Skip to content

Arboretum, November

December 19, 2012

1-20490022

-
-

2-20490011

-
-

3-20490012

-
-

4-20490013

-
-

5-20490026

-
-

6-20490027

-
-

7-20490018

-
-

8-20490028

-
-

9-20490019

-
-

Untitled

-
-

Untitled

-
-

Untitled

-
-
. . . . . . .
-
-

In mid-November, I spent some time back in Ann Arbor, Michigan. On my last day there, I went for a long walk in the Nichols Arboretum, one of my favorite spots when I was a student. I snapped the photos above and they feel like November to me. Before the Winter solstice occurs in a couple of days, I wanted to post them here.  The colors have really stuck with me.

Today I turn 33 years old and I guess it’s making me feel a bit reflective – so I’d like to do a post or two in the coming week, looking back on the past year’s work. It’s been a good one – intense, but very good. I feel like it’s important to dwell on it before launching into a new year. Stay tuned.

But I’ve been super busy finishing up projects from 2012 over the past couple of weeks. I have a new series of personal work that I’ll share with you tomorrow (fingers crossed). Then I’ll post a few more times in the coming days as I finish work for the year before a holiday break until 2013.

In the meantime:
+ Wish I could see Matt Paweski’s furniture exhibit, “The Fancy World”, in person at South Willard.  Matt is brilliant (I’m planning a studio visit with him in 2013 – stay tuned)
+ I’m listening to John Fahey’s Christmas album a lot (I really need to get this on vinyl…)
+ I’m obsessed with finding the original hanging faces from Bennington Pottery after seeing this one at Al & Erika’s apartment Saturday night (look at this guy!)
+ And as always in December, I’m listening to the This American Life Holiday Spectacular, a favorite of mine
+ A favorite photo from last week’s shoot at artist Matthew Ronay’s studio

16 Comments leave one →
  1. December 19, 2012 12:13 pm

    Wishing you a happy birthday from the west coast, Brian. Looking forward to seeing the new series and thanks for the heads-up on Matt Paweski’s exhibit — will certainly be popping by.

    Happy holidays to ya!

  2. December 19, 2012 12:18 pm

    happy birthday, Brian!

  3. Gracie permalink
    December 19, 2012 12:20 pm

    Happy birthday! I was surprised to see my school’s backyard on your blog!

  4. Maria permalink
    December 19, 2012 1:07 pm

    Long time follower but no idea you were an Ann Arbor guy. Great to see my native turf through your eyes. Inspired me to take my dog to the Arb right now. She thanks you.

  5. claire permalink
    December 19, 2012 1:17 pm

    happy birthday, bf!
    love the light in these shots.

  6. December 19, 2012 1:28 pm

    Happy Birthday Brian…cheers!

  7. December 19, 2012 2:01 pm

    Many happy returns, Brian! Looking forward to reading your thoughts on the last year.

  8. December 19, 2012 2:09 pm

    Happy birthday – have a good, successful and creative year with many perfect photo opportunities!

  9. December 19, 2012 6:47 pm

    Wishing you a very happy birthday!

  10. December 19, 2012 7:10 pm

    Happy Birthday, Brian!

  11. December 19, 2012 7:54 pm

    Happy birthday, Brian. Can’t wait to read your reminiscence.

  12. Betsy permalink
    December 20, 2012 9:40 am

    “I feel like it’s important to dwell on it before launching into a new year.”

    Thank you for these words. I hope that you had a most lovely 33rd!

  13. mghallock permalink
    December 20, 2012 11:05 am

    Beautiful shots of the Arb.

    I graduated from the University of MIchigan, seeing these photograph’s remind me of the epitaph on Fielding Yost’s grave, “I wish to lie where the spirit of Michigan is warmest.”

  14. December 20, 2012 3:31 pm

    Happy belated birthday, Brian. I am forever inspired by your work!

  15. December 22, 2012 3:19 pm

    A belated happy birthday to you Brian! And I especially love the shot of the stalks with the light behind them.

  16. Sara permalink
    December 24, 2012 7:27 pm

    Nice to see A2. I grew up there/here/ am visiting my mum as we speak. In the winter we went to “the arb” and ottered on our bellies down the snowy hills. A lot of beauty here in this city of trees.

Please leave your comment below. Thanks!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 7,174 other followers