Who needs a bottom crust anyway?

  5. July 27, 2009 8:11 am

    Brian, that photo of the empty bowl. Just awesome.

    Also, get thee this book. It is my baking bible and the second pie crust recipe (which is basically a pâte brisé) is out of this world. I have abused it so much the book binding is destroyed and all the pages are falling out. You will not regret it.

  6. July 27, 2009 8:21 am

    I second the pâte brisé too. I need to make this…peaches are so good in pie!

  7. July 27, 2009 8:33 am

    Yummy yum yum! I’m even more impressed that you made your own pie dough. I do a lot of baking but for some reason pie dough always gives me a lot of trouble. Yours looks perfect!

  8. July 27, 2009 8:45 am

    That bowl! (scrape, scrape.)

  9. July 27, 2009 10:17 am

    pandowdy! who wouldn’t love saying that. i’m going to need to try this. in fact, this might be the reason that i’m freezing all this fruit. so i can have a pandowdy in december :)

  10. July 27, 2009 10:51 am

    brilliant photos!

    …and now I’m hungry. Great. *LOL*

  11. July 27, 2009 11:16 am

    oh i want to just rush to the kitchen and make this now!
    and then curl up on the sofa with a bowl of it straight from the oven.
    perfect for our current weather (rain, slight chill.)
    also, love these photos–and your chosen combination of fruit.
    happy happy monday!

  12. July 27, 2009 11:28 am

    i think peaches and blueberries sounds PERFECT together!

  13. July 27, 2009 12:02 pm

    I am currently in the throes of full-on blueberry obsession. Freeze a layer on a baking sheet, and eat them straight out of the freezer. It’s better than sorbet.

    Our first Rhode Island peaches appeared at the market this weekend- thanks for the inspiration!

  14. July 27, 2009 12:50 pm

    well that’s just very cool. i like the idea of mashing up the top.

  15. July 27, 2009 12:57 pm

    I’m obsessed with peaches right now. Remind me to ask my mom for the best Peach Pie recipe – think it’s called Heartburn Peach Pie. yup, that’s it.

  16. July 27, 2009 4:04 pm

    This might be of interest to you too – http://www.nytimes.com/2009/07/29/dining/29mini.html?ref=dining

  17. July 27, 2009 9:04 pm

    I like pie. Very much. I make a brilliant gooseberry pie ~ with a tiny
    dash of maple syrup.

    Love the second photo ~ contented mood…

  18. July 28, 2009 7:23 am

    That blueberry & peach pandowdy is too, too much to take at this hour. As the clock nears 10:30pm and after a day spent shuffling from film cinema to film cinema such a feast I would very much appreciate. Too bad my cupboards are bare… one of the pitfalls of a film festival, I have left myself little time for anything else.

    Enjoy your summer days and your tasty bites.

  19. July 28, 2009 11:39 am

    Thanks for the recipe. I am very much NOT a cook, but I think I can handle that one.

  20. July 28, 2009 12:17 pm

    Ella Fitzgerald said it best:

    Shoo fly pie and apple pan dowdy
    Makes your eyes light up,
    Your tummy say howdy,
    Shoo fly pie and apple pan dowdy
    I never get enough of that wonderful stuff!

  21. dinnerwithjulie permalink
    August 1, 2009 4:48 pm

    You have solved my dessert problem tonight – thank you! Love the pandowdy, if only for its name. And I have a surplus of both peaches and blueberries!

Trackbacks

  1. Eat-a-Pie-a-Day: Blueberry & Peach Pandowdy | Good Food

Please leave your comment below. Thanks!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 7,457 other followers