Skip to content

complimentary

May 19, 2009

3544664426_e16c1d224c_o

3543853189_6b2d5624aa_o

3543848035_23a261564f_o

3543872715_b549ce019a_o

3544642324_56c3c98232_o

3543844045_56a48706dc_o

3543827621_d04f22d13e_o

3544685900_a11ea49470_o

3543841281_4313250364_o
…………..
after a week or two of not getting along so well together, my camera and i patched things up this weekend and had a pretty great photo walk one morning (i think she was feeling jealous with all my talk of film cameras). but we’ve worked things out now. we’re cool.

and when i went to upload and post the images above, i noticed how complimentary all of the colors seemed. i saw mostly rust/burgundy, greens and muted blue. i’m surprised at the extent to which these photos work together without any preconceived plan to do so.

when taking photos, do you ever feel like there is something pushing you along that you don’t realize is there at the time? an idea, some inspiration, or even a certain color or tone? this happens to me often, and i usually don’t realize it until later when i am looking back through photos to upload/scan.  and i look at a grouping of images and they just click (to me, at least). you see, one thing i am working on is being a more mindful photographer — trying to make deliberate choices about the photos that i take and the sets of photos that i put together to share. however, i really love being surprised by a set of photos that work well together through no design of my own. when they fall into place, it makes me feel like i am learning something and developing good instincts. that is reassuring, and very inspirational to me.

i’m not sure if this makes any sense – it’s hard to put into words. but it is something that i have been thinking about recently.

i’ve also been thinking about music … stay tuned for a new mix later this week! have a great day.

16 Comments
  1. May 19, 2009 7:35 am

    This happens to me quite a lot actually. I enjoy the mix of both deliberate photos and those happy accidents that come from instinct. Sometimes I don’t even know why I am photographing something until I see it in context with other work.

  2. May 19, 2009 8:17 am

    this also happens me a lot and i love it!
    i think in spring it occurs naturally because the first fresh sprouts of growth all look so great together and therefore naturally complement each other.
    this is a beautiful set brian..
    x

  3. May 19, 2009 10:25 am

    can’t wait for the new mix! Your photos have some of my fav colours in them!

  4. May 19, 2009 11:03 am

    This is such a beautiful set, Brian. I love the colors. I’ve noticed I am becoming more mindful, waiting for the right moments in the day to take the picture. Waiting for the exact moment the peonies will be at full bloom. I guess I do calculate more when I see something, I think of how to approach it and when. But I love spontaneity in photography, maybe that’s why I love ms. diana so much. Because when you get the pictures back there is nothing like it.

  5. May 19, 2009 11:24 am

    I think I understand exactly what you are saying. The way that I photograph is constantly evolving and I think that “feeling” or “stage” of making deliberate choices is a good one and it seems like you are there. I really get hung up on editing the photo before I take it (a consequence of shooting so much film I think) and many times I need to remind myself to be more open. It’s a funny balance.
    One of my favorite things to do is lay a bunch of prints on the table and group them together in different ways…I am a nerd. I’ll stop now.
    Anyway…happy Tuesday!
    (p.s. I really like that photo of the tables with the single flower on them…)

  6. May 19, 2009 11:39 am

    Yes! I know what you’re talking about. Love the set of photos, especially the photo with the fallen flowers.
    Thank you for your beautiful blog.

  7. May 19, 2009 11:42 am

    There is such a wonderful color palette at this time of ther year. I love all that lush green. Don’t you think, also, that our eyes tend to be drawn to certain colors?

  8. May 19, 2009 11:54 am

    these really do compliment each other well. i love that balance between planned themes and surprise coincidences. it’s really fun for me to step back from myself and identify what i’m attracted to. and that will change on a day to day basis. thanks for sharing your photography thoughts, it looks like you and your camera got along marvelously! :)

  9. May 19, 2009 12:10 pm

    These are beautiful; your photos always are. And even if you don’t have a “plan” all the time for what you are taking and posting, there is such a distinct…mood, I guess…to your photos and your blog. It’s beautiful, calming, and a little…not mysterious, but atmospheric.
    I love it, is the short of it.
    And I think I understand about the camera and you. Yesterday I was never going to blog again, and then zowie, my camera led me around and showed me the way back.
    Best wishes, tt

  10. May 19, 2009 12:19 pm

    I know precisely what you mean! I only share a small fraction of the photos I take, but the larger part of the practice for me is following that inspiration and finding my style of composition, of color, of playing with bokeh when the sun is just so. Every last photo of yours that I’ve seen has a certain feel to it that is distinctly you—so yeah, whatever you’re doing, keep doing it!

  11. May 19, 2009 12:41 pm

    i understand completely! i love it when that happens, those happy accidents of the subconscious. if i can credit it that way. i also like the compliments of the natural forms of plants and trees next to man-made/built shapes and forms.

  12. Darlene permalink
    May 19, 2009 1:24 pm

    I concur…with your statement and with the other comments. I love the happy accident of finding out that while I just thought I was out shooting random things, I subconsciously had other plans.

    PS love the car in the overgrown lot. how very Adam Bartos of you!

  13. May 19, 2009 4:56 pm

    these photos are great! i really love the green brick and the white flowers! and those tables…so pretty. what restaurant is it?

  14. May 19, 2009 5:08 pm

    that’s what i thought! it is a great place. you should go! the egg brunch dishes are really good.

  15. warmmybones permalink
    May 22, 2009 11:44 am

    Your photos are so beautiful and it is nice to read how it feels for you to take them.

  16. Ragamuffin permalink
    May 22, 2009 8:10 pm

    Is the sixth pic down (restaurant tables) at freeman’s alley? either way, great set.

Comments are closed.