Skip to content

favorites, and some news

October 16, 2009

Photo10_14A
mosaic324575a39abb51d1f9a639631a94181a369787de

top image is mine (breakfast one october morning)
bottom images: 1. Untitled, 2. Untitled, 3. Untitled, 4. Untitled, 5. Untitled, 6. film: at blackbird

………………………

today, i’m feeling the darker days and flat light in october. it’s been grey, chilly and rainy in new york the past few days and i think that has a lot to do with it. i like the feeling this weather gives me – time to bundle up, pull out the wool, stop going sock-less. but i’m also hoping for a bit more sun and bright fall colors in the coming weeks.

and i’ve got some news! many of you already know this, but i haven’t talked about it around here yet.
i’m moving to london.

!!!!

i know. it feels strange to say that, even now, when i’ve known for a few months. i’ll be moving in a few weeks, in the middle of november. i’m moving for work — my firm asked me to do a rotation in their london office, and i accepted. while it’s not permanent (i will be there for a year, possibly a bit longer), it still feels pretty huge. i’m incredibly excited about it, but nervous. but as a wise friend so eloquently put it recently, “the things that make you smile and make you nervous are the very best things.” they are, indeed.

so, i have a little project up my sleeve that has come out of this move, and i hope to share it with you here in a couple of weeks. in the meantime, i’m looking at flats online and dreaming about the many restaurants and cafes that i’ll visit, and the neighborhoods where i’ll take photo walks. not to mention the fact that i can finally pick up a copy of ‘tender‘ and visit places like this. i’ve always been sort of an anglophile, so i know that this will be a good move for me.

i’ll miss brooklyn terribly, but i will be back after my rotation is over.  in the meantime, i’m soaking up every last bit of NYC that i can, while looking forward to an exciting year ahead.

i hope your weekend is tops, and i’ll see you here next week.  and thank you for all of your wonderful comments and emails this week.  cheers!

68 Comments
  1. October 16, 2009 8:00 am

    Such a lovely collection of photos.
    Yay for London! You should concider a visit to Bergen whilst there. It’s only a quick and cheap flight away ;-)
    Happy weekend!

  2. October 16, 2009 8:05 am

    OMG. You are so lucky. I would LOVE to live in London for a year.
    I will probably be fave-ing every last one of your photos while you are there.
    Congrats!!!

  3. October 16, 2009 8:06 am

    Oh that’s awesome, congrats! I like what your friend said, “the things that make you smile and make you nervous are the very best things.” I will remember that, thank you.

  4. October 16, 2009 8:07 am

    wow! that’s amazing!

  5. Jean Prescott permalink
    October 16, 2009 8:07 am

    Today is my dad’s birthday; he’d be 101 if he hadn’t died in 1991. Your first photo today made me smile because it’s how he (a widower from 1977 to 1991) “laid the table” for his own breakfast. For every meal actually. And he did love toaster waffles. As for your news, Brian, I am jealous. I’ve never been to London but fancy I’d love the U.K. In fact, I’ve become fairly addicted to contemporary Brit TV on Netflix for the past few weeks. Oh, my goodness, I do wish you the very best. Sop up every experience, take lots of photos and share them here when you’re not exploring. I presume you’ll continue the blog. PLEASE, say you will be staying with us.

    • October 16, 2009 9:24 am

      hi jean- happy birthday to your dad!
      and yes, i will still continue this blog … looking forward to sharing london here.

  6. October 16, 2009 8:10 am

    yeah!! london’s very excited :)

  7. October 16, 2009 8:27 am

    man. that nordic bakery is going to put some hurt on the blue hour, i just know it. yay brian!!

  8. October 16, 2009 8:35 am

    Woot!

    (may I woot?)

    I can’t believe it’s so close now! Seems like a second ago the great debate was on. So glad you said yes and can’t wait to see what your camera will make of London, Brian. I just know it will be great.

  9. October 16, 2009 8:36 am

    SO exciting!

