Skip to content

a summer storm

August 10, 2009

Photo01_2

Photo02_3

Photo03_4

Photo20_18

………………
one of my favorite things about summertime is a good summer thunderstorm. especially when you have a day like yesterday in new york – hot, muggy, incredibly sticky. and then last night, as i went to bed, i heard a clap of thunder and waited for the downpour. it’s going to be a hot and humid day today … and i’m hoping for some more storms this evening.

the photos above were taken after a late afternoon thunderstorm in brooklyn. after it passed, i grabbed my camera and went for a walk in the cool, damp air.

and this weekend, i spent some time browsing through this wonderful polaroid blog, filled with summery images from new england and new york: passport to trespass. the photographer is mikael kennedy – check out his portfolio, especially ‘the odysseus’, here.

21 Comments
  1. August 10, 2009 7:17 am

    Same storm passed through here and chased away humidity–nice photos.

  2. August 10, 2009 7:37 am

    love the last one!

  3. marthasnail permalink
    August 10, 2009 8:02 am

    i miss nc thunderstorms for sure. great link today. it was fun to see some nice polaroids from vermont. hope your week is off to a good start.

  4. August 10, 2009 8:07 am

    I love summer rainy days, but somehow, we rarely get them here in the south of france. luckily, your images totally satisfy my cravings.

    xx fanny

  5. August 10, 2009 8:19 am

    Lovely, lovely, lovely……. Wonderful as usual. And your style is just getting better and better.

  6. August 10, 2009 8:49 am

    seriously…it’s going to be a scorcher today. I love how it does cool down after a storm rolls through.

  7. August 10, 2009 8:58 am

    Summer thunderstorms are a favorite of mine too. Love the last two images.

  8. August 10, 2009 9:50 am

    Summer thunderstorms are one my favorite things.

    And I love the blue building behind the bike! What a lovely color.

  9. August 10, 2009 10:18 am

    We had a window-rattling thunderstorm last night – it lit up the sky bright white, dramatic with the silhouette of leaves laid against it. Lovely photos, as always. And (from flickr) love your breakfasts.

  10. August 10, 2009 11:17 am

    i love thunderstorms. and you capture that after-the-rain light beautifully…

  11. August 10, 2009 12:25 pm

    Hi Brian…just lovely! I continue to be inspired by your photography…in fact I just purchased my first film camera in over ten years! K1000 it is :) I look forward to exploring it around LA in much the same way you capture NY…there is so much around me that I think will get better served by film than digital…

    I was wondering, though…where do you develop your photos to be able to turn them around so quickly for blog posts? I haven’t developed film in ages and I’m not sure if the local pharmacy does the trick these days, etc.

    Best! Evi

  12. anja permalink
    August 10, 2009 1:33 pm

    hi brian,
    you are right- his photos are lovely, as are yours..
    we`ve had lots of thunderstorms during the last few weeks-love to hear the sound of wind of rain while lying in bed.
    best,anja

  13. August 10, 2009 2:53 pm

    looks like we might have a thunderstorm tonight here in berlin – it’s been hot, but the wind’s been building up. somehow these thunderstorm bring back childhood, they’re spooky, mesmerizing, and the light… your photos capture that drama so well.

    love all of them, the last one’s my favourite…

  14. August 10, 2009 4:15 pm

    oh brian these are all so good, I especially love that last one.

    afternoon thunderstorms are my favorite thing about summer here too. we get some really wild ones, the bigger the better. I love going for a walk when it’s over, and the hot pavement is steaming after the rain. that might be the best smell in the world.

  15. August 10, 2009 4:27 pm

    I like the moody and cooling down feel of these. The odysseus was definitely worth looking at. Very cool.

  16. August 10, 2009 5:44 pm

    We had a big one last night too..and calling for another tonight.
    Love that first image! Perfection.:)

  17. August 10, 2009 6:08 pm

    You take the best pictures!

  18. August 11, 2009 1:48 am

    I really love the third one with the blue light in the windows.

  19. August 12, 2009 1:11 am

    there is something very calm about these, that evokes a nostalgia

  20. August 12, 2009 1:01 pm

    We just had a summer storm. I was initially distraught at the thought of an upset in my soccer schedule. Then it was all very dreamy and lovely— like your photos. I love your blog.

  21. August 12, 2009 1:02 pm

    We just had a summer storm. I was initially distraught at the thought of an upset in my soccer schedule. Then it was all very dreamy and lovely— like your photos. I love your blog.

Comments are closed.