Skip to content

recent snaps

October 29, 2009

_19_1797

33A_1811

_17_1795

_16_1794

_29_1807

_25_1803

_24_1802

_14_1792

_20_1798

_13_1791

__8_1786
………………….

good morning to you. amidst the craziness of this october, i’ve managed to have 2 or 3 days that were perfect — the way i’d like to remember this month. there were a few sundays in particular when my mind (and my schedule) was clear, and i spent the day walking around with my camera, meeting friends for beers and eats, watching a few gorgeous sunsets (and even catching improptu fireworks after dinner!), and stopping in to brooklyn shops here & there. i’m sharing some photos above taken on those days.

and a few things that i’ve been looking at lately…
+ foster’s inspiration wall for the LL Bean event – really inspiring, good stuff
+ gwen’s post, impromptu (i have been thinking about this, too)
+ a small book of polaroids from steven harrington and lines & shapes
+ i really think that j.crew is spot-on in its collaborations and its men’s clothing of late … check out their spring 2010 stuff here (esp. the lookbook) … is there a jcrew in london??
+ R.I.P. roy decarava.  there is great selection of his photographs here at monoscope
+ brits in brooklyn! i love this.

things have finally slowed down a bit around here, and i think today is going to be a great day.  and i’ve got a new mix to share — so i’ll see you here tomorrow.  cheers.

24 Comments
  1. October 29, 2009 9:29 am

    I love the name “Hope and Anchor” on the door there. Creates such a great image in my mind. These photos are great and glad you had a few clear days. Hope there’s more for you before you have to leave!

  2. October 29, 2009 9:42 am

    great shots, brian. i particularly like the white stag head one.
    there’s no j crew in london unfortunately… the most recent brands to cross the pond are brooks brothers and anthropologie but they’re waaaaay pricier than in the states. there will be lots of cool english shops to discover though – you are going to love liberty, i know it!

  3. October 29, 2009 10:06 am

    this collection of photographs is just beautiful. enjoy your day off!

  4. October 29, 2009 10:13 am

    there’s always something very nostalgic about your images, like the faintest hint of perfume on the wind after someone you love has passed by. thanks for sharing.

  5. October 29, 2009 10:14 am

    Wonderful Brian! I love the one with ivy and the one of the water. Good luck with all your craziness.

  6. October 29, 2009 10:43 am

    these are all really awesome, man!

  7. October 29, 2009 10:52 am

    damn… these are pretty. great job,
    Foster

  8. October 29, 2009 11:11 am

    look, you found fall! these are beautiful, brian. i love the first one and the pumpkins. hope your transition is going smoothly.

  9. October 29, 2009 11:14 am

    welcome back.

    great set.

  10. October 29, 2009 12:03 pm

    Dare I say perfect? Yes.

  11. October 29, 2009 12:41 pm

    These are so beautiful, Brian. Somehow seem from a different palette than your other photos. Is that just me?
    And some of these I recognize from my mother-in-law’s neighborhood, i think. Is that Saipua?

  12. October 29, 2009 3:13 pm

    Your wonderful photographs really capture the season. I can almost feel the brisk autumn air looking at them! I posted and linked you in my last post. I hope that is ok. I just love finding your photos on my google reader. Take care.

  13. October 29, 2009 4:39 pm

    Your photos are full of a sense of serenity and stillness, and yet they are also animated with life. I am really enjoying my visits to your page.
    That wooden seat going around the tree in the second picture is just like one in the garden of St John’s College in Oxford. It’s only an hour from London: you should definitely go and visit when you’re on this side of the water. It’s a photographer’s heaven…

  14. October 29, 2009 5:27 pm

    oh brian! truly lovely.

  15. October 29, 2009 6:58 pm

    As someone who has had a dearth of perfect days this fall, I’m appreciate how rare and precious those are. Thanks for sharing these photos.

  16. October 29, 2009 9:25 pm

    You shoot water like nobody else. It drives me insane with joy!

  17. October 30, 2009 12:40 pm

    great collection brian. happy weekend!

  18. October 30, 2009 10:18 pm

    brian! i used to work at hope & anchor when i lived in red hook. my apartment was on the top floor in the building where erie basin now lives. also, my friend anne co-owns the shop tiburon. red hook has changed so much, and is still so, so good. i miss it, even though i was just visiting last weekend. thanks for these wonderful photos send me back. cheers!

  19. October 31, 2009 1:26 pm

    I love the richness of your photos- the colors and textures your eye is drawn to are very cozy and beautiful.

  20. October 31, 2009 3:45 pm

    Great photos. I really like the first one. It really captures what I think autumn should be.

  21. October 31, 2009 4:40 pm

    the tones of your film shots are truly magic.

    discovered gwen’s bugheart through you. thanks for that.

  22. November 2, 2009 3:51 pm

    Aww, love the shots with the hydrangeas and the fish!

  23. November 3, 2009 11:39 pm

    hi! just wanted to say your shots are beautiful, and your blog is one of my new favorites.
    also, your title reminded me of elliott erwitt- i saw him speak recently, and he introduced his photographs as “some of my snaps.” i thought it was adorable.

    :)

Trackbacks

  1. A Little Something In The Morning « Lah Mode

Comments are closed.