Skip to content

june 12

June 12, 2009

3619501246_d6140ae217_o

mosaic

top image is mine. would you believe that this was taken in brooklyn, right off of the brooklyn-queens expressway? i love how it looks like it could’ve been in the woods far outside of the city.

bottom images: 1.
Untitled, 2. Untitled, 3. as far as the eye can see, 4. golden
……………………..

the weather around here has been so strange the past few weeks. it’s not very warm, and it’s been raining a whole lot. for me, the images above speak to this. blues and dark greens.

today, i’m enjoying the work of spencer finch, especially sky over coney island.

i also like mathew scott’s series, ‘the book of mathew’.

this weekend, i think i’m going to cook this.

and i’m hoping to take some photo walks this weekend. i’m in need of inspiration, and that always helps.

i hope your weekend is full of good stuff (and perhaps a dark & stormy or two). cheers!

7 Comments
  1. June 12, 2009 10:33 am

    oh. your strawberry dumpling recipe sounds perfect. s and i just picked up 2lbs of strawberries too. I may have to do the same. Happy weekend, brian.

  2. marthasnail permalink
    June 12, 2009 10:40 am

    hi brian. honored to be included. love the urban forest idea and can imagine it to be a whole series. please tell me how the strawberry dumpling turns out. i have been dying to try it but still no berries here. have a good weekend.

  3. June 12, 2009 11:44 am

    yes, let us know how the dumplings came out! the weather has been the same this side of the pond… I wouldn’t mind seeing blue skies again… looking forward to seeing the results from your photo walks!

  4. June 12, 2009 6:00 pm

    Ha that first image caught my attention – I wondered where you’d been. Love the green in the middle of the city. I live 10 minutes from the core of Seattle yet my home is surrounded by woods and beach; nice to have an oasis of nature yet not have to live outside a city (I can’t imagine…) Thanks for the recipe – the first of the strawberries are starting to show up here – enjoy your weekend!

  5. June 12, 2009 6:39 pm

    Gorgeous Brian! I adore photowalks and can’t wait to see the results of yours! :)

  6. June 12, 2009 8:08 pm

    So nice to be included, Brian. Thank you!

    I’m off to the beach…hope you have a lovely, lovely weekend.

  7. June 13, 2009 2:17 pm

    Hi, Brian!
    I just wanted to let you know that my weekend improved instantaneously because I’ve made butter with your recipe! It’s fantastic!
    I can’t wait for my little girl to wake up from her nap and have a taste of it! I know she will love it.
    If only I have made bread in the morning… Oh, anyway. I am going to make some toasts and enjoy the butter.
    Thank you!

Comments are closed.