Skip to content

You and Me Both

January 24, 2013

Untitled

-
-

Untitled

-
-

Untitled

-
-

Untitled

-
-

Untitled

-
-

Untitled

-
-

Untitled

-
-

Untitled

-
-
. . . . . . . . .

-
-
Thanks for your thoughts on the post yesterday. It was as much for my own benefit as anything, just putting some of my thoughts down in words. I think it resonated with a lot of you, too. And thank you for the encouragement.

In that vein, the photos above were all taken one weekend when I was feeling really creative – open and free and seeing things a bit differently. I love when that happens and I really like the resulting photos.  They feel new and interesting to me, and they explore some things I have been wanting to express in my work.  I look at these photos and I think, “YES.”

. . . . .

Miscellaneous:

++  Please read this essay from Zadie Smith, “Joy” (via Jennilee). You will not regret it.  ( … the part about dancing to Q-Tip singing “Can I Kick It” while on Ecstasy in 1999 just kills me.  “The top of my head flew away. We danced and danced. We gave ourselves up to joy.”)

++  One of my favorite photographers, Renato D’Agostin, has just shared his newest series of work, “Shanghai Express“. I’ve had the opportunity to hang out with Renato a few times in New York and it has been such a pleasure talking to him about work and life over a couple of beers. Most recently, he was telling me about his process of creating this new body of work in Shanghai and about the photos he had captured.  Renato develops and prints all of his work in his own darkroom and I am fascinated by his process and his way of seeing the world.  The Shanghai photos will form a new book – do not miss this.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Cristina permalink
    January 24, 2013 4:19 pm

    Thanx for pointing out the essay of Zadie Smith. I like her books too.

  2. January 24, 2013 4:26 pm

    Another beautiful set of light n shadow work!

  3. January 25, 2013 1:27 am

    You’ve captured shadow brilliantly

  4. sasha permalink
    January 25, 2013 10:52 am

    I love how your play on light and shadows coincide with the title “You and Me Both” which gripped me into clicking onto this post for more. These are beautiful photos!

Please leave your comment below. Thanks!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 7,206 other followers