Skip to content

New

November 29, 2011

-
-

-
-

-
-
. . . . . . . .

Lately, everything is new.

New apartment.
New neighborhood.
New morning routine.
New commute.
New office.
New cell phone.
New light.
New food.

It’s coming on fast, all of this “new-ness”. It’s invigorating and exhausting at the same time. I try to slow it down. A little at a time, I say to myself. Slower.

In a way, the transition was easy. It felt like one day I was living in London, and the next day I was back in NYC, visiting my old haunts and seeing my old friends.

But I find myself trying to hang on to the old, while welcoming in the new. It’s harder than it seems. I want to start taking photos in my new environment, but I also want to linger on the images of London sitting on my hard drive. And I can’t figure out what I want to post on this blog lately – London or New York? What feels right? I’m not sure.

This is the harder part of the transition. You can find yourself an apartment, set up a new phone line, change your mailing address, unpack your boxes. But I think my head will take longer to come around. It will happen though. One piece at a time.

42 Comments leave one →
  1. November 29, 2011 2:01 pm

    When I moved back from England years ago it was the grocery stores that caused me the most trouble. I’d get stuck in the soup aisle. Or the dairy section. And just about sob at the clash of alien and familiar. You’re right, go slowly.

  2. November 29, 2011 2:02 pm

    Lovely! I recently just moved from Boston to London and I still don’t really believe that I live in London yet. Transitions are an adjustment. Good luck!

  3. November 29, 2011 2:09 pm

    Isn’t that funny how it all shifts in a blink of an eye? We were all settled in within days here in Houston, but it really took me most of the summer to really adjust.

  4. Christie Brewster permalink
    November 29, 2011 2:12 pm

    I know exactly how you feel Brian… I still reminisce about life in Sydney. I sometimes feel like my heart can’t keep up with my head :)

  5. Tahnee permalink
    November 29, 2011 2:12 pm

    I’ve experienced that feeling far too many times this past year and have never been able to put it so eloquently. Thank you. It’s nice to know that others feel the same. As always, your pictures are beyond wonderful.

  6. November 29, 2011 2:20 pm

    That twilight zone of being in transition! People often ask me which city I would prefer to live in, London or New York, and I am incapable of coming up with a simple answer when circumstances are so much more complicated. Best wishes to you for being here when thoughts for now are pre-occupied with being there. Two of the most wonderful places to be!

  7. November 29, 2011 2:26 pm

    Sometimes the mind travels faster than the speed of light. As we all know so well, the head can take us where We are not. It seems to me then that the challenge for us humans is not so much getting the mind to catch up as for all the various parts of us to agree, “Yes, this is where we are; This is where we belong; THIS feels like ‘home’.” maybe something like integrating the whole of who we are to sing in chorus. And you’re so right – a piece at a time. Bit by bit it happens. Wishing all good things Brian!

  8. November 29, 2011 2:40 pm

    beautifully put.

  9. November 29, 2011 2:54 pm

    yes, you put that well. feeling similar feelings at this moment and unable to describe them properly.

  10. November 29, 2011 2:57 pm

    I think it’s better to look at the similarities and differences of both locations. yup. one piecce at a time. dwell on the present. enjoy the moment :D

  11. Jennifer permalink
    November 29, 2011 3:10 pm

    I feel like I’ve left pieces of myself all over the globe and as the memories fade I get frantic to go back and recapture my familiarity. It’s difficult to remain present, I think large photos of the other places all around the house help. And diving head first into the new routine. Be well

  12. November 29, 2011 3:23 pm

    i am experiencing the same things as i transition from hawaii to my next step (not sure yet?). life is funny like that. change is good but it can be a little disorienting until things are finally settled in.

  13. November 29, 2011 4:01 pm

    Love this post and all of your ‘new-ness.’ I felt like this years ago moving back to OH from CA. I’d see folks & couldn’t remember if I knew them “from here” or “from there.” Let yourself take as long as you need. :-)

  14. November 29, 2011 4:10 pm

    Hope you’re adjusting. For me the difficult part is finding a new routine, as much as I hate routines I like everything at least feels familiar. These photos are wonderful!

  15. November 29, 2011 4:15 pm

    It must be quite an adjustment even though you are from NY. There is just no other city like London. I just spent only 2 months there and I’ve been back a month, but still my blog wants to be about London and not my small home city of Portland.

  16. November 29, 2011 4:39 pm

    Moving back from Australia to Europe, last things that changes were the Internet profiles…I had completely forgotten about my “virtual me” whilst setteling the real me. – But: I still eat Vegemite.

  17. November 29, 2011 4:45 pm

    A case of your heart and head racing over the last few moments, months and minutes. Hope that you get both times of slow and fast (often exciting)!
    The very best to you as you settle in!
    D x

  18. November 29, 2011 6:12 pm

    welcome back !

