Skip to content

more bits

November 17, 2009

…………
this weekend, i got caught in a parade (it was the lord mayor’s show) and i saw lots of parade bands from all over the U.K. it was pretty great, especially all those bagpipes. i also ate some apples, english cheddar and good bread. and i took note of the waning signs of autumn in london.

one of the best parts of the weekend: catching hugh fearnley-whittingstall‘s new show on channel 4, “the river cottage: winter’s on its way.” simply amazing – the food, the scenes of the english countryside, the inspiration. i can’t wait for parts 2, 3 and 4. for the past few years, the celebrity chefs that resonate with me have been british, for some reason. it’s really fun to be here and to see them in print and on TV (i also found a copy of jamie oliver’s magazine this weekend, which was difficult to locate in the U.S.). i’m looking forward to getting settled in a kitchen of my own … it’s been too long since i’ve cooked!

28 Comments
  1. November 17, 2009 2:10 pm

    Yeah, British food writers are my favorite too. Kitchen Diaries is waiting for me at the library again. I should just buy the darn thing.

  2. Paulina permalink
    November 17, 2009 2:12 pm

    Hi Brian! I only just found your blog the day all your wonderful flickr friends bid you bon voyage, but I’m so glad I did! It’s so exciting that you’re in London; I studied abroad in Cambridge this summer and went to London every chance I got. I fell in love with London. I was also thrilled to finally find Jamie Oliver’s magazine. When you get the chance, you should try one of his restaurants! My boyfriend and I went to Fifteen’s trattoria. It was so delicious.

    I can’t wait to see more of your photographs of London and beyond :)

  3. November 17, 2009 2:17 pm

    Your pictures of London are amazing. Hugh is definitly the funniest. Enjoy

  4. November 17, 2009 2:22 pm

    Hi Brian,

    Fantastic photos! You have a great eye!!!

    I just got back from a trip to London. Definitely go check out Bourough Market soon. Incredible! Find the stall that makes grilled cheese sandwiches. Great bread, the best cheddar, and a mixture of leaks, garlic and onion. Grilled to perfection! Just fantastic.

  5. November 17, 2009 2:29 pm

    look at all those glorious fall colors!

  6. November 17, 2009 2:38 pm

    Hi Brian! London (England in general) is somewhere I have always wanted to visit but I haven’t made it there yet. It’s a real treat to see it through your eyes and share in your adventure. Thanks again for sharing and congrats on getting to sell some of your work!

  7. November 17, 2009 3:01 pm

    Brian, please stop posting good photos… you make me miss London… :-)

  8. marthasnail permalink
    November 17, 2009 3:05 pm

    so fun to be able to see clips from the show. love that parade shot. what kind of apples have you been snacking on?

  9. November 17, 2009 3:26 pm

    New Jamie Mag comes out next Thursday! It gets me more excited than a food mag should have, but it just so amazing.

  10. November 17, 2009 3:26 pm

    love the neals yard shot, brian. and hooray for hugh f-w!

  11. November 17, 2009 3:29 pm

    *it’s…

    EC1 I see, you’re in my area :))

  12. sarah chong permalink
    November 17, 2009 4:04 pm

    thanks for giving us many peeks of london! beautiful pictures (:

  13. November 17, 2009 4:45 pm

    Nice bits, Brian!

  14. November 17, 2009 5:34 pm

    Truly fabulous snapshots from your adventure. Even the simplest of things, apples and cheddar, become gilded from your exuberance. Thank you.

  15. November 17, 2009 5:34 pm

    im so jealous of you right now brian. so very jealous.

  16. November 17, 2009 5:43 pm

    That Arthur Beale seems to have lots of treasures inside. I, for one, would like one of those blue striped shirts in the window. It’s like we’re getting introduced to London along with you. Thanks.

  17. Jean Prescott permalink
    November 17, 2009 6:24 pm

    Great photos. You sound so very jazzed. Good for you, and happy days. It’s great to see you’re thinking about all at “blue hour.” Have fun. Soak up everything and dump it back here for us Yanks.

  18. November 17, 2009 7:30 pm

    I agree with Katie about the grilled cheese at Borough Market. Best grilled cheese I’ve ever had!
    Really loving your photos!

  19. November 17, 2009 8:10 pm

    that show looks great! i’m so jealous. loving all your photos.

  20. November 18, 2009 1:27 am

    I also found your Flickr and The Blue Hour as a result of seeing all the farewells from your Flickr friends. I’m enjoying what I’m seeing so far of your blog and look forward to reliving London (I was there on vacation earlier this year) through your photographs.

  21. November 18, 2009 6:41 am

    Brian, you make me miss London so much. Hope everything is fantastic for you right now.

  22. November 18, 2009 1:29 pm

    Man, London loves you. I especially love that shot from the parade. Looking forward to seeing what you come up with in your kitchen!

  23. Liz permalink
    November 18, 2009 1:33 pm

    If you ever want to take a fun day-trip, you should check out Cheddar (the town). You can take a tour of the cheese factory, and the caves where the cheese ages, and at the end you get to sample the most incredible cheeses!

  24. November 18, 2009 1:45 pm

    Super!

  25. November 18, 2009 7:20 pm

    Your London shots are great. I really like the one of the apples and cheese.

  26. November 18, 2009 8:39 pm

    Oh, I just love the last photo of the ivy- how beautiful! The light and the colors…I love it. All these London photos make me very much wish I were taking a trip there sometime soon. London is the place that speaks to my heart almost as much as where I live now. I’m so glad you’re there and documenting it!

  27. November 19, 2009 12:58 am

    Hugh FW is wonderful and I agree that these days the British chefs are the best. Another one to look for is Valentine Warner–young and kind of geeky/sweet, his passion and energy are very inspiring. He’s always crawling around in a hedgerow or digging something out of a stream. His shows are called What to Eat Now–very seasonal.

    Enjoy your adventure! And thank you for so generously sharing it with us!

Trackbacks

  1. B.Ferry In London « Lah Mode

Comments are closed.