Skip to content

notes on italy, 7

June 7, 2011

-
-

-
-

-
-

-
-

-
-

-
-

-
-

-
-

-
-

-
-

-
-

-
-

-
-

-
-

-
-

-
-

-
-

-
-

-
-

-
-

-
-
. . . . . . . . . .

and then i took an early morning train to florence. i met up with old friends, attended a wedding in the countryside, and ate as much as i could in 3 days.

4 things of note, pictured above:
1. palazzo strozzi just might be my favorite spot in florence. quiet, light-filled, beautiful … a place to sit or to see some art.
2. trattoria cibrèo was as good as i imagined it would be (…but tomorrow i’ll tell you about my favorite meal of the entire trip)
3. the food market of san ambrogio! wow.
4. i really enjoyed the area around santa croce for strolling. i stumbled upon a little studio space and the owner graciously let me snap some pics. the light was STUNNING.

i’ll post more from florence & the countryside later today.

25 Comments leave one →
  1. June 7, 2011 12:47 pm

    I wish that I could constantly have these photos floating before my eyes. They are so gorgeous. Thank you for sharing – can’t wait for the next series!

  2. June 7, 2011 1:03 pm

    This batch in particular is stunning. Inspiration-board material. Love the froth in the coffee cup…reminds me of my mother’s “toxic sludge” coffee which HAD to be cut with boiling water or milk. Not even my dad, who had a cast iron stomach, could drink it straight. Thanks for the reminder of that long-ago image.

  3. June 7, 2011 1:05 pm

    this has been my favourite set of images, maybe because florence is my favourite city.

  4. June 7, 2011 1:13 pm

    Wow . ! .. I realy like nr2. Great light.

  5. June 7, 2011 1:14 pm

    Really stunning shots, Brian.
    Florence is so beautiful…it’s kind of overwhelming. What a fun that wedding must’ve been!
    I hope you are well.

  6. June 7, 2011 1:21 pm

    gorgeous!

  7. June 7, 2011 1:22 pm

    Beautiful, simple photos of Italy. Thank you for sharing. The Hasselbald is so clear and beautiful!!!

  8. June 7, 2011 1:38 pm

    Florence is one of my best trip memories ever. Happy to see your gorgeous pictures of it.

  9. June 7, 2011 1:48 pm

    Your photos capture everything I loved about Italy…I’d give ANYTHING to be back there right now… While I was there, I found myself wanting to freeze everything in my memory… Not only did I write a mini-book (the first time I have journaled successfully for any length of time), but 1 month in Italy equated to 3000 photos… Thank you so very much for sharing your work…it transports me back to one of the happiest times of my life!

  10. June 7, 2011 2:29 pm

    I might have a tear in my eye – it’s probably just dust. *cough* Well, seeing as I….”used to live in” Via S.Spirito AND before that in S. Croce (sorry but it’s true!) I think I’m allowed to shed a little tear. You captured it, absolutely.

    Don’t tell me you ate a lampredotto sandwich and liked it! Can’t wait to hear what your favourite meal was.

  11. June 7, 2011 2:40 pm

    I’m really enjoying these posts, Brian.

  12. sueysong permalink
    June 7, 2011 2:55 pm

    it surely is stunning.

  13. June 7, 2011 3:47 pm

    Truly beautiful pics that capture what I miss about Italy. Thank you for sharing them!

  14. nina permalink
    June 7, 2011 4:10 pm

    these are by far, my favorite groupings yet! i just spent 10 days in march in venice, rome, and florence and fell in love with florence the most. i am already scheming when i can return and your shots remind me of why i so love italy…thank you brian! :)

  15. June 7, 2011 5:13 pm

    Many years ago I visited Florence. The city has impressed me. I think I need to dig out my analog photos of Florence.
    Your photos are beautiful anyway. Perfect Italian.

  16. June 7, 2011 8:49 pm

    Just brilliant. I can’t wait to get back to Italy again, its been almost ten years. Inspiring work

  17. June 7, 2011 9:15 pm

    I really love all of these photos, but the corner shot with the bar sign is my favorite. Stunning.

  18. June 9, 2011 2:56 pm

    Beautiful set!

  19. June 11, 2011 4:12 pm

    Brian, I love the Mercato di Sant’Ambrogio area too, did you eat at that lampredotto stall? Very delicious, my favourite lampredotto stall in Firenze! I don’t think you can get it outside Firenze. When I am there I like to have lunch in cibreo too, the staffs are always very sweet to me. And I love food shopping at Mercato di Sant’Ambrogio, better than Mercato Centrale, there is a particular salumi stand inside the market where I usually get my stuff. Did you go the la via del te’ in front of the market? They have wonderful tea there…well…you won’t probably need it, you live in London, lots of nice places to buy tea :) Anyway, beautiful photos of Firenze, love them!

  20. June 11, 2011 6:55 pm

    bellisima. grazie!

  21. June 13, 2011 12:55 pm

    Absolutely love the Italy series, looking forward to more :)

  22. June 14, 2011 9:15 pm

    I got back from computer issues to see all of your Italy pictures and they were all beautiful to look through. From 1 – 7, all of the pictures seem so alive and peaceful and vibrant. I’ve loved spending the past while looking through and catching up with your trip. It looks/sounds like you had a great time. Thank you so much for sharing.

  23. June 16, 2011 6:07 pm

    aw what a nostalgia! these photos just capture that intimate atmosphere that make those small districts a charming and vivid daydream!

Trackbacks

  1. Daily Roundup | Selectism.com
  2. Meanwhile, On the Internet … « Stag Blog

Please leave your comment below. Thanks!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 7,508 other followers