Skip to content

offering

July 8, 2009

Photo20_20

Photo10_10
………………..

i always wish that strawberry season lasted longer. i froze strawberries last summer, but i do not have the patience to do so again (and my freezer isn’t big enough). someday i will tackle my fear of preserves, and i’ll make strawberry jam. in the meantime, i eat up as many as i can when they appear at the market. then i wait until the following june when they will arrive again, red and fragrant, letting me know that summer is here.  and i think the waiting makes me enjoy them even more.

……..

thank you for all of the great links you shared yesterday! i took a bit of time last night to explore some of them, and to find some inspiration of my own. here are a few more things that caught my eye:
+ alana davis‘ photos (especially the ‘intimation’ and ‘past’ galleries)
+ bryan schutmaat‘s photos (especially the ‘western frieze’ set) (thanks, hannah)
+ this short essay by e.b. white, ‘once more to the lake‘ — perfect for summer (via reading my tea leaves -thanks, denise)
+ this image from rachel (and the accompanying tags)

there is so much more that i could share, but i will stop there this evening. have a good night!

13 Comments
  1. July 8, 2009 7:51 pm

    Strawberry season here comes very early…March and April. Bit of a tease, don’t you think?

    These shots are wonderful together. Hooray for summer vacation!

  2. July 8, 2009 7:55 pm

    i’m waiting to get up my nerve to tackle preserves too. lovely, in the meantime.

  3. July 8, 2009 8:14 pm

    I’m seeing images of strawberries here and there these days and it reallly is surprising to me because here in japan strawberries are around in winter!! hmmm strawberries in summer must be so lovely lucky you ;)

  4. July 8, 2009 8:17 pm

    thanks so much for linking to e.b. white’s essay. i remember reading and loving that years ago, and it’s the perfect time of year to be reminded. cheers!

  5. July 8, 2009 8:26 pm

    oh summer. why are you so good? have you ever read the e.b. white essay about the pig? my favorite.

  6. July 8, 2009 8:42 pm

    I really love all of your photographs. They all have this gorgeous cold, blue-grey cast to them that makes them both nostalgic and a tad dreary at the same time. I look forward to your posts!

  7. July 8, 2009 8:49 pm

    I had 8 pounds of strawberries to contend with last weekend! I did end up making jam for the first time and it was so much easier than I thought it would be! Granted it’s not the kind that can sit in the jar for years, but it’s sooooo tasty that I’m sure I won’t have any trouble getting through the jar in the fridge within a couple of weeks. You too can try it:

    5 cups of sliced strawberries
    1 cup of sugar
    juice of half of a lemon and a few gratings of lemon zest

    Bring all of that to a boil and simmer until it thickens, about 45 minutes to an hour. I put a plate in the freezer, when I drizzled some of the liquid jelly on it and it gelled up, it’s ready!

  8. July 9, 2009 6:46 am

    i stumbled upon your blog recently and have started looking forward to your posts. such lovely photos–they have a comforting feel to them. thanks for the great links–especially bryan shutmaat’s photos!

  9. xavier Encinas permalink
    July 9, 2009 11:20 am

    making jam is really fun Brian. I am waiting for the blackberry season to make some jars… :-)

  10. Darlene permalink
    July 9, 2009 11:38 am

    I thoroughly enjoyed the Bryan Schuymaat link! Thanks to whomever posted it.

    Reminds me of another favorite photographer from the west coast, Adam Bartos: http://www.adambartos.com/la.html

  11. July 9, 2009 5:54 pm

    Our berries arrived late and finished early this year, and I feel like I missed a crucial part of summer. On the up side, that means I’m going to make cherry jam this year instead of strawberry – and trying something different is usually good. (Jam can be a lot of work, but opening that jar in January is oh-so-satisfying.)

  12. July 9, 2009 10:48 pm

    ps…….it’s bryan schutmaat; incredible, poetic images.

  13. July 10, 2009 8:43 am

    LOVE your blog. Delightful images!

Comments are closed.