Skip to content

December 12

December 12, 2011

-
-

-
-

-
-

-
-

-
-

-
-

-
-

-
-

-
-

-
-

-
-
I’m missing London today so I thought I’d post some photos from my old flat (and photos 4, 5, 6 and 11 were taken at Charlotte & Matt’s flat).
-
. . . . . .
-

As I get ready to move into a new apartment, I’ve been thinking a lot about home lately. Both in practical terms (utility, efficiency, setting things up, deciding where to put the couch and where I want to hang a piece of art, etc.) and in more emotional terms (how do I want my home to feel? what is the light like in here? what arrangement of things will make it comfortable for me and for my guests? what is the vibe of the space?).  Setting up a living space makes me stop and think a lot.

Along those lines, I’m sharing 2 sets of photographs taken at different homes that I’ve been thinking about lately:
1. My friend Mary Gaudin spent a few days staying at Le Corbusier’s Unité d’habitation (Cité Radieuse) and took some incredible photographs there.
2. Jennilee Marigomen photographed Erin Templeton’s home for 01 Magazine – I find myself looking back at these photos often

-

13 Comments leave one →
  1. December 12, 2011 7:20 pm

    Setting up a new home can be fun, but it also takes a lot of foresight. We moved into our flat in September and yesterday we rearranged two rooms. Enjoy your new home.

  2. December 12, 2011 7:26 pm

    thanks for the link up!

  3. December 12, 2011 7:31 pm

    thanks for the link to erin templeton’s house photos. i love them. inspiring and a little free-ing, for me.

    the fact that you think about home so much, mr. ferry, guarantees that yours will be a warm and welcoming one.

    best wishes,
    tt

  4. December 12, 2011 9:07 pm

    i find myself in the same situation as i make a big move from an island to the big city of LA. we’ll see how the adjusting goes. best of luck!

  5. December 12, 2011 9:33 pm

    Your images show really well how often small things make home being home.

  6. December 13, 2011 6:46 am

    yes. yes. yes. i think about this so often. home is the most important thing to me. the lighting, my things gathered over years, artwork, furniture, the way the space feels…it’s alot….and very enjoyable if you like. i have recently really been hit over the head with this all lately. in more ways than one. (long story)
    have fun and enjoy getting settled!

  7. December 13, 2011 6:47 am

    p.s. great couch.

  8. nileta permalink
    December 13, 2011 10:54 am

    cant wait to see what your new apartment will look like. i simply love the light in your pictures.

  9. rodi permalink
    December 13, 2011 3:55 pm

    I just found the pictures of Erin Templeton’s apartment last week and I cannot stop looking at them- I have got to find the plant she has in the bathroom. I hope you have so much fun setting up your new apartment! One of the best things about moving to a new place is how all your stuff looks different and exciting in it’s new configurations.

  10. December 13, 2011 8:41 pm

    I loved this post so much. I read the guest post as well as looking at Erin T’s home which was equally rustic and beautiful.

  11. December 13, 2011 11:37 pm

    ahhh, that sunny sunday…
    home and space and use are very good things to think about, ferry.

  12. December 14, 2011 5:05 pm

    Beautiful light.
    (Like the black shiny tiles in your friend’s kitchen.)
    I’ll miss the photos of your flat in London but I also look forward to your new ones from new places.

  13. December 16, 2011 3:18 pm

    These pictures are so beautiful, Brian. I love you how manage to take an everyday object or place, even if it’s just a door frame or bowl of almonds, and make it beautiful. Really inspiring.
    Best,
    Charlotte

Please leave your comment below. Thanks!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 6,420 other followers