  10. October 16, 2009 8:42 am

    Congrats! This move sounds really exciting. London is fantastic, and I bet you will have a blast wandering around that gorgeous historic town. I hope you have enough time to savor NYC though… I can’t believe it’s happening so fast!

  11. October 16, 2009 8:45 am

    Congrats Brian! What an opportunity to do a rotation in the London office! Very excited for you!

  12. October 16, 2009 8:47 am

    wow. how lucky you are! i think a one year stint in london would be nearly perfect. can’t wait to see your photos from there.

  13. October 16, 2009 8:49 am

    I am excited to see London through your eyes.
    Congratulations on the great opportunity.

  14. Katie permalink
    October 16, 2009 9:28 am

    How exciting! Plus, you get to hang out with Charlotte! Yay!

  15. October 16, 2009 9:35 am

    great news. it will be fascinating to see the quiet tone of your photographs with international content. i’m hoping for more well-arranged tables, shimmering shores, and the like :) i have to tell you, i know decor8 has probably launched you into a new kind of blog fame, but i find myself referring a friend a week to your space here. there’s something undeniably peaceful about it that i’m often compelled to share.

    congratulations on the new horizon. best wishes to you.

  16. October 16, 2009 10:03 am

    just started looking at your blog a couple of weeks ago and am really enjoying the photographs. i see you have some jam there with your waffles (eggos?!) i recommend giving them a go sometime with peanut butter and syrup. a favorite of mine.

    also, congratulations on your move! i’m a wisconsinite that has lived in london for the past 5years with my english hubby. i really love it here. i’m sure you’ve got advice coming out your ears from people, but if you want any more, let me know!

  17. Xavier permalink
    October 16, 2009 10:32 am

    So I guess we’ll see you next in London or Paris… ;-)

  18. October 16, 2009 10:53 am

    Looking forward to seeing your London pictures!

  19. dana permalink
    October 16, 2009 10:59 am

    how exciting! love the pictures, and the quote as well. It was a good one, and words I will take to heart. I am headed to India for a month, changed my career, and filed for divorce…….smiling? can’t stop! nervous? oh, yes….but full of so much joy. Looking at your pictures adds to that joy every time I see them. Can’t wait to see London through the view of your camera!

  20. October 16, 2009 11:00 am

    can’t wait to see London again through your eyes. I loved living there,

  21. October 16, 2009 11:45 am

    Congrats on your move! That’s such an amazing and inspirational opportunity. I also am very moved by your “wise friend’s” sentiment. I’ve been mulling over a prospect myself and the quote you share sets my mind at ease. Cheers!

  22. October 16, 2009 12:02 pm

    Cool! You know what London is close to? That’s right, Berlin! :)

  23. October 16, 2009 12:11 pm

    congrats! catch a chelsea match for me.

  24. October 16, 2009 1:07 pm

    Congrats! What an exciting adventure! I can’t wait to see London through your photos and get some advice on great cafes to try or places to go, one day I hope to make it to London for a visit.

  25. October 16, 2009 1:31 pm

    How exciting! Jealous!

  26. October 16, 2009 1:54 pm

    This is going to be so great, to see your eye and London together !

  27. October 16, 2009 3:04 pm

    It will be worth it just for the copy of Tender alone…and something tells me that you’re going to meet Nigel Slater while you’re there. Simpatico!
    Have a wonderful adventure.

  28. October 16, 2009 3:59 pm

    Marvellous! Welcome to London. London will love you, and your camera.

  29. austen permalink
    October 16, 2009 4:04 pm

    Congratulations! Lucky for you to get to live there; lucky for us to get to see it through your eyes.

  30. October 16, 2009 4:05 pm

    wahoo! embrace this adventure and click, click, click away!

  31. October 16, 2009 5:09 pm

    A nice collection of photos. They do feel like the weather. London is wonderful. I went for a short time and have longed to move there. There are so many amazing places and restaurants. Over in Kensington is FFiona’s it is old traditional food but it is an experience. You’ll sit there all night if the silverware is not at 4 o’clock on the plate (her sign your done).

