Skip to content

In Los Angeles, part 2

October 22, 2012

Untitled

-
-

Untitled

-
-

Untitled

-
-

Untitled

-
-

Untitled

-
-

Untitled

-
-

Untitled

-
-

Untitled

-
-

Untitled

-
-

Untitled

-
-

Untitled

-
-

Untitled

-
-

Untitled

-
-
. . . . . .
-
-
Seven things I want to share:

  1. Leaves: I am consistently moved and entertained by Jeremy’s writing on his blog, Leaves. A recent favorite is “yes there were yellow leaves” – I’ve read it 3 times already.
  2. Studio Music: I am currently editing a huge batch of photos from LA so that means 10 hours in front of my computer each day. To keep myself occupied, I’ve been listening to Studio Music, mixes from an amazing group of artists who have diverse, wonderful taste in music. 2 favorites so far are Emmet Byrne and Landon Metz. I want to listen to them all (and I just might do so by the time I finish editing photos)
  3. Ceramics Class by Ye Rin Mok: Ye Rin is one of my favorite photographers and her new zine features photographs from her ceramics class – I just received this in the mail last week and I’ve been looking at it every day since.
  4. Jasanský & Polák: Czech photographer duo whose work is really inspiring to me (via Mary). I especially like the series 94-96 Abstraction and 2010 Color Photography
  5. Ed Panar, Golden Palms: my friend Matthieu introduced me to this book and it’s on my wishlist now, especially after visiting & photographing Los Angeles this year.
  6. LDBA Art School: my friend Sara Moffat is incredibly talented and has amazing energy – and she’s just started L’Ecole Des Beaux Arts (LDBA), which is a hardware, housewares and artist supply store that also offers skill-based classes taught by artists and tradespeople in the NY area and beyond. The next step for LDBA is fundraising via Kickstarter – go here to learn more and support her, I really think this is a wonderful idea and she has an incredible roster of people teaching classes in return for your pledge of support. (side note: I will be teaching an analogue film photography course for people who pledge $95 or more – do it!).
  7. New restaurants: 2 new spots opened up in my neighborhood and they are both delicious: The Wallace and Brooklyn Sandwich Society (even though it has a terrible name…).
7 Comments leave one →
  1. October 22, 2012 12:16 pm

    I love it when you share the things you love. They always make me think or smile or both. Thanks.

  2. October 22, 2012 12:39 pm

    wow wow the ground in the second photo is so special. LA is always color and geometry to me, shapes and shapes. these photos really show that.

  3. October 23, 2012 8:29 am

    I loved “yes there were yellow leaves” – thank you for sharing that. It made me stare at my computer with my mouth gaping. I love the last photo of sun on cactus.

  4. October 23, 2012 11:13 pm

    the peeling pastel paint, fading vines, cracked mission roofing tiles … oh LA, sometimes even I can be made to miss you. thanks brian :) (and studio music! yes! we are fans).

  5. October 24, 2012 5:50 am

    very inspiring L.A. pictures indeed! and thanks for the great links, enjoyed them immensely.

  6. October 25, 2012 10:32 pm

    Brian, as ever you share small treasures with each post – the leaves blog? Now on my favs list. Lush and gorgeous writing – no wonder you’ve read the yellow leaves post 3 times!

    And clearly LA loves you (and you love LA) – I look at your pics and I hear “California Dreamin’…..” in my head. How you capture the light – oh my!

  7. October 26, 2012 8:04 am

    Reblogged this on ladagim-פתרונות דייג חוף and commented:
    very good

Please leave your comment below. Thanks!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 7,715 other followers