Skip to content

pentax love no. 1

May 26, 2009

Photo33_34

Photo22_23

Photo35_36

Photo29_30

Photo32_33

Photo23_24
…………………….

hello! i hope your long weekend was a good one. what did you do? i did a bit of traveling and got to hang out with good friends. and then last night, i floated above NY in an airplane as the may sun set, casting an orange glow on the buildings and hills below me. i was listening to the new grizzly bear album and it felt so still and quiet. what a nice end to the weekend.

during this short week, i am going to share some film photos from my first roll of 35mm film. i got my hands on a pentax k1000 and shot a roll of fujipro 400H in about 2 days, so that i could check to make sure it was in good working condition. i got the roll back on friday, and i can safely say that (a) it works, and (b) i am in love with it. that top shot is my favorite one of the roll, i think. film really captures something that you don’t see in digital images, and i’m so excited about it.

i hope your tuesday is nice. it is a gorgeous morning in brooklyn!

18 Comments
  1. marthasnail permalink
    May 26, 2009 7:20 am

    i agree. film is so different than digital. i really love it. these are wonderful photos. the top is my fave as well.

    floating over the clouds in the quiet sounds so nice. it’s cold here this morning!

  2. May 26, 2009 7:24 am

    I really love the bottom one -but dark blue green tones are always my favorites. oh, and bokeh of course:)

  3. May 26, 2009 7:42 am

    woooooo woooo woooo!!! this made my day brian! it’s hard not to fall in love with those old pentax :) shoot more!

  4. May 26, 2009 8:05 am

    my favorite is the one with the roses in cellophane… .

  5. May 26, 2009 8:16 am

    your first roll!? it looks like you and that pentax were made for each other!

  6. Jean Prescott permalink
    May 26, 2009 8:38 am

    Film can be a pain, but the images are far superior to digital, I think, particularly for photos like the first one you posted. Love the bunches of flowers, too, and the wall covered with ivy…well, all of them. I think you must have a truly tranquil spirit, Brian. It shows in the things you see through your lens.

  7. May 26, 2009 8:41 am

    I agree with you about film. Completely. I wish I could take so many pictures in 35mm as I can with the digital… Sigh.
    Anyway, I am getting to scan some of my film photos:
    http://www.flickr.com/photos/juliealvarez/sets/72157617779503892/

  8. May 26, 2009 8:42 am

    i love the third picture!

  9. May 26, 2009 8:50 am

    i love those herbs.
    did you buy some of those beautiful roses?

  10. May 26, 2009 9:43 am

    oh brian. i knew you would be a good match. prepare yourself for a long long love affair.

  11. May 26, 2009 9:53 am

    I’m learning how to load the film on my new (to me) Pentax today. These images inspire me, so much.

  12. May 26, 2009 10:15 am

    totally lovely!

  13. Liz permalink
    May 26, 2009 1:04 pm

    Was so great seeing you this weekend! Wish we had a beautiful morning here – instead it’s raining, making it that much harder to get back to work. Your photos are lovely, as always!

  14. Anna permalink
    May 26, 2009 3:53 pm

    don’t you just love how every shot becomes just a little bit more intentional. also, just wondering, what you are using to scan? it’s serving you well.

  15. May 26, 2009 5:42 pm

    wonderful pictures, my favourite is the top one as well. — love film, too, and often wish i could go to film entirely. still feels though as if the small digital camera is my little sketchbook i have to have with me at all times – it’s kind of like loving my black dress but still not giving up on jeans.

    will be back to see more of your film experiments!

  16. May 27, 2009 2:47 am

    brian, you and film look like you’re going to be great friends. more pentax shots please!

  17. May 27, 2009 1:50 pm

    …now I know my next project…getting out my old Pentax SP II and seeing how it still works…I got that camera in 1972! Great pictures…

  18. June 1, 2009 5:33 pm

    these make me so happy. the pentax is a lifetime camera!
    i think my fave is the second to last shot… wonderful composition.

Comments are closed.