Skip to content

2012

December 26, 2012

Untitled

Just after the New Year, Marlow & Sons, Brooklyn NY

Untitled

Home in Brooklyn, Winter

Untitled

Jessica Barensfeld & Simon Howell’s apartment for Freunde von Freunden

5526-_3A_0176 copy

“Burst” – UK (March 2012), part of my exhibition series “This Is What Was Once All Yours”

"Camellias, SW11"

“Camellias, SW1″ – London (March 2012), part of my exhibition series “This Is What Was Once All Yours”

Untitled

Southern California, April 2012

Untitled

Echo Park Lemon Tree, April 2012

Untitled

Home in Brooklyn, Spring 2012

Garrett

Garrett, Los Angeles, April 2012

Untitled

Griffith Observatory, LA, April 2012

Untitled

Los Angeles, April 2012

Untitled

LA Cabin Living, April 2012

Untitled

The new Wythe Hotel photographed for Brooklyn Magazine, May 2012

Untitled

New York City – part of a series of photos for VERITIES magazine in the UK

Untitled

Christophe, England, March 2012

Untitled

Clinton Hill in the Spring

Untitled

Watermelon

UntitledAndrew in Brooklyn

Untitled

Rockaway with Dom

Untitled

Tent in Angeles National Forest, California – April 2012

Untitled

The light at home, Brooklyn

Untitled

Summer storm, Brooklyn

Untitled

Gemma, Watch Hill RI, Summer

Untitled

Windowsill still life

Untitled

Torrey Pines, CA

Untitled

Joseph Shuldiner’s home, April 2012

Untitled

Shari, Vermont, July 2012

Untitled
Vancouver with Old Faithful Shop – April 2012

Untitled

Vermont, summer nap

Untitled

Vermont Road

Dying flowers at Kyle's place

Dying flowers in Kyle’s shop

Untitled

Isabel Wilson’s apartment for Freunde von Freunden

Untitled

Turtles at Isabel Wilson’s apartment – for Freunde von Freunden

Untitled

The ferry to Vinalhaven, Maine – August

Will

Will – Tandem Coffee Roasters, Portland Maine

Untitled

The ferry to Vinalhaven, Maine – August

Untitled

Night flora, Vermont

Untitled

Evening swim with Ryan – Maine, August

Untitled

Arto Barragan photographed for Baron Wells

Untitled

Dying flowers, Owls Head Maine

Untitled

Aaron Ruff’s studio photographed for Brooklyn Magazine

Untitled

UK, March

Untitled

London, March

Untitled

Walking in Los Angeles, April

Untitled

Arto Barragan photographed for Baron Wells

Untitled

New personal series: Ennui for synonym journal

Untitled

New personal series: Ennui for synonym journal

Untitled

Todd Colby, Brooklyn

Untitled

J. Morgan Puett’s MoMA installation photographed for the  NY Times T Magazine Blog (with Wilder Quarterly)

Untitled

Owls Head, Maine – August

Untitled

L.A., October

Untitled

LA Cabin Living, October

Untitled

Abstract Black and White, L.A. – October

Untitled

Lauri Kranz – Edible Gardens L.A. commission

Untitled

A Cabin in Angeles National Forest, California (October)

Untitled

Tracy Wilkinson’s LA home (series posted on Freunde von Freunden)

Untitled

Salt Water Farm Asado photographed for Wilder Quarterly Fall 2012 issue

Untitled

Salt Water Farm Asado photographed for Wilder Quarterly Fall 2012 issue

Untitled

Curbs, Los Angeles

Untitled

Home, November

Untitled

The light in Michigan, November

Untitled

Brooklyn sculptures

Untitled

Editorial – Clinton Hill apartment photographed for Brooklyn Magazine

Untitled

Tracy Wilkinson’s LA home for Freunde von Freunden

Untitled

Tracy Wilkinson’s LA home for Freunde von Freunden

Untitled

Dropped leaves at home in Brooklyn, November

Untitled

Matthew Ronay’s studio (full shoot coming in 2013!)

Untitled

A cabin in the Angeles National Forest, California

Untitled

A Cabin in the Angeles National Forest, California

Untitled

Daniel Kent photographed outside of his cabin, Angeles National Forest, California

-
-
. . . . . . .
-
-

These are all my own favorite photographs taken during the past year (even narrowing it down to this many was nearly impossible though…)

When I was going back through my archives from 2012 and choosing the photos to include here, I was thinking about all that I have seen and photographed and all of the people I’ve met this year. And unsurprisingly, when I think back on this past year I don’t remember the little struggles or the daily stresses that inevitably pop up as a freelance photographer. And there are many – working for myself as a photographer has been incredibly rewarding and I still can’t believe that this is my job now. But it can also be isolating, difficult, nerve-wracking and stressful – just like any job, I guess.

Instead, what I remember about 2012 are the moments I saw and those that I captured with my cameras. I was so fortunate to travel to lots of different places – some of them new to me, other places that are familiar. I met interesting people along the way and heard their stories and tried to capture something about them — their home, their art, their gardens, their work, their smile, their collections or favorite books, their families.

I think this is really the best part about being a photographer, whether it is paid work or personal work or even cell-phone snaps on Instagram – an opportunity to look closely and to listen, to take the time and really see something. It’s an invitation to seek new things and search out new experiences and to capture the essence of it all through my lens.

And I want to thank you for your support this year – for sharing my work with your colleagues and families and friends, for sending me incredibly kind emails and notes, for buying photo prints and posters, for introducing me to people and new ideas, and for giving me the confidence to pursue photography full-time this year.

