Skip to content

Tumblring

November 5, 2012

Untitled

-
-
A cabin in the woods near Altadena, CA
Oct. 2012
(from a forthcoming series of new work)

-
-
. . . . . .
-
-
For the past couple of months, I’ve been keeping a Tumblr journal where I post some of my photographs. I’ve been very vocal about my dislike of Tumblr in the past, as you probably recall. I still have serious issues with the amount of reblogging that happens there when no credit is given to the owners of copyrighted images.

But I’ve also spoken with a few photo professional friends and they helped to change my mind about posting my own work on Tumblr. A lot of photo editors, photographers and other related professionals use Tumblr to follow the work of artists that they like. Also, if I post my photos to my own Tumblr site, then they may retain proper credit if they are re-blogged, which is good.

So far, I like the ease of Tumblr – this WordPress blog has always been a place where I can post a whole series of related photographs, often with writing or links. Tumblr’s platform is different – I like how I can quickly post single images there, often randomly. I’ve been dipping into my archives a bit and posting old photos, as well as outtakes from previous work and photos taken with my cell phone.  I don’t plan to post the work of others on Tumblr – just my own.

Nothing will change here — I will continue to post as I normally do on the blue hour (don’t worry). But if you have a Tumblr account or if you are interested, you can follow me at brianwferry.tumblr.com. And I’ve added a link to my Tumblr journal here (in the sidebar on the left), so you can check in there even if you don’t have a Tumblr account.

One Comment leave one →
  1. November 7, 2012 6:40 pm

    I share your sentiment about posting work on tumblr. I used to use it, but recently switched to blogger. Looking forward to seeing more of your work both on here and your tumblr site.

Please leave your comment below. Thanks!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 6,432 other followers