  32. October 16, 2009 9:12 pm

    Wow, what a terrific opportunity!! London is amazing, I’m sure you’ll love it there!!

  33. lisa leonard permalink
    October 16, 2009 10:16 pm

    just stumbled over here-soaking up your photography. xo

  34. Adi permalink
    October 17, 2009 3:06 am

    You’ll love it – London is fantastic !!! Flatwhite on Berwick street ( Soho) has great coffee and there is a guy in the market who sells nata cakes for a £1 , some great second hand record shops around the corner…….perfect way to spend a day . Looking forward to your photos.

  35. October 17, 2009 6:47 am

    Amazing news! Congratulations. It will be a great adventure!

  36. October 17, 2009 7:52 am

    I am soo excited for you Brian, and can’t wait to hear what your upcoming project will be. I have a feeling London will suit the Blue Hour quite well. :)

  37. Jen permalink
    October 17, 2009 2:30 pm

    I moved to London from Sydney a few years ago and it took me a while to settle in. Reading Nigel’s weekly column in the Observer and just about all his books made such a difference. Tender is a really excellent book. Some of my favourite places to eat in London are – Petersham Nurseries Cafe, Moro, Locanda Locatelli, Japan Centre (Piccadilly and the new food hall on Regent St). I’m in North London and if you like your fresh food then you must check out Steve Hatt (fishmonger on Essex Rd N1) and Frank Godfrey Butcher. Borough Market is also great and there are lots of weekly farmers’ markets all over the place. Am sure there will be one close to where you might be staying (I highly recommend North London though!)

  38. marthasnail permalink
    October 17, 2009 3:59 pm

    you know i’m coming to visit, right? have an excellent weekend.

  39. October 17, 2009 7:47 pm

    step and I will be headed to london and other parts of england this spring…. or at least, it’s in the works. NYC meet-up didn’t happen, sadly, but perhaps a UK meet-up will? ;) Looking forward to following your adventures abroad, brian. What a fun time!

  40. Jennifer permalink
    October 18, 2009 3:23 am

    Conratulations!!!
    This will be the chance of a lifetime!
    I am a Canadian foodie who has lived in London for 14 years so if you need any advice/info I am always happy to oblige!!!

  41. October 18, 2009 12:48 pm

    Congrats! I’ve been poking around your blog for awhile (kudos on having really gorgeously textured photos all.the.time. this kid=jealous.) and as a fellow American living in Europe, I want to welcome you to the other side of the great, big ocean! London’s a fantastic city and I am looking forward to seeing the photos you’ll be inspired to take. Here’s a little list to get you started in the city – http://www.guardian.co.uk/lifeandstyle/2009/sep/13/best-foods-in-the-world (check out #20!)

  42. October 18, 2009 5:25 pm

    hej brian! i only just discovered your blog. it is so inspiring and you take beautiful pictures. i wish you the best for your time in london. an amazing city!

  43. October 18, 2009 6:18 pm

    such exciting news! can’t wait to hear all about it! and most especially can’t wait for the photos!

  44. October 18, 2009 10:09 pm

    I’m so glad I found this blog and can watch your London adventure unfold. Your photography transports me, it is traveling without moving.

  45. October 18, 2009 10:26 pm

    Brian, that picture is amazing as always. Good luck with London – it’s definitely one great city!

  46. October 19, 2009 1:31 am

    Oh boy, oh boy…. that sounds so exciting !!!! Big congrats !!!

  47. Wendy permalink
    October 19, 2009 4:02 am

    Think about Greenwich when thinking of a place to live! It’s a really beautiful part of town and very easy to get into the centre of things. It has a really great community feel to it, with great pubs and places to eat, a beautiful park and heath,and with the best views of London. I love living here!
    All the best with your move.