  19. November 29, 2011 6:22 pm

    I know what you mean. But it’s ok, just post what you feel like posting. This is YOUR space, you know? Hell, I’m still posting summer pictures from California… Sometimes that’s just what’s on my mind and where I wish I were. London or NYC, both are fantastic, and your pictures always are, as well.

  20. nancy permalink
    November 29, 2011 6:43 pm

    someone once said to me, it takes as long to return to “normal,” after a vacation as she had been away.
    post some of each of your places in the same post, honoring your head and your heart.

  21. November 29, 2011 7:35 pm

    A bit of both will help do the trick, eventually empty your hard-drive and maybe your head will follow.

  22. November 29, 2011 8:09 pm

    I love the buildings in the last photo. White and red brick buildings are incredibly beautiful.

    I know exactly how you feel. I moved to Oregon from France a month ago and I still have a difficult time wrapping my head around all those big changes in my life. I have photos taken in France before I left to post, and new photos taken here to process and I just don’t know which ones I want to be writing about.

  23. November 29, 2011 9:24 pm

    London london london! :)

  24. November 29, 2011 10:12 pm

    welcome back brian. hope to see you sooner than later!

  25. marthasnail permalink
    November 29, 2011 11:24 pm

    your words remind me of our transition from NC to VT. it does take awhile to feel settled. invigorating and exhausting. yes. like that. thinking of you.

  26. November 30, 2011 12:21 am

    It usually takes me a month to the day. But for one month I’m insane.

  27. November 30, 2011 2:26 am

    oh yes… I know..

  28. November 30, 2011 2:46 am

    Maybe you just don’t need to fight it.

  29. November 30, 2011 3:42 am

    That’s the beauty of life: “One piece at a time.”

  30. November 30, 2011 10:41 am

    Well for selfish reasons I certainly loved your London stuff, especially when I was away living in Vancouver, it was a nice reminder of home. I can really understand your sense of feeling inbetween. I’ve been back two months now and it took a long time to stop feeling so strange. When people ask ‘how are you settling in?’, you just don’t even know how to answer them.

    But you’re right, a cellphone, an apartment are just the outward semblances of settling, your head will take so much longer.

  31. November 30, 2011 11:13 am

    I for one can’t wait to see your new-ness mate, but like you say, one step at a time.

    (Can’t argue with this new (old) light though can you?)

  32. November 30, 2011 12:01 pm

    so intrigued to follow you through both the oldness and the newness.

    – will be visiting NYC with the boyfriend now in December, experiencing the bigcity for the first time, so exited to hear and see some from there as well :)
    compared to London it feels so bold, I hope to find the comforting corners there too.

    x

  33. November 30, 2011 1:33 pm

    How I can relate to that post!
    Your very first photo really knocked me off my chair…. it’s stunning and…. telling!!!

  34. November 30, 2011 5:27 pm

    Lovely photos of Brooklyn. The colours, the light, the autumn, the new-ness. Good luck with the apartment! x

  35. November 30, 2011 7:18 pm

    Welcome back to the states Brian!
    Just remember that there are no beginnings and no endings, only movement.

  36. lila permalink
    December 1, 2011 6:46 am

    i love that in between floating space of not being in the place you just left but not fully present where you are…sort of a dreamlike state…it takes the body, mind and soul some moments to land.
    your photos are lovely.

  37. December 1, 2011 4:45 pm

    sometimes i wonder if there’s a certain part of my brain that is locked to the retrospective mode. there’s something to be said for that space… it’s a strange and interesting spot to inhabit… to be honest, sometimes I think I prolong my transition periods to take advantage of the creative disorientation of that space. read some Rilke if you like poetry. the poems to orpheus maybe… i like your blog quite a lot.

  38. Danielle Charles permalink
    December 5, 2011 1:38 am

    I remember once I sort of eccentric man I knew, telling me that he wouldn’t fly because it took too long for his spirit to catch up to his body. I think that’s what it feels like, to move in the way we do. We are present in one way, but absent in other, more important ones. But eventually we catch up with ourselves. It’s lovely when that happens. By the way, I’m so astounded that you’ve already found a place to live and started working and all that!

  39. December 6, 2011 1:55 pm

    the inbetween is always an unsettling space, but it’s also one of the most interesting. you take it less for granted. you question it a little.
    love the photographs, and this post.

  40. December 11, 2011 2:41 pm

    hi Brian,
    this is my first comment on your blog, I stop in from time to time to see what your up too as I really love your photographs. I stopped by when you moved to London and now I’m back again in time for your move back to NY. I just wanted to say that I’m looking forward to seeing all the newness and I will enjoy looking back through the old.

Trackbacks

  1. daisy mint « words | images
  2. Daily Roundup | Selectism.com

Please leave your comment below. Thanks!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 8,134 other followers