Skip to content

pdx/sea, no. 4

October 2, 2009

3974450486_dcb0e01f1e_o

3973683747_85d5a6ffaf_o

3974451302_6ab38ac3c9_o

---_0012

---_0031

---_0027

---_0002

---_0007

---_0035

---_0033
……………………….

hello. above, some medium-format shots (taken with my diana+) for your friday morning.
i never know what i will get back when i take pics with this camera … i’m not crazy about all of these but they still make me smile.

i liked this feature on a new book about design, called ‘dark nostalgia’.

i have to run, but i think i’ll see you back here over the weekend.  i still have lots of photos to share from my travels!  i’m also going to do some book shopping this weekend, chili-tasting, and pizza-eating in brooklyn.  i hope yours is full of good stuff, too.

thanks for all of your nice comments this week!  cheers.

16 Comments
  1. October 2, 2009 7:37 am

    These turned out awesome. I think they are ones you will come back to and enjoy more.

  2. October 2, 2009 7:46 am

    I like these. The Diana is a cool camera!

  3. October 2, 2009 7:56 am

    oh, that green land cruiser shot! and, nice to see you…enjoy the weekend, Brian.

  4. October 2, 2009 8:21 am

    that sounds like a perfect fall weekend to me!

  5. October 2, 2009 9:32 am

    Hello Mister. These are pretty effing great, pardon my fronch. Especially the “Made in Oregon”… such a different perspective than usual and lookitall that sky! Really.

    Your weekend sounds better than going home. Can I change flights?

  6. October 2, 2009 10:30 am

    your shots are so perfect, just capture exactly the portland mood. I’m a bit in awe of you, brian.

  7. October 2, 2009 1:43 pm

    i’m envious of your weekend food adventures! have fun : )
    love these pictures, brian.

  8. October 2, 2009 2:38 pm

    I’m really enjoying all your pictures of Portland (my hometown). I keep sighing, and scrolling up and down, and sighing some more before calling my roommate over for a look.

    Thank you for posting.

    Also glad to learn of a cafe serving Courier. I received a bag via mail a little over a year ago, and I’ve been thinking about it ever since. I’ll definitely seek out Half & Half on my visit home next month.

  9. October 2, 2009 3:00 pm

    beautiful! i’m new here but these made me want more, so i’ll just hang out a bit if you don’t mind :)

  10. October 2, 2009 4:16 pm

    i feel the same
    way when i get
    my diana film back.
    you inspire me
    to take
    a roll this weekend.
    i am loving
    your
    portland
    photos…
    can’t wait
    for photos
    of my hometown
    of seattle!
    have a great
    weekend!
    g.

  11. Laura. permalink
    October 3, 2009 5:33 pm

    portland really is photogenic. clyde common and the ace are perfect (i personally love the roasted brussel sprouts). these photos remind me (for the millionth time) that i ‘m not sure why i don’t live in portland. thanks for sharing all these photos! and are you developing your slide film with regular processing?

  12. October 4, 2009 4:51 pm

    These shots are good. I usually get pretty bad surprises with my Diana. Miss Portland. Enjoying your string of posts.

  13. sweetcomice permalink
    October 4, 2009 7:40 pm

    Brian
    the photo of the coffee, sunglasses and book, on the table with long shadows has me in the midst of a poem. yes, that’s one of the things I do…write poems. when done i will send it along…you are a pretty interesting eater…..care to list all the different items you ate on your trip and what were the most satisfying?
    one of the things I love most about Portland is that each neighborhood is so unique, and people are incredibly friendly. You know, the Portland Jazz Festival is in February, around Valentines day, and is top notch. We usually go for a weekend and stay at a little hotel downtown.
    And, I used to live in Seattle, around Ravena, north of the U district. I am most fond of downtown, Ballard, Fremont, Capital Hill areas. There is a wonderful charcuterie and cheese shop, Delaurenti’s, downtown. Ok, enough reminiscing. Thanks for showing off your trip.
    Georgia

  14. October 4, 2009 10:41 pm

    i love the Chevy…my husband has that truck in blue, the family calls it Blue Thunder

  15. October 6, 2009 12:20 pm

    you should be proud of them! they are lovely…

  16. October 9, 2009 10:20 am

    Just found your blog. Wow, really love your shots!

Comments are closed.