Skip to content

april 10

April 10, 2009

img_13321

3426998368_49c68fb984_o

top image is mine, from the archives.
bottom images (click on the name to view full photo): 1. no joke, 2. Untitled, 3. Paddys BBQ, 4. moustache, 5. mall picnic spread, 6. Untitled, 7. summer and sea, 8. Untitled

………………….
today, i thought i’d share a random bunch of recent flickr favorites. the connection is that each one of these photos made me smile.  (i know you must be shocked that food photos made me smile…).

and before the weekend begins, a few links for you:
++ days with my father (thanks to luisa for the tip). i am speechless when i view this site. you should look at each photo – don’t miss anything.
++ i am very much obsessed with elvis perkins’ new album, called ‘elvis perkins in dearland‘. this is one of those albums that i have to force myself to stop playing, so that i don’t become completely sick of it … because i am listening to it on repeat.  it has put a spring in my step all week long, and i think that if you get your hands on it today, you will have a very good weekend indeed. (download and listen to clips on emusic.com… favorite tracks include ‘hey’, ‘i heard your voice in dresden’ and ‘doomsday’).
++ masstransiscope. i love stuff like this.
++ stephanie’s post about the other side of hong kong island (don’t miss the full photo gallery, and definitely listen to the sufjan song while you browse. killer.)

thanks for your nice comments here this week … i truly appreciate it.  i hope that you have a wonderful weekend … i’m going to try to cross another thing off of my spring list.   more about that on monday – see you then.

8 Comments
  1. nina permalink
    April 10, 2009 8:08 am

    brian, thank you for letting us know about “days with my father.” along with my mother, i’m currently being a caregiver to my grandma who has altzheimer’s and i so identify with the photos and the accompanying words. it somehow makes me feel better knowing we are not alone… on a happier note, your photo of that gingham tablecloth laden with goodies made me grin wide :).

  2. April 10, 2009 8:14 am

    Oh that link….days with my father, I saw that earlier this week and it really hits the heart. AS always a great selection of pictures.

  3. April 10, 2009 8:44 am

    I saw days with my father earlier this week too – very powerful. I’ve really enjoyed your Austin photos this week. Thanks for the compelling music recommendation. Happy weekend to you and yours!

  4. April 10, 2009 10:07 am

    Oh, I’m loving Elvis Perkin’s In Dearland too. I heard him on Morning Edition a couple of weeks ago and haven’t looked back.

  5. April 10, 2009 10:13 am

    wow! what a surprise and honor to see my pic up here today! i like how it works with the one above it. speaking of pie, check out my pie blog (site above), and feel free to contribute if you have a recipe or pie pics/anecdotes to share. i’ve really enjoyed getting to know your blog.

  6. April 10, 2009 10:36 am

    hi brian– i recently stumbled across your site and i must say, i love the photos and food! two of my favorite things. good luck with your spring list (i’m pretty sure i saw ramps at the union square greenmarket this week, fyi). enjoy the weekend!

  7. April 10, 2009 3:06 pm

    Days with my father made me cry- so beautiful and touching. Thanks for sharing!

  8. April 10, 2009 6:15 pm

    Aw, thank you Brian.

    I am all over Elvis Perkins lately. He kills me. And days with my father…damn. Thank you. Have a great weekend!

Comments are closed.