Skip to content

a spring list

March 18, 2009

IMG_6599

…………………………..

this morning, i hear the birds singing outside and the sun is bright and strong through my windows. i am ready for spring, that’s for sure. there are little signs everywhere. and since i’m a list-maker, i thought i’d share the list of things i’d like to do in the coming season:
– choose vegetables and herbs to grow on the roofdeck
– buy a hammock for the roof, and lanterns
– inspired by my brother, buy some good sneakers. i’m thinking of a pair of nike dunks. custom colors. nice.
– more do-it-yourself food: make my own gin, fresh ricotta cheese, and cocktail cherries
learn how to use a steel and take care of my knife
– patiently await the season’s first asparagus and ramps
– listen to more 60s soul
– brunch & coffee outside
– breathe in the lilacs
– take photos at daffodil hill in litchfield
– eat lunch outside more often

oh! and i got a spot in my local CSA … i’m doing a half-share, including eggs and fruit. given my unpredictable work schedule, this could either be the best idea or the worst disaster ever. either way, i’ll detail my adventures here and i’m quite excited.

what’s on your list for spring?

14 Comments
  1. marthasnail permalink
    March 18, 2009 9:03 am

    i have a feeling that your roof deck is going to be the place to be this spring/summer! what colors do you want for your nike dunks? i am excited to see what the csa has in store for you. have a good day.

  2. March 18, 2009 9:38 am

    a great list. i’ll be posting mine on friday (when spring officially starts!). so far though, i’m on my second day of biking to work this spring, and this is very exciting! i was actually starting to crave my bike, and look at it longingly in the basement :)

  3. haeshu permalink
    March 18, 2009 9:57 am

    oh yes! what a great list. i’m jealous of your roof deck. we should work out a porch/deck timeshare. i bought a steel just last week! i’m not ready to make an investment in a good knife just yet, so i thought it would make sense to get those i do have in better shape. i love it.

  4. March 18, 2009 11:07 am

    Um…your roof plans sound totally amazing and dreamy.
    And I like your honesty about the CSA, it made me laugh.
    On my list for spring?
    I’ll have to think about that…
    Happy Wednesday, Brian.

  5. March 18, 2009 11:37 am

    Bring on the ramps! I wish we were neighbors – I would have definitely done the CSA share with you.

  6. marlys (bibliophiliac on flickr) permalink
    March 18, 2009 11:48 am

    excellent list! CSAs can be a lot of fun – for the last ten years, wherever i’ve lived, i’ve belonged to one. p.s. vanilla extract and marshmallows are fun to make!

  7. March 18, 2009 2:09 pm

    The smell of lilacs all the while drinking coffee and eating brunch…aaahhh! We are going to attempt a vegetable garden in PA’s rocky soil for the first time. I’ll let you know how that one goes…

  8. March 18, 2009 2:21 pm

    i have roof deck envy too – we have no outside space in london but i’ve planted a new crop of rocket on the kitchen windowsill and am looking forward to some salads soon. i just read a good recipe in bon appetit for a lemon and parmesan dressing for rocket salad. yum!

  9. March 18, 2009 2:30 pm

    Ooh, SUCH a wonderful list for spring! I especially like the thought of eating lunch outside. As for myself, I just bought supplies for seed-starting indoors, so spring must be just around the corner!

  10. March 18, 2009 5:00 pm

    the csa in my hood was all filled up when i tried to join. can’t wait to hear/see how yours goes. i would love to tag along if you take a photo trip to daffodil hill! it looks gorgeous.

  11. March 19, 2009 10:30 pm

    I’ve been doing some thinking about what I’d like to grow too.. even wrote a post about it this morning :)

    mainly i would like to: run around in a sundress, plan a beach trip, walk to the farmer’s market, and buy a holga camera to take spring-y pictures!

  12. March 20, 2009 1:01 am

    Hey there – just here from All Stripes and I’m so happy I found you. What an inspiring spot you have here.

    I’m totally envious that you have a roofdeck garden – it sounds like it’s going to be fab all kitted out with a hammock and lanterns (Pearl River has some great ones). I just ordered some beautifl begonias and dahlias from White Flower Farm today for my Hanging Garden of Brooklyn and I’m so excited. It’s a tiny space, but I can’t wait to squeeze all the summer I can out of it.

  13. April 12, 2009 9:55 am

    1. Grill something new every weekend (grilled pineapples on Friday night. Yuuup.)
    2. Never skip dessert (see #2)

  14. April 12, 2009 9:18 pm

    herbert, i like your style.

Comments are closed.