Skip to content

that blue roll

August 5, 2009

Photo01_2A

Photo20_21A

Photo04_5A

Photo05_6A

Photo17_18A

Photo18_19A

Photo30_31A

Photo07_8Aedit

Photo29_30A
………………….

hello, hello.  it sure is hot and humid in new york city right now.  normally i might complain, but after the strange weather this summer, i love it.

so, the photos above are from a roll of film that i got back a few weeks ago. when i looked through it, i was surprised (and a bit disappointed, to be sure) by the blue/green tint of the photos. i still do not know what happened to this roll to make it look like this … perhaps the film was expired, or someone in the lab made a mistake when processing the film. but i do know that the more i look at it, the more i like this roll and the strange photos it produced. it’s like film magic. don’t you think?

see a few more favorite shots from this roll here.

and today, i’m really enjoying the lo-fi photos here: b. slaughter polaroid.

31 Comments
  1. August 5, 2009 6:52 am

    oh i love it, especially the one of the tree.

  2. August 5, 2009 6:54 am

    i think they are wonderful! it gives them such a special quality!

  3. August 5, 2009 6:57 am

    they are wonderful, even more so all together (i agree with sandra: the tree is my favorite as well)

  4. August 5, 2009 7:00 am

    I abosolutely LOVE the blue cast.
    every photo is just beautiful.

  5. passfaster permalink
    August 5, 2009 7:06 am

    very nice photos , keep it up .

  6. August 5, 2009 7:08 am

    I dunno what the rest of the roll looked like, but what I see here is fantastic !!!!

    The first one with the bottles, and the other with the tree and the lights….. just lovely I would say.

  7. August 5, 2009 7:12 am

    I’m into blue right now.
    The tree one is awesome.

  8. August 5, 2009 7:17 am

    oh my! my joint favourites are the bottles and the way that light tube snakes around the tree.
    oh and those lights on in the building.. perfect..
    thank you for having such wonderful, inquistive eyes :)

  9. August 5, 2009 7:36 am

    I love surprises. And this is an awesome one.

  10. Kelly permalink
    August 5, 2009 7:45 am

    I looove the bottles one.
    do you scan the prints you get back, or do you scan negatives? You should be able to just correct the cyan right out of them no problem. When I scan my negatives, I generally turn all of the auto image correcting off and they scan in at straight cyan (fuji film is pretty cyan) and then I just fix it all in photoshop. :)

  11. August 5, 2009 7:46 am

    yes, lovely. the blue tint makes them look so peaceful.

  12. marthasnail permalink
    August 5, 2009 7:55 am

    these are all wonderful.

  13. August 5, 2009 8:00 am

    Brian, I gasped (with awe and delight) at the first photo. I love the accidents and magic that comes from using film.

  14. August 5, 2009 8:03 am

    What is the story behind the shot with the bottles? Where are they?

  15. Pam permalink
    August 5, 2009 8:47 am

    I like the blue cast. Makes it kind of melancholy. Love the one looking up into the tree.

  16. August 5, 2009 8:54 am

    What a great surprise after all! They are wonderful! Love the bottles and the bed (?) shots.

  17. August 5, 2009 9:39 am

    Hold on a sec – I LOVE these!!! Love the order you have placed them in too. The tree with the lights and the first one with all the bottles – they are seriously awesome. BF – you get better and better!!

  18. August 5, 2009 9:44 am

    Really love the roll, especially the second picture. I guess that’s the fun (and sometimes frustrating) part about film. Never really sure what you’ll get?

  19. August 5, 2009 10:03 am

    I stop by almost everyday and spend a considerable amount of “me time” staring in awe at your pictures. You’re only a beginner? I’m so excited to witness this creative experience of yours. The pictures are beautiful and the tint combined as a set does make it seem like a creative choice. Keep on keepin’ on!

  20. August 5, 2009 10:26 am

    i love them all. i think the film processor must have known your affinity towards blue.

  21. August 5, 2009 3:33 pm

    i wonder if this is what happens if you try to cross process c41 if that’s even possible? your subjects are always very zen, so this certainly amplifies their simplicity. i love what simplyphoto jen had to say; i thought the very same thing.

  22. August 5, 2009 3:59 pm

    it’s hard to pick a favourite, brian. i love them all. really.

  23. Melinda permalink
    August 5, 2009 9:43 pm

    Brian, together with my niece, you’ve inspired me to have a different view of pictures. Your blue pictures is just so you….”the blue hour”…. love the tree and the lights! Thanks for sharing.

  24. August 5, 2009 10:48 pm

    Wow…..these are ridiculously lovely.
    Especially the first one with all those bottles.
    Heart. Heart. Heart the film magic you’ve made!

  25. August 6, 2009 1:27 am

    Before I read your text, as I was scrolling down I was thinking to myself “how in the world did he do this?” Love.

  26. August 6, 2009 12:13 pm

    I love the blue tint. It looks fabulous.

  27. August 6, 2009 3:35 pm

    Obviously, this is why real film trumps digital any day. What a lucky accident!

  28. August 7, 2009 5:19 pm

    that blue tint is really quite magic. my favourite is the curtain. so beautiful.

  29. August 11, 2009 12:49 pm

    Goodness. Sometimes, I just can’t handle how very good you are.

  30. September 12, 2009 3:33 pm

    Brian, I think these are my favourite of yours. Simply stunning!!! Love all the blue! I’d love to swap my pictures for the one with the bed (#6 from the top) and the curtain (last one)? I think they’d look stunning together.

Trackbacks

  1. taking photographs at U N I F O R M Studio journal

Comments are closed.