Skip to content

birch trees

November 30, 2009


……………

those birch trees outside of the tate modern in london are pretty impressive, i must say. i’d seen a few photos of them before, but there is something to be said for walking between the rows of white trunks on a grey afternoon.

and speaking of museums, thanks to those of you who suggested stopping by the museum of everything. i loved it … a great space filled with curious and interesting work.  after my visit, i’ve been thinking about art created without the expectation that another person will see it. secret art. how would that change your creative process? i like the idea of making something solely for my own satisfaction and i’d like to do that more often.  in this way, a lot of the art in the museum of everything appears to be less of an effort to make a statement, and more of a meditation or a way to navigate a private obsession.   (more info about this museum here)

well, enough heavy thinking for me today. i’ve got some food photos to share — see you back here soon.

18 Comments
  1. November 30, 2009 3:43 pm

    eek! birches! love these photographs, brian. the top one takes my breath away. gosh i miss london! p.s… if you hadn’t stumbled upon it yet. the school of life in central london is wonderful as well.. i love it.

  2. jana permalink
    November 30, 2009 3:59 pm

    the top photo is indeed wonderful!

  3. November 30, 2009 4:41 pm

    i want the first one as wallpaper in my livingroom, please. ;)

  4. November 30, 2009 5:01 pm

    I had a birch tree in my patio that died on me this year… sigh.
    28-03-2009 Nuestro abedul / Our birch tree
    I wish I had more one day, when I have my own piece of land.
    For now, these ones will do!!

  5. November 30, 2009 5:20 pm

    ooooo oooo that top photo! very nice!

  6. November 30, 2009 6:42 pm

    which camera did you use for them? amazing captures

  7. November 30, 2009 8:38 pm

    Ooooh, I love the top photo. Nicely captured. Are you loving London?

  8. Ash permalink
    December 1, 2009 2:09 am

    beautiful shots brian. love.

    I love the idea of secret art, for no purpose other than the outpouring of personal inspiration.

  9. December 1, 2009 2:33 am

    birch trees are one of my favourite trees.
    they just look so elegant in any season!

  10. shima permalink
    December 1, 2009 4:03 am

    a,shirakaba.Higashiyama Kaii mitai. akinoiro to fuyu no otozure.konoha no kosureru oto.

    http://www.oida-art.com/buy/xl/7030.html

  11. December 1, 2009 4:20 am

    Lovely images.

    In another context, John Berger said that to put something into words ‘is to discover the hope that these words may be heard’. I think the same can be applied to art and photography – making or taking a picture in the hope that it will be seen. Sometimes the creation is motivated by the desire to share, rather than make a statement primarily for others’ consumption. But I agree, the opposite is equally true. At times we do need to produce something just for ourselves. It’s not so much secret as uniquely personal.

  12. December 1, 2009 8:18 am

    glad you made it….

  13. December 1, 2009 2:17 pm

    Any street lined with trees is a treat for me.
    (sorry about that constant rhyme there…though it’s true!)

  14. sweetcomice permalink
    December 1, 2009 6:56 pm

    Your trees are inspiring…..the poplar tree on my blog from the weekend was taken in a particular way because of how I see your trees…..or how I see how you see trees.

    Wonderful ideas about art…..don’t you think there is a tremendous difference between art that is made for its own sake and art that is made knowing it will be seen by others? And take it a step further…..art that is made knowing/hoping it will sell. This is profound for the artist concerned with bringing forth that which has been unknown to him. Anything that takes the artist away from the true joy and work brings a perceptible change to the art. And we as viewers can see it and feel it. Is it art or kitsch? Art or personal statement? Art or crafts-piece? Art or representation? What is art?

    For me, I love making the perfect loaf of bread, French or brioche, whole grain. the color of the crust, the graceful shape, the feel of it in my hand.
    I love the wedding cake, chocolate with a raspberry filling, 3 tiers, with white chocolate buttercream, with white chocolate curls, fondant ribbons in a sage color, little candied roses here and there, placed by a practiced eye. then, a few hours later, perhaps after a photo or two, it is gone, all gone, just a sweet memory for maker and receivers. Is this not art?
    Georgia

  15. December 2, 2009 11:28 am

    those birch trees were converted into a fairy wonderland this summer and laced with ribbon and string and all kinds of loveliness. such a wonderful spot.

  16. December 3, 2009 2:42 am

    Your blog is so yummy! :D

  17. thefty permalink
    December 3, 2009 5:35 am

    It’s funny how recognizable that lane of trees is – I immediately knew it was just outside the Tate.

  18. December 6, 2009 10:48 am

    The birch trees are my favorite part of the Tate. I love to stand between them and just be.

Comments are closed.