Skip to content

My Apartment on Sight Unseen

February 21, 2013

BFerry-Apt-SU_1

-
-

BFerry-Apt-SU_8

-
-

BFerry-Apt-SU_14

-
-

BFerry-Apt-SU_18

-
-

BFerry-Apt-SU_16

-
-

Untitled

-
-

Untitled

-
-

Untitled

-
-
. . . . . .

-
-

Sight Unseen is one of my favorite places on the web, so it was a huge honor when they contacted me to ask if I’d be interested in an apartment visit. In January, they came by my Brooklyn apartment and I showed them around the place, taking stuff out of drawers and talking about my work and my stuff.

You can see the full feature on the Sight Unseen website today. Thanks to Monica and Jill for such a thoughtful, flattering write-up and for asking me to be involved with their amazing site.

Hope you enjoy!

22 Comments leave one →
  1. February 21, 2013 11:30 am

    Nice and timeless.

  2. February 21, 2013 11:55 am

    I love it. The fireplace shot is lovely… nice one, Brian!

  3. February 21, 2013 12:05 pm

    Seems so comfortable! Must be nice to be at home :)

  4. February 21, 2013 1:19 pm

    I love your apartment and its features. Really do. So modern and classic at the same time, and the light, my god! I’m enjoying a lot this picture set. It looks so cozy! (or cosy? I never seem to remember which one is the american one!)

  5. February 21, 2013 1:29 pm

    Me again. Would have never imagined you were a lawyer! never crossed my mind! i can’t imagine you being anything else but a photographer… we’re so lucky you quit it :)

  6. February 21, 2013 4:20 pm

    I really enjoyed this! Your space is lovely, real and inspiring.

  7. February 21, 2013 5:37 pm

    Your apartment has the same calm and lucid atmosphere as your photography – it seems to bring the light and space art of the late sixties into contemporary everyday life ;-) Your plants love the atmosphere as well, especially the one in the fourth picture.

  8. February 21, 2013 8:35 pm

    I love your apartment….the white walls, the light, the comfort…. It is nice to see it in the day, as well as the photos you have taken of it in candlelight. What a great place to come home to at the end of a work day! Thank you for sharing these photos with us. -Jan

  9. Sara permalink
    February 21, 2013 11:27 pm

    Ahh! I thought you were ‘just’ doing a shoot for sight unseen: it’s your place. everything about each photo, and each room is so expressive. What lovely taste you have.

  10. February 22, 2013 8:44 am

    What a beautiful space you’ve created for yourself. It seems so comfortable.

  11. February 22, 2013 4:13 pm

    What a wonderful space. Love the simplicity without showy minimalism. As always, I really admire your aesthetics. And I think I’m going to steal the idea with the bookcase, I love it!

  12. February 22, 2013 11:03 pm

    hi brian…love this peek into your home. i was so happy to see those little pinch pots you bought from the shop on your shelf. they are one of my most favorite finds. i am especially grateful for your recommendation of Joel Meyerowitz’s book ‘A Summer’s Day,’. my family recently settled in the pacNW from the Cape, and we miss it dearly.

  13. February 23, 2013 1:22 pm

    fantastic post – and your apartment is absolutely beautiful. I was wondering if you could share where your rug is from. ours has been totally destroyed by our cat and we’re looking for something less plus – yours is beautiful

    • February 23, 2013 3:05 pm

      Hey Olga, thanks! The rug is vintage, I bought it at a flea market – but I think the BK Flea has a rug guy who sells rugs with a similar aesthetic.

      On Sat, Feb 23, 2013 at 1:22 PM, the blue hour

  14. February 24, 2013 8:18 pm

    pretty cool place! no wonder you are always taking pictures of it!

  15. amy m permalink
    February 25, 2013 11:54 am

    Brian, your plants are looking so good!

  16. Heather Hawkins permalink
    February 25, 2013 12:48 pm

    Beautiful space! I thought you were in my old Fort Greene apt with that awesome fireplace mantle, until I read the caption.

  17. February 27, 2013 12:10 pm

    Beautiful place.

  18. Jimjam permalink
    March 3, 2013 12:03 pm

    I may have mentioned to you before before – have you ever been to kettle’s yard in Cambridge?
    If not…
    By the way, I love the letterpress print above your fireplace : ) very stylish

  19. March 4, 2013 12:43 am

    where is your couch from? make/style? I have been looking for a similar one!

  20. March 5, 2013 2:37 am

    Beautiful. Would not expect anything else either.. We’ve seen small glimts of your space and those said a lot. For me anyway.

    Btw, funny detail is that the New Order album art is used in Supreme SS13. Maybe thats not your type of taste but anyway. Coincidence?

    Thanks for daily inspiration.

    / Adam

  21. Chuck permalink
    March 30, 2013 1:01 am

    Pawson and Eggleston. Splendid.

Please leave your comment below. Thanks!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 7,176 other followers