Skip to content

summer drinks

June 11, 2009

3615950853_508e5ddcac_o

for me, one of the best things about summer is outdoor drinking. normally, my tastes are simple. i prefer bourbon over ice, gin and tonics, or good beer. once the weather gets warmer, however, i get a little more adventurous.

i make myself wait each year until after memorial day to mix up my first dark & stormy. it is, by far, my favorite cocktail – deep, spicy, complex and really simple to make.

i don’t like to suggest using a specific brand when it comes to food and drink, but in the case of a dark & stormy, i think it’s necessary. first, the rum: absolutely use goslings black seal bermuda rum.  you can find it at most liquor stores.  for the ginger beer, it is a matter of taste.  my favorite is stewart’s brand ginger beer because it is darker and has a real bite to it.  (my dad, who must get credit for introducing this drink to me, only uses stewart’s ginger beer).  the traditional choice is barritts ginger beer.  you can use others if you can’t find these – reed’s is a little too light for my taste and i don’t think it works.  or you can make stephanie’s homemade ginger syrup, and pour this over the rum with seltzer.  add lime if you have it.   sip outside, preferably sitting on a porch on a warm summer’s night.

3616771488_e14d6ca3fd_o

also, i made micheladas for the first time this past weekend. i’ve been thinking about making this drink ever since i enjoyed them at the hotel san jose in austin.  this version is ‘cubana style’, without tomato juice.  i found their recipe online here, and i am certainly going to mix them up for friends on my roofdeck this summer. in a glass, you combine fresh lime juice, ice, tabasco, soy sauce, worcestershire sauce, and ground black pepper. salt the rim of the glass with kosher salt, and pour over a mexican beer (i think modelo is good). stir and enjoy. (you’ll know that it is spicy enough if your lips burn a little after the first few sips).

happy drinking.

21 Comments
  1. June 11, 2009 9:08 am

    here’s a new favorite of mine:
    ice, good gin, juice of half of a lemon plus a champagne topper.
    it’s so refreshing and not sweet at all.

    enjoy!
    mav

  2. haeshu permalink
    June 11, 2009 9:17 am

    ah yes. i like the idea of a drink with a kick. and then maybe something a little softer too. i hear steph is working on a master recipe for white sangria. oh boy.

  3. June 11, 2009 9:28 am

    Mmmm I like the sound of the dark n stormy. Funny coincidence because I just had a cocktail post on my blog today too! Summer really inspires the drinking I suppose…

  4. June 11, 2009 9:30 am

    That sounds delicious! I should definitly start using ginger ale more in drinks.

    One of my favorite cocktails is the Flirtiny (yeah, from Sex and the City); vodka, sparkling white wine (I never use real champagne for cocktails) and pineapple juice. Very refreshing and the booze/bubbles combo gives the party a kick start ;-)

  5. June 11, 2009 9:45 am

    oh, wow. i can’t wait to make this. it looks and sounds so great.

  6. June 11, 2009 10:26 am

    Im coming over for a michelada STAT!!!!!!

  7. June 11, 2009 10:36 am

    Yum. I will have to try this over the summer.

  8. marlys permalink
    June 11, 2009 10:45 am

    dark & stormy’s are my favorite summer drink too! i’ve also really been enjoying cocktails with elderflower liqueur. elderflowers are one of the quintessential tastes of summer for me (and it’s been really difficult until recently to find either elderflower cordial or liqueur in the u.s. – thank goodness for st. germain!)

  9. June 11, 2009 11:09 am

    wow the dark & stormy sounds deeeelicious.

    since you say you are a bourbon drinker, maybe you would dig this “dunham coolers” (i read about them here: http://readingmytealeaves.blogspot.com/2009/05/dunham-coolers.html)

    i want to like bourbon but my tastebuds haven’t come around yet. rum, however, i am down with.

  10. Jean Prescott permalink
    June 11, 2009 11:16 am

    Oh, my, yes…lovely libations to go with the best of all scenarios: A comfortable chair or hammock and good friends on any sort of deck as day turns into night.

  11. June 11, 2009 11:45 am

    Oh man, dark and stormy’s are my favorite.

    I am indeed working on that white sangria (with ginger), but still not perfected. I will report my findings as soon I have concrete data.

  12. June 11, 2009 11:58 am

    oooh that sounds delicious.

    we’re quite taken with mastering the whiskey sour right now. and of course the whiskey soda for hot summer afternoons.

    also, i need to make that ginger syrup immediately.

  13. June 11, 2009 3:49 pm

    Have you tasted bacardi anejo rum? As a fellow dark & stormy lover, I’m thinking you may dig it.

  14. June 11, 2009 4:15 pm

    my warm weather drink is fast becoming the gimlet. good gin, rose’s lime juice and a squeeze of fresh lime juice. shake with ice then pour. it makes me pucker in the best of ways. i’ve seen some garnished with mint and some with basil.

    i’ll have to try these suggestions too.

  15. June 11, 2009 5:10 pm

    those sound perfect! i will imagine myself sitting outside at the hotel san hose while drinking that michelada.

  16. June 11, 2009 6:19 pm

    dark and stormy sounds delicious. i have always been a whiskey + ginger beer girl so i’ll have to mix it up :)

  17. June 11, 2009 10:22 pm

    I am so loving reading all the above comments, in addition to your post – I’ll print out all these fabulous ideas! Cheers.

  18. June 15, 2009 9:19 am

    Dark & Stormy….mmmmm…. A friend of mine introduced me to that one a few years ago. And it is indeed a perfect drink. Brings back memories now you mentioned it……

  19. components of enthusiasm permalink
    December 27, 2009 2:37 am

    this post makes me so happy. both of these drinks are my summer drinks of choice, always great times. summer cannot come again soon enough

Trackbacks

  1. notes on italy, 4 « the blue hour
  2. one saturday night « the blue hour

Comments are closed.