I’ve learned so much over the past 12 months, and it has been a huge investment of time (and money…). But man, it is absolutely 100% worth it. Next year, I will need to focus more on paid photography work and commercial jobs, but I will always remain focused on creating photos that mean something to me. And I can’t wait to see what 2013 will bring – new places, new friends, new experiences and ideas, and new ways of seeing the world and distilling my experiences into photographs.

Happy holidays and happy new year. See you in 2013!

21 Comments leave one →
  1. December 26, 2012 2:22 pm

    Happy holidays Brian! One of my favorite moments this December has been finding homes on our walls for your prints – we love them. Thanks for sharing this little retrospective – you picked some of my personal favorites, too. Hope 2013 brings you so much that is good.

  2. December 26, 2012 3:06 pm

    Lovely pictures, all of them. All the best for new year !!

  3. Ana permalink
    December 26, 2012 3:39 pm

    Many of these are my favorite as well. I’m not surprised to find they still conjure up the same emotions and thoughts. I only wish they were all in some book called “Ferry’s Blue Hour – Volume I” …or something like that. I was struck again by your lemon tree photo, as I’ve ever seen one in person. A must do in 2013. Happy New Year, Brian.

  4. December 26, 2012 3:51 pm

    Hey Brian. It’s been a while since I left a comment but I just wanted to say that I’m so happy for you. This year must have been truly immense for you and fairly overwhelming at times. You can be sure that all your hard work and perseverance is paying off. I have looked forward to receiving each and every email update for ‘the blue hour’ this year and it really has been such a joy to watch your story unfold, mostly because you tell it so well. What I love the most, is the way you tell it like it really is, always remaining true to your personal style. Sometimes I look at other professional photographers’ work and the immediate reaction that I get is along the lines of ‘that looks false, artificial and far too staged’. However, whether I’m looking at just a few of your photos or considering your portfolio of work as a whole, those thoughts never cross my mind.
    Sometimes there is a surprising element that makes me wonder whether I would’ve been able to see things the way you do. Life through your eyes seems to be so beautiful! Ultimately though, the images are always fresh and inspired, with a certain poetic quality. The way you have designed your life and presented it for us to see is inspirational. You have encouraged me to take a step back and put more thought into the way I see things myself.
    It is unsurprising that you will be kept busy with plenty of paid and commercial work during this coming year. That was always going to be inevitable. Anyway, it’s wonderful to see that you’ve continually maintained focus on that all important ability to create photos that mean something not just to yourself, but to many of us who have great faith in you. Thank you for sharing. Wishing you all the best in 2013 and hoping you have many more good times to come!
    Christine [London]

  5. December 27, 2012 6:52 am

    Thanks for your nice review – I wish you much free time and opportunities for your personal projects in 2013!

  6. December 27, 2012 11:53 pm

    Hello. As I’m typing words here, I just realize that on my desk, there’s your Quality Of Life edition book facing me and leaning against the wall. I needed to remind myself of something good even at work. What a great moment to look back; I hope that the new year is going to be exciting with a lot of opportunities for all of us. Pursuing what you enjoy to do as your profession is big inspiration and encouragement to me. Moreover, I really like not only seeing your new works but reading your thoughts here. Happy new year, Brain.

  7. December 28, 2012 8:48 am

    Nice! Happy new year :)

  8. December 28, 2012 9:41 am

    It is such an inspiration to look upon a year that was so well spent – so full of richness, stories, community. What an intimidating thing it must have been to take the plunge into being a full time photographer – and yet look at how much you have accomplished in just this year! And as you say – and what a good thing to remind myself of when taking risks myself – that in the end, it isn’t the discomfort and stress we remember, but the good things – the things that never would have been possible without the hardships. Here’s to a 2013 as abundant as your 2012 was :)

  9. marthasnail permalink
    December 28, 2012 10:59 am

    what a wonderful look back at a very full and beautiful 2012. looking forward to more good times in 2013 and seeing how your photography changes and evolves. here’s to the new year!

  10. December 29, 2012 4:41 pm

    What a lovely year you’ve had. So glad to be part of it! Happy New Year!

  11. December 29, 2012 4:52 pm

    Hi Brian, Thank you for sharing your work here on WordPress. As an amateur photographer, it has been such an inspiration to witness your first year making a career in photography. Your work is beautiful and resonant for me. I am so glad I found your website! Happy New Year!

  12. December 29, 2012 10:12 pm

    Beautiful collection of photos. Have a great new year!

  13. Wendy Franz permalink
    December 31, 2012 10:32 pm

    I continue to find inspiration and respite in your work. Thank you for sharing it!

  14. January 1, 2013 5:06 am

    What a superb post Brian, wishing you more and more adventures in 2013 !

  15. January 1, 2013 5:17 am

    Beautiful collection. Happy New Year!!!

  16. January 1, 2013 5:28 pm

    This is such a tremendous re-cap of your year. I’m looking forward to seeing what you bring to 2013. Happy New Year, Brian!

  17. January 2, 2013 2:25 pm

    thank you for sharing your work always! really enjoy your photographs & observations. happy new year and best wishes for 2013.

  18. January 2, 2013 11:18 pm

    Brian, what an amazing collection of images! Blows my mind. Happy New Year!

  19. January 3, 2013 3:01 pm

    Such great work, Brian!

  20. January 6, 2013 8:57 am

    What a year mate! Here’s to a fantastic 2013!

Please leave your comment below. Thanks!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 8,112 other followers