Skip to content

pdx/sea, no. 2

September 30, 2009

dia_0269

__7_0127

dia_0248

dia_0251

dia_0252

dia_0254

dia_0259

dia_0260

_1A_0049

_27_0147

__4_0161

27A_0075

…………………..

isn’t portland photogenic? i thought so.

some stuff pictured above that i really liked…
+ the international rose garden at dusk
+ spending a hot afternoon browsing at powell’s books (this place is a bit overwhelming)
+ pastaworks! (what a market…)
+ visiting beckel canvas, the place where eena bags are made
+ the greens in portland seemed to be deeper and darker than what i’m used to … it might be that pacific NW light
+ the old cars parked everywhere in portland neighborhoods (i have so many photos of these and can’t wait to share them all – by far one of my favorite things about portland)
+ so many good breakfast spots (my favorite meal), and a great beer bar downtown

also, i know that some of you were wondering about how i process slide film. well, i’m not an expert here so if you have more info, please feel free to leave a comment and share. but i have it processed along with my negatives – it’s developed using a different process (E-6, vs C-41 for regular negatives). and then the slides are scanned onto a CD for me (i don’t have a scanner yet myself). it’s really no different than negatives as far as developing goes. the main difference that i notice is that you need to be more careful when you shoot with it (it’s less forgiving with regard to exposure). also, you can cross-process slide film with some really great results. hope that helps!

i’m having fun re-living my trip with these photos … thanks for joining me. see you back here for more tomorrow.

15 Comments
  1. September 30, 2009 7:28 am

    Brian,
    You photograph portland so well. I grew up there and havent been home in a year or so. your photos take me back. What kind of camera/film do you use? thanks for the comment,
    Foster

  2. September 30, 2009 7:36 am

    Brian, these are great! I love love love the image of the building with green windows. great low light capture!

  3. September 30, 2009 7:39 am

    Slide film is also way more expensive to have developed than regular too, but the results are so worth it. I love that forest shot.

  4. September 30, 2009 8:03 am

    More car shots would be welcome, I love this one! The light seems so different there…maybe it’s Portland, maybe it’s just the mood you’re setting. I love it.

  5. September 30, 2009 8:15 am

    portland is photogenic.
    i can’t decided which i like more,
    the beer bar or the breakfast.

  6. September 30, 2009 8:52 am

    i’m loving the deep greens. they remind me of the greens i got with slide film in japan. more please!

  7. September 30, 2009 9:02 am

    I spent a whirlwind day in portland this summer and didn’t take any photos.
    you have captured my memories perfectly.
    I love the way slide film shows the mood of a place -it really captures the true light quality so well.

  8. September 30, 2009 9:59 am

    wow. these are so great! thanks for the info on processing. i got a few rolls of fuji sensia a few weeks ago and was wondering how i would process them.

  9. September 30, 2009 10:13 am

    That “Meat Dept” photo looks to me like a set on a stage, lit with some kind of spot. (Also, I didn’t know that pigs like hazelnuts.)

  10. September 30, 2009 10:41 am

    i love that one looking up at the book shelf, great angle! can’t wait to see all those vintage car shots…

  11. September 30, 2009 10:42 am

    Brain,
    all of theses photos are fantastic!
    I love the sort of darkness and masculine features you capture.
    (Does that make sense?)
    Thanks for sharing your trip with us, you are making me want to experiment with my film choices.
    Can’t wait for more.

  12. September 30, 2009 11:57 am

    Brian, I need to be sleeping and can’t do things like read or type. But I have to just take two seconds to say that these photos so far are leaving me completely speechless. If you were trying to kill me, consider it a success.

    I don’t even know where to start with that breakfast table and those tall green trees.

  13. September 30, 2009 7:53 pm

    This made me a little homesick. Yes, the light in portland is deeper, and the skies are different. Glad you got good Powell’s time. People drive cars FOREVER because the winters are so mild and they don’t salt the roads…

  14. October 2, 2009 3:05 pm

    never been to portland, but always thought it to be awesome. and these photos prove this feeling right. you are really good at capturing the odd, but beautiful. i’ll hang out here a bit more….

  15. October 3, 2009 9:27 pm

    The rose garden is gorgeous.

Comments are closed.