Skip to content

pdx/sea, no. 7

October 15, 2009

__3_0195

_31_0223

_35_0119edit

_36_0120

_10_0202

_22_0214

_17_0209

_21_0213

_27_0219

_23_0215

_28_0220

_12_0204
…………………

hello hello.

i think it’s time to finish sharing photos from my trip to portland and seattle (although i do still have more pics that i will post here and there). my time in seattle was short, but i tried to do lots of fun stuff while i was there. i spent an afternoon walking around and snapping photos with anna and jon, my wonderful seattle tourguides. and that last photo is from breakfast with molly on my last day (where this was taken).  we got pastries from honore bakery.  well, i got 2 different kinds … i had been eating like a crazy person all week, so i figured there was no need to stop then.  they were both amazing — the kouign amann and a canelé.  i’m drooling just thinking about them.  what a memorable morning.  i hope to be able to spend more time in seattle one day soon.

also, hello to all of you who came here from decor8 blog. i appreciate all of your nice comments and emails. unfortunately, i’m so behind on answering emails right now that i wanted to answer the question that most people asked me right here. what sort of camera do i use?
for digital photos, i use a canon digital rebel xTi with the kit lens or, most of the time, a prime lens (a canon 50mm f/1.8). but most of the photos i’ve been sharing here over the past few months are film photos (you can tell if the photos are film by looking at the tags of a post). for my film shots, i use a pentax k1000, with a 50mm f/1.7 prime lens. i use a variety of different film types (most often, it’s fuji 400H or portra 400nc). and i take medium-format shots with my diana+.

i hope that is helpful. and i hope the rest of this week passes quickly, because it’s another tough one. but looking at the photos above from my trip have put a smile on my face.

hope to be back here tomorrow for friday flickr faves.
cheers!

26 Comments
  1. October 15, 2009 9:56 am

    I am sucking the sun right out of all these pictures today. And the pastries too.

  2. October 15, 2009 10:08 am

    beautiful! i needed this little glimpse of my hometown on this dreary day here in chicago. (and i had to laugh because i took a very similar picture of the athenian when i was there in august.) oh and kouign amann…i have a serious weakness for those. they are the best.

  3. October 15, 2009 10:10 am

    ooh! I’m buying (fer cheap!) a canon 50 mm f/1.8 today from craigslist. am pumped, my first non-kit lens.

    you can keep showing your vacation pics as long as you want.

  4. October 15, 2009 10:28 am

    brian could you post that bar photo on flickr so i can fav it a thousand times? the light is just perfect perfect.

  5. October 15, 2009 10:58 am

    these are great shots… i think the first two certainly complement one another. friday, already? wow

  6. October 15, 2009 11:05 am

    it’s great to see these, and i’m glad they help cheer up your week. also, congrats on the feature in decor8! i wouldn’t mind having a bite of that chocolate right now…

  7. marthasnail permalink
    October 15, 2009 11:45 am

    so great brian. the leaves reflected in that windshield. beauty. and i think i have a new project in the works for the winter: plant wall!

  8. October 15, 2009 11:45 am

    I agree with Maggie: show as many vacation pics as you want. I never tire of seeing the Northwest.

    I especially like the second to last photo. It seems to call out “stay a while.”

    Thanks, as always, for sharing.

  9. sweetcomice permalink
    October 15, 2009 12:09 pm

    Well, Brian
    You really caught the light here in October when the weather is more sunny than not. I love the chair in the low sun light and shade. I have some of those photos on my blog from a week ago…..

    I am glad you got to the market and all those little cubby hole eateries and specialty places. I will be making a trip soon.

    My students are especially fond of the little Italian Gelato place just south of the market. We stop there last and get back on our little bus for LaConner with big smiles.

    Which bakery did the Canele come from? I sorely miss a French bakery. My students have been making apple and pear galettes. I will have recipes and pictures on my blog this weekend.

    I was telling a friend about your blog yesterday…trying to explain what is unique about you and your photos……thanks for giving me an everyday/non-glitzy window into New York and the northeast. I haven’t been back in 20 years. And thanks for your sensitive view. I think that’s what I like most.
    Georgia

  10. October 15, 2009 1:50 pm

    Just seeing the Public Market sign makes me happy!!

  11. October 15, 2009 2:10 pm

    Brian, how can it be that I’ve never been to the Athenian? The next time you’re in Seattle, please be my tour guide.

    P.S. Beautiful.
    P.P.S. One of our servers was telling me last night that she found your post on Delancey and cannot get over how beautiful your photography is. You have a new fan.

  12. anaalegriasays permalink
    October 15, 2009 2:20 pm

    Congratulations!!
    Your blog is so great and the photos are so pretty! Keep up this beautiful project.
    Greetings from Europe,
    Ana Alegria

  13. October 15, 2009 9:27 pm

    Lovely! So glad decor8 sent me here!

  14. October 15, 2009 11:07 pm

    Brian! Wonderful! I was crushed that you didn’t post more Seattle pictures earlier…but you’ve cheered me right up with these. I live 90 miles north of Seattle in lovely little Bellingham, WA. Next time you’re in the Pacific Northwest, you must come up for a visit!

  15. October 16, 2009 2:57 am

    just wonderful.
    hope your weekend (very soon!) will be joyful.

  16. October 16, 2009 7:40 am

    hello, that’s crazy that you ate kouign amann in Portland. This is a typical cake from Brittany :)

  17. October 16, 2009 8:37 am

    love, love, love these…

  18. October 16, 2009 8:46 am

    Yes, I am with Hannah. And the barber shop one above it too.

    There were canelés everywhere in Tokyo. They are such total francophiles there.

    And please stop killing me with your photos. Please. I beg of you.

  19. October 16, 2009 10:36 am

    oh these are perfect. x

  20. October 16, 2009 12:52 pm

    You did an awesome job hitting all the highlights of my hometown. No guide book could ever make us look so good!

  21. timrobisonjr permalink
    October 17, 2009 1:17 pm

    I am so jealous you are moving to London. Brian….

    It is one of my favorite places. i look forward to the fotos.

  22. October 17, 2009 1:26 pm

    Also….That last image also makes me hungry. Great photos. Im loving that you are uploading quite a few for each post. keep it up!

  23. October 17, 2009 6:46 pm

    Absolutely LOVE the photos !!!

  24. October 24, 2009 11:24 am

    WOW, Your photos are beeeeeautiful! Looking forward to more.

  25. November 16, 2009 1:58 am

    I say it’s not the camera…always the photographer! You’ve captured Seattle so uniquely & beautifully…I’m blown away because I know all these places and now I’ll look at them a bit differently. Glad you had a great time ….Cheers!

Trackbacks

  1. Design Curiosities

Comments are closed.