Skip to content

kitchen diary: may 16-17

May 18, 2009

3542458696_c0110a8c7c_o

3542465584_87f256bac0_o

saturday morning is one of my favorite times each week. a trip to the market, time to enjoy my coffee, NPR on the radio, playing around in the kitchen.

this saturday, i make baked eggs for breakfast. why haven’t i made these before? so easy, and delicious. they feel sort of special – the kind of thing you might want to serve at a brunch for friends. i butter ramekins really well, add a bit of milk, and carefully break an egg into each. top with a small pat of butter, fresh herbs (i used rosemary and basil), salt and pepper and a bit of fresh parm. into the oven for 15 minutes and breakfast is served.

3541659847_8d3ab5e015_o

3541666541_bb12be6692_o

the biggest excitement at this saturday’s market is the arrival of the radishes. i slice them thinly, butter a fresh baguette (no, i did not make my own butter this time) and sprinkle them with sea salt. is there anything better for a quick lunch?  i end up eating radishes like this all weekend long, and it is pretty great.

3542471256_5ae38b3c21_o

and after a long day, i don’t know if there is a more welcome sight than a friend with cold beer. for dinner, i throw together some broccoli rabe from the market, sauteed with chilies and garlic, tossed with pasta. mmm.

………………………

on sunday, friends and i spend most of the afternoon braising beef tongue, as part of a ‘game’ started by our friend andrew. in ‘the meat game’, each team is challenged to cook an uncommon cut of meat each month. may’s choice is beef tongue. i won’t share the photos here (it looks, not surprisingly, like a huge tongue) but i will say this — it tasted good. i know!

i will tell you more about dessert (always my favorite part): a very easy rhubarb crumble using the recipe in jamie oliver’s cookbook, ‘jamie at home.’

3542478000_49befd48d7_o

(and it is even better for breakfast the next morning).

15 Comments
  1. May 18, 2009 7:55 am

    yum! the crumble for the breakfast the next morning!! my favourite part :)

  2. Jean Prescott permalink
    May 18, 2009 8:40 am

    “Jamie at Home” (TV show and book) is a favorite, but the Food Network has moved him from Saturday to Friday mornings, and I’ve missed a few episodes. I love to watch him do what he does, and he seems to connect with food, appreciate its beauty and essence as well as its flavor. Usually we don’t get rhubarb in the Deep South, but I think I might try baked eggs, though cooking something (like rice) in the oven always seems like cheating. Pop it in, walk away, retrieve it when the timer goes off. Lovely post; thanks.

  3. May 18, 2009 8:44 am

    Seriously hungry now, especially for the breakfast you had.

  4. May 18, 2009 8:55 am

    I was daydreaming about broccoli rabe all weekend. (Can’t find it here.) I even cut my broccoli into long strips to “pretend” the other night.

    Brooklyn Brown is one of my faves.

    And please don’t even get me started on the radishes.

  5. May 18, 2009 9:04 am

    oh i can’t wait for radishes, too! I just scattered radish seeds in the ground and am hoping its not too late in the spring for them to pop up nice and spicy :)

  6. May 18, 2009 9:14 am

    oh my. yum! i’m hungry. and thirsty ;)

  7. May 18, 2009 9:41 am

    ‘general green’ in fort green makes some amazing based egg dishes – i think you would love them. they involved grits, egg, bacon and tomatoes.
    also, lovely photos, as ever.

  8. xavier Encinas permalink
    May 18, 2009 11:45 am

    Your eggs recipe will be my breakfast next sunday :-)

  9. May 18, 2009 12:55 pm

    Such simplicity and deliciousness going on here…love the top photograph especially.

  10. May 18, 2009 1:43 pm

    absolutely love these photos and description of your saturday morning. deliciously relaxing. on the best weekends, mine are quite similar–and i’m already excited to jump into the long weekend ahead of us. thanks for the monday morning smile!

  11. May 18, 2009 2:37 pm

    I hope your week is off to a great start! Beautiful; and now I suddenly feel starved for lunch.

  12. May 18, 2009 5:56 pm

    These photos are perfect. I’ve been addicted to radishes my whole life, but after A Homemade Life, the radish+buttersalt+baguette combo is all I can think about once cocktail hour rolls around.
    And where, pray tell, are those ramekins from?
    You have the best way with simple.

  13. May 19, 2009 8:56 pm

    you make me want to run to my kitchen.
    and call my friends!

  14. May 22, 2009 11:20 am

    Hi Brian, I tried your baked eggs recipe this morning, and it was wonderful! Thanks so much. Love your blog.

    JO

  15. May 27, 2009 5:46 pm

    Oh, Brooklyn Brewery! :) We still have the cups from the two tours we took… we use them when we go camping and remember good times. My sister lived in Brooklyn for a while, and the night my husband and I got engaged (we were in Brooklyn), we drank Brooklyn Brewery beer and tried to escape the insane heat wave in my sister’s air conditionless apartment.

Comments are closed.