Skip to content

cafés + restaurants

October 26, 2009

_19_0103

dia_0247

_26_0146

Photo13_24A

Photo08_9

…………..

last month, matt posted something about inspiration that made me think. he said that there are a couple of places where, no matter what, he can find some photographic inspiration and take some shots. he’s posted about flea markets and airports, and it got me thinking …. where do i go to snap a few inspiring photos, even when i’m not feeling too creative?

of course, the answer was restaurants and cafés. i always seem to find some good light in these places, whether it’s low lights and votives at a restaurant at night, or flat blue light at a coffee shop in the late afternoon. above, i’ve posted some photos taken in different restaurants and cafés.

where do you turn for inspiration when you need it?

hoping to be back in this space more regularly this week, and with some new photos to share later in the week. hope your weekend was tops. more soon.

22 Comments
  1. October 26, 2009 8:22 am

    Digging the first two images.

    For me? Inspiration? Food, signs and nature. In that order!

  2. October 26, 2009 8:33 am

    I often turn around in my own home to follow the light.
    But under the trees is a great option for me, real source of inspiration since my mind seems to wander free there.
    2004-Huerto de cerezos en Perpignan / Cherry tree orchard in Perpignan
    05-12-2008 Tilo mágico / Magical linden tree
    09-07-2009 Sweet tree
    18-10-2008 Transformado / Transformed
    04-09-2009 Prefiero esto / I prefer this

  3. October 26, 2009 8:45 am

    I love taking photos on my daily walks… being outdoors is where I feel most comfortable taking pictures.

    People have started to ask me to do portraits for them–I shoot for the English Dept at the U of MN for their events, and some people have asked me to do head shots or shots of their kids or Christmas card pictures (one girl even asked me to reshoot her wedding when she liked my candids from that day better than the pro shots!)–I don’t know if portraiture is what I feel comfortable with. If it’s people, I much prefer that fleeting in-the-moment shot over anything remotely posed. It’s something I definitely want to learn to do, as it’s the only thing that seems lucrative, but then again, I don’t want to make money off something that seems to belong to me in such a different, more private way. Does that make sense?

  4. October 26, 2009 9:11 am

    yep. food and restaurants for sure. although when our food comes to the table and i pull out my camera, it’s usually followed by a deep sigh from david. phooey.

  5. October 26, 2009 9:52 am

    I always find inspiration in little breakfast spots, favorite restaurants, and coffee shops but I’m too shy to get my camera out. So, I stick with places like our family cabin, my kitchen, and anywhere in the mountains.

  6. October 26, 2009 12:14 pm

    I love these photos of the cafe. What I like most about them is that they are empty. No people. Found you through Decor 8 and REALLY like your photography. Thought it’s about time I commented and said “hi”.

  7. October 26, 2009 1:04 pm

    oh yeah. architecture too! its probably tied with food.

  8. October 26, 2009 2:05 pm

    Cafés are inspirational awesomesauce, no doubt about that. Thanks for sharing, Brian!

  9. October 26, 2009 3:41 pm

    sides of buildings

  10. October 26, 2009 4:12 pm

    lights, people, the roofs of Paris, skies, nature, details of daily life and food….
    pretty long list;)

  11. October 26, 2009 4:37 pm

    When living in New York I would often go to the library : my favorite being the St. Agnes branch on the upper west side, the upstairs in the kids section sitting at the tiny tables that are a warm honey shade and soo soo hearty! Now I am living in Salt Lake City and honestly, I was worried about moving out here and not feeling as inspired as being in New York…but if anything it is the same if not more! I am so spoiled with living close to beautiful amazing old pre-war homes…being smack right up against the mountains….the fall here has been sooo unbelievably beautiful that I have taken an oath upon myself that once moving back to New York or Europe that I will always make it out here during the fall!

  12. marthasnail permalink
    October 26, 2009 4:57 pm

    i love the water….but i really enjoy restaurants as well. these are great photos!

  13. sten permalink
    October 26, 2009 5:16 pm

    yea(: love the first two images.
    i love sitting in my favourite cafe
    with my favourite people
    and talking, catching up

  14. sweetcomice permalink
    October 26, 2009 5:59 pm

    I love the light that comes through the windows of the rooms you photograph. Do you plan the times? There is a certain quality…I wouldn’t say it is that “blue hour-ish” time but though the images are crisp the light is soft.

    My inspirational themes right now are the weather…buckets of rain, wind knocking leaves off the black walnut tree in 1 day, crazy clouds.

    Being able to see a student thinking deeper by the look on his face.

    A wild-ass question that upsets other students.

    Going to a gallery and studying a painting or sculpture after reading a biography of the artist. I can almost converse with the images.

    Thanks for the question.
    Georgia

  15. October 26, 2009 6:43 pm

    Ran through my Flickr stream to see if there were any prevalent themes. Definitely food related venues, nature (especially changes in nature) and portraits.

    Seeing something ‘new’ is always cause for pulling out the camera too and always exciting! Love these shots :)

  16. October 26, 2009 8:32 pm

    For me, it’s outside, preferably in the countryside. I get impatient shooting indoors and it starts to feel too contrived.

    But the photos I love the most are the things I don’t myself shoot well!

    These are beautiful. I hope the moving prep is going well.

  17. October 26, 2009 11:16 pm

    I’m very lucky to have huge windows and western exposure, so I can almost always get good lighting in my kitchen, even when it’s practically dark outside, and I don’t use a flash.

  18. October 27, 2009 8:10 am

    I LOVE these cafe pictures. I’m too much of an amateur to talk about photograhpy but, generally, in terms of inspiration I love leaves, wild weather, unguarded faces, steep streets and attention to small details that are beautiful but overlookable.

  19. October 27, 2009 9:44 am

    I’m with you on cafés. I also turn to corners of my home.

  20. October 27, 2009 11:19 am

    you capture a great mood in these places. i always find inspiration around my nephews… children are ever changing and as long as you open yourself up to the opportunity to photograph their changing moods/action/games they will always surprise you!

  21. October 27, 2009 12:54 pm

    I have a bad habit of shooting coffee. My boy does the same thing, Hannah lol

    Anywhere there is light, but I find naturey places like farms and the countryside are good too, simply because I live in the city.

  22. marianasabido permalink
    October 28, 2009 2:13 pm

    I juts got your book. Thanks for lovely images!

Comments are closed.