Skip to content

Ahead

January 3, 2013

Mosaic 1-3-13
-
-
(click image above to view it full-size)
-
-
. . . . . . .
-
-

Hey hey, Happy New Year to you.

I’m not big on making resolutions. But I’ve been doing some thinking and I do know that I’d like to get back to posting here more often in 2013. I want to make this a more personal space again, where I can share the things I’m shooting and thinking about – not only new/published/finished work, but inspirations and creative projects that I do just for myself, works-in-progress, current enthusiasms, etc. This blog is important for my photographic process and I want to remember that this year.

In that spirit, I made a photo mosaic this week and I wanted to share it today. I had a really inspiring couple of days in NYC just after Christmas. I stepped away from the computer and my email inbox and I focused on some other stuff. On Sunday, I spent an entire afternoon at MoMA PS1 to see an exhibition I had wanted to see for a while (it did not disappoint). I wandered, slowly, lingering. I walked around Long Island City after I left the museum. I had my iPhone with me and I snapped a bunch of photos that really resonated with me (some of these were posted to Instagram, too). I love the abstractions and the colors, and something about the exhibitions I saw at PS1 informed the photos I snapped.

I can see how my iPhone camera has become an important part of my photographic process – while it will never replace a real camera for me, it allows me to keep a photographic sketchbook of sorts. I hope to explore this more in the coming months.

Here’s to a creative, fulfilling year ahead.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. January 3, 2013 11:20 am

    I love it when artist embrace the use of all types of mediums, I feel that using a phone, is not only handy but a wonderful tool to build a journal/notebook/moodboard which could lead to a bigger picture! Love your discerning eye when it comes to shapes and lines.

  2. January 3, 2013 1:45 pm

    I recently met some curators from Italy who told me to try and put down my cameras to take photos with only my cameraphone for a month and apparently it would help to see things in a different way. I’m half way through and the results are interesting.

  3. January 3, 2013 3:32 pm

    I love the collage of fragments that you’ve made out of it.

  4. marthasnail permalink
    January 3, 2013 3:34 pm

    a photographic sketchbook. i like that idea.

  5. January 4, 2013 8:26 am

    Loved the lines and shadows in the pictures. Phone camera results are awesome to catch the details instantaneously , and also with good quality ! Have nice weekend !

  6. January 4, 2013 1:22 pm

    I’ve really been enjoying your instagram these days- I like what you said about the iphone camera being photographic sketchbook. I want to think about that more.

  7. January 6, 2013 9:00 am

    Two thumbs up to everything in this post!

  8. January 6, 2013 11:36 am

    I really really like the abstract photos!

Please leave your comment below. Thanks!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 8,131 other followers