  48. October 19, 2009 6:19 am

    sounds like your firm made an offer you couldn’t refuse. who could? good luck in london, brooklyn will be here when you’re ready to return. as an anglophile myself, i’m so envious. when i told my husband about you he just groaned. so cute. best, c

  49. October 19, 2009 6:40 am

    How exciting! I can’t wait to see London through the lens of your camera.

  50. October 19, 2009 7:52 am

    very exciting! congratulations!

  51. October 19, 2009 10:15 am

    that’s fantastic!!!
    i am so jealous.
    congratulations.

  52. October 19, 2009 10:55 am

    oh my!! i am so excited for you!
    i have been planning a trip to london for a long time and now that i’ve moved to peterlee (north east england) i am hoping it is nearer than ever to fruition! can we plan a dinner at that inn? it is beaut!

    and that nigel slater tender book is the last word, my mum just bought me a copy to welcome me into my new apartment the best way – filling it with homecooked food scents!!

    warm wishes for a seamless move to england! mine hasn’t been all that bad but i do miss my friends in ireland :(
    xx

  53. October 19, 2009 11:53 am

    wow that’s amazing! good luck in london. what firm do you work for?
    be sure to check out borough market. its my favorite: http://www.boroughmarket.org.uk/

  54. October 19, 2009 11:55 am

    oh & the best samosa chat i ever had was from a vendor here: http://www.broadwaymarket.co.uk/home.html

    enjoy!

  55. October 19, 2009 1:02 pm

    Love your breakfast in october photograph. Enjoy London!

  56. October 19, 2009 2:19 pm

    Last week I read about a market in London in which there is a vendor who sells sauteed mushrooms with herbs on toast. The scent, it is said, infects the whole market, maybe even hypnotizes. I hope you find it, document it, post it here.

    Thanks for these pictures. I like the one in the field. And thanks for sharing the news. Good luck.

  57. theghostis permalink
    October 19, 2009 5:30 pm

    inspiring fall photos.

  58. October 19, 2009 5:34 pm

    Yeah! London. You will LOVE it. :) Such exciting news!
    I am planning on moving over in spring/summer 2010..so maybe we’ll get a chance to go shooting.

  59. October 19, 2009 8:52 pm

    you will love it I’m sure. and I’m selfishly looking forward to the awesome photos from london:)

  60. October 20, 2009 7:10 am

    good luck on your newest adventure. i’m looking forward to seeing london through your camera.

  61. margaret permalink
    October 20, 2009 1:55 pm

    I am super excited to see some London pictures on here soon!!! Also, this post made me crave toaster waffles :)

  62. October 21, 2009 11:51 am

    how exciting! and how lucky you are to get such an oportunity, even though it might feel scary too.

  63. October 21, 2009 11:58 am

    london is awesome! you are going to have the best time. yay you!

  64. anna permalink
    October 23, 2009 3:24 pm

    oh! oh! oh! you’ll have a fabulous time — london’s fantastic.

    i’m so excited for you and excited for us that we get to see your explorations here!

  65. October 26, 2009 2:46 pm

    congrats on taking on the challenge and adventure of going abroad!
    i’ve taken the plunge and can honestly say that it is one of the best decisions i have ever made.
    the life experience that you’ll gain while away from “home” will be immense!
    i’m looking forward to watching your new world unfold – here.

  66. November 10, 2009 6:56 pm

    wow! luck you :) you’re photos are beautiful and so moody. I love it.
    I just moved back from a year in London (we were in Greenwich– you have to check that part of town out!) and I deeply miss it. Enjoy your trip!! (Oh, and look out for the TV show Mock The Week, you can watch it on bbc.co.uk and it is 10x better than the Daily Show!)

  67. Victoria Pichel permalink
    March 29, 2012 8:52 pm

    I know it’s terribly late to be commenting on this post :P but either way I’d love to ask you something. hope it is not much intruding…
    Do you work in photography full time? For this firm you mention here?… or do you have another job and photography is your second job, the “freelance” one?

    cheers!

Comments are closed.