Skip to content

in my head

October 5, 2010

. . . . . . . . .

from time to time, as i have mentioned here before, i like to rearrange this informal art wall in my flat. with the change of seasons, i recently found myself starting over fresh, and building slowly from a few visuals that have been in my head.

one of the benefits of being on the margaret howell mailing list is receiving beautiful small books for the upcoming season, usually featuring amazing photographs in addition to more specific info about a particular collection.  the most recent book of photographs for A/W 2010 featured the work of the super-talent venetia scott. i saw these photos online first a month or 2 ago, and they are even better in print.  when i got the book, i immediately cut out some pages and started putting them up.

these photos are amazing to me for many reasons; the muted, low-contrast black & white colors, the tone, the styling. all of it. and then i started adding things to the wall from there. above, you see work from leslie shows, a postcard i picked up in fernandez & wells (look familiar??), a favorite photograph taken by my friend shari, as well as one of my photos.

i think these appeal to me right now because these tones are so london. they match the colors of the buildings in east london, and they compliment this grey, dark, rainy weather we’ve been having. i must say, i’m used to an autumn full of color and golden light … but these photos speak to my experience this month in the UK. for that reason, i can’t get them out of my head … and it even makes the weather more bearable.  i’m keeping these images with me as i shoot more black & white.

i’ll show you my completed wall once i finish adding things – soon.

for a few online views of these photos from venetia scott for margaret howell, look here and here.

tomorrow, i’m going to stay on the topic of B&W inspiration and show you a great book i just bought.

13 Comments leave one →
  1. October 5, 2010 3:29 pm

    So pleased to discover your blog, Brian. Funny because I pull out pages from the Toast catalogue and place them on string above my desk. Looking forward to following your blog! Will

  2. October 5, 2010 4:51 pm

    I just signed up for her mailing list after seeing these photos. Completely inspirational!

  3. October 5, 2010 4:57 pm

    you’re so right about those b&w tones suiting london at this time of year.

  4. October 5, 2010 11:06 pm

    thanks for posting this. I’m inspired to do something similar.. I like the idea of choosing images that reflect your current experience of weather and seasons..

  5. October 5, 2010 11:34 pm

    I love the idea of cutting up pictures from a book and putting it on the wall — I honestly would never have even thought of that. From the looks of it, it’s going to be lovely. Can’t wait to see how it turns out. :)

    PS: Your blog is absolutely lovely — muted and serene, but lively all at once. So glad I came across it.

  6. October 6, 2010 3:05 am

    looking forward to tomorrow. your blog is beautiful

  7. October 6, 2010 4:08 am

    I have that F&W postcard on my kitchen wall too… and Margaret Howell’s lookbooks are always exactly how I want to look. I’m living in hope that one day soon we’ll have one of those dry, blue skied golden autumnal days – they do exist in London, maybe the rarity makes them even more special.

  8. October 6, 2010 4:36 am

    hi Brian, I just discovered your blog. it’s wonderful. I also live in the East of London for now, and I’m with you. no golden autumns here, unfortunately. but the winters are quite mild and spring starts very early. something to look forward to.

  9. October 6, 2010 11:01 am

    Ha ha, I almost got sold on the “grey, dark, rainy weather” but no! I’m waiting for the magic days where it’s cold enough to see your breath yet the sun is so bright it warms the tip of one’s ears. Days like the ones I experienced when I first got acquainted with London six years ago.

  10. October 6, 2010 2:10 pm

    yes, those tones are bang on.
    have you seen the forecast? you might get a sunny, crisp day sooner than you think!

  11. October 7, 2010 12:43 am

    Hello! I’m pretty new around here. These are great choices and beautifully displayed images; I often find myself cutting up magazines and catalogues for my work inspiration board(s) but mine are much more messy. Here in France we have a magazine called Citizen K (do you get it in the uk?) which has some incredible photography. You should try and get a copy :)

  12. October 13, 2010 8:13 am

    How did you hang the photo’s? Did you make it yourself?
    Keep on going! tnx

Trackbacks

  1. up on the wall «

Please leave your comment below. Thanks!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 8,090 other followers