Skip to content

time for lunch

December 1, 2009


…………..

i’ve only been here for about 3 weeks, but there seems to be a vibrant and exciting food scene here in london. i’m not surprised, to be honest.  but it certainly makes me insanely happy.

today, i’m sharing some photos from the whitecross street market. every weekday, the vendors set up shop and sell an amazing variety of foods to hungry lunch crowds. the market is on a small side street near my office, and it’s really wonderful. there is amazing chorizo, grilled and served on country bread with roasted peppers and arugula (or rocket, if you’re british). i’ve also spotted thai food and indian curry, a vegetarian table with haloumi burgers and fresh soups, and a cart selling delicious, spicy falafel + hummus pitas. i haven’t tried the burrito truck pictured above because the line is super long, but i’ve heard good things and it’s next on my list. there is a great coffee roaster serving drinks made with square mile coffee (mmm), and a few vendors selling good cheeses and excellent sweets.

my favorite so far is “the roast of sherwood.” amazing roasted pork with fennel, garlic and rosemary, sliced and served hot on a soft bun with arugula and a sweet chili sauce. and if you ask nicely, they will sprinkle some pork cracklings on top for you. unwrap, eat, and you’re in heaven. seriously.

stumbling upon little things like this market is what i’ve really enjoyed about living in london so far.

…………

also, i was happy to find out that one of my photos was featured on dooce.com’s holiday gift guide for him.  if you are looking for a special holiday gift, you should buy some of the wonderful photos in the simply photo pop-up shop today.

i’ll be back here soon to share a few websites i’ve been enjoying lately. cheers!

30 Comments
  1. December 1, 2009 12:23 pm

    oh boy, that looks good. i should not have read this post so close to lunch! looks like you are settling into london quite nicely.

  2. December 1, 2009 12:26 pm

    you’ve killed me thrice with this post. a. food, b. cheese, c. green pants.

  3. Maureen S permalink
    December 1, 2009 12:26 pm

    YUM! I am currently eating an apple for lunch (only thing I could grab on the run) and my mouth is watering for that the roast of sherwood deliciousness!! Wonderful photos, esp those green pants (or trousers I should say!). :-)

  4. marthasnail permalink
    December 1, 2009 12:51 pm

    gingham, polka dots, green pants and good eats! doesn’t rocket sound so much cooler than arugula.

  5. December 1, 2009 1:12 pm

    gorgeous photos. have you had a scotch egg? i am really intrigued by those.

  6. December 1, 2009 1:31 pm

    i really like that you are out at lunchtime with your camera, asking nicely for pork cracklings. sounds vibrant and happy. enjoy, brian!

  7. December 1, 2009 1:35 pm

    I love that shot with the big slabs of cheese! I love going into shops that have spreads laid out. There are so many varieties of cheese! Haha, you can laugh at home easily thrilled I am with cheese :P It sounds kind of silly now that I read over it…..

  8. December 1, 2009 1:47 pm

    i think i need some chorizo eggs in my life!

  9. Paulina permalink
    December 1, 2009 2:09 pm

    Oh my gosh this all looks so good. I love street markets so much. Are you planning on heading to Borough Market anytime soon? If so, I’m excited to see your photos from there too!

  10. December 1, 2009 2:52 pm

    i simply love your pictures! a hug from Lisbon, Portugal.

  11. December 1, 2009 2:53 pm

    I’d like a slice of what looks like rhubarb tea cake in the fourth photo down, please. (And that Sherwood sandwich, good golly.)

  12. December 1, 2009 3:35 pm

    youre getting good. that top photo of sandwiches!
    your post put me right back in london town. i need to back across the pond soon.

    keep up the good photos.

  13. December 1, 2009 3:37 pm

    get back across the pond soon***

    ( whoops)

  14. December 1, 2009 4:15 pm

    yummy!!!

  15. December 1, 2009 9:25 pm

    oh, i love these brian. london sounds as dreamy as i remember it.

  16. December 1, 2009 11:36 pm

    You make me want to move to London more than I already do! Everything there looks delicious :)

  17. December 2, 2009 12:12 am

    Your photos are beautiful, Brian! Have you tried Sainsbury’s lemon/coriander hummus yet? I remember being quite addicted to it. Also, I used to be attached to both Wagamama and Nando’s intensely (not exactly foodie places but still good!)

  18. December 2, 2009 6:38 am

    the burrito van and mexican food is new to london and i’m really excited about it! i know it’s a chain (ish), but try chilango on fleet street. tasty.

  19. December 2, 2009 11:23 am

    Brian, you’ve absolutely captured London in these photos– even the air seems different through your lens, such a stark contrast to your Brooklyn photos. well done!

    A few London suggestions that I adore and I think you might as well:

    St Dunstan-in-the-East, a church with a steeple designed by Sir Christopher Wren that was destroyed during the Blitz, but the medieval ruins are now a popular public garden in the City. STUNNING place to sit, eat, read, and photograph!

    The Denis Severs House, a sort of still-life-drama-living-historical-artpiece in Spitalfields, London. Visiting this house was one of the most intresting experiences I had in all of Europe, you have to go to fully understand. It is somewhat in line with your aesthetic, and I can’t imagine you could leave it uninspired.

    Anyway, just a few suggestions from a stranger– enjoy lovely London!
    Sarah

  20. Melinda permalink
    December 2, 2009 3:03 pm

    “the roast of sherwood.” looks and sounds so divine, I’m in hog heaven looking at your pictures . thank you!

  21. December 3, 2009 3:25 am

    I just love your images! Full of life!!!

  22. thefty permalink
    December 3, 2009 5:37 am

    Have you been to Borough Market yet? I have a feeling you might like it.

    Beautiful photos by the way. I love this city and you capture it so well.

  23. December 3, 2009 8:44 am

    what an awesome market!
    now off to hunt down green pants….

  24. December 3, 2009 10:03 am

    Found your blog recently and just want to say I love, love, love your photography – gorgeous.

    Also as a fellow expat, hope you enjoy your time overseas. It really is an amazing experience and best soaked up through the lens :-)

  25. December 3, 2009 11:50 am

    yum yum yum! where in london was this? have you been to Borough market yet?

  26. December 3, 2009 1:13 pm

    we’ve got rain and cold today, beef stew and dumplings please.

  27. December 4, 2009 12:05 pm

    Oh Lord, that cheese table. I want to have lunch with you! Your photography is so beautiful. I don’t think I’m going to be able to resist Brooklyn Blue.

  28. December 7, 2009 10:54 am

    i am drooling. delicious!

  29. June 26, 2012 12:12 pm

    makes me want to come back to London …Yummm

Trackbacks

  1. Time for Lunch - Goodmorning & Goodnight

Comments are closed.