Skip to content

recently

December 7, 2009

………………..

for those of you who were wondering, yes i have been to borough market (i went on my second full day in london, actually — i guess that says a lot about my priorities). yes, it was amazing and yes, i’ll be visiting quite often. 2 of my favorite spots near the market: neal’s yard dairy, and monmouth coffee (one of the best coffees i’ve had here … i am going to be brewing this at home).

i hope your weekend was nice.   mine was good, and quite full.  i went to a fun christmas party where i got my first christmas cracker (i’m definitely bringing these to the U.S. for christmas this year). i think i’m finally starting to feel a little christmas cheer. i also unpacked a ridiculous amount of boxes, cooked in my own kitchen (!!), spent a long time converting farenheit to celsius and tablespoons to grams, somehow managed to lock myself INSIDE my flat (the lock was faulty) and i blew a couple of fuses when i tried to use appliances from the U.S. (i guess i need more than a plug adaptor … oops). moving abroad has its ups and downs, i’m learning.

but that’s okay, because i picked up a few neat things this weekend that i’ll show you later this week. and i’m on a mission to get myself into the christmas spirit … december is my favorite month and i’m excited to experience the holiday season in london.

more soon!

25 Comments
  1. December 7, 2009 10:03 am

    yes , two of my very favorite places!

  2. December 7, 2009 10:08 am

    i’m still giggling about the getting locked in part. i’m picturing lots of hair pulling and muttering.

  3. December 7, 2009 10:14 am

    great great great shot of the coffee cups. im also diggin the glow of the first. happy christmas.

  4. December 7, 2009 10:22 am

    Love the description of your first weeks in London!

  5. marthasnail permalink
    December 7, 2009 10:22 am

    christmas crackers are so fun! glad you found some good coffee and that you are no longer trapped inside your flat. hee hee.

  6. December 7, 2009 10:54 am

    yippie for settling in!

  7. December 7, 2009 11:07 am

    I’m really enjoying your photos of London – it’s one of my favorite cities in the world. I lived right outside of Manchester for almost six months (for a semester abroad, in school) and visited London a few times. Make sure you definitely see/do the following if you haven’t yet!

    -Camden Lock and Camden Market/The Canals
    -Spitalfields Market (go on a Sunday if possible)
    -The Hummingbird Bakery (in Portobello)
    -The National Gallery, The Victoria and Albert Museum, Tate Modern and Tate Britain
    -Go to Bricklane for Indian and check out the Vibe Bar

  8. December 7, 2009 11:13 am

    I’m so surprised that they don’t have Christmas crackers in the states!
    I had no idea! Bizarre!

    Thanks for sharing some of your adventures! I can’t imagine being locked in the flat, although in Scotland I managed to lock myself in my bedroom..some crazy lock contraption and a bad doorknob & plush carpeting kerfuffle.

    Glad you found some great coffee…always key! :)

  9. December 7, 2009 11:27 am

    this is so cool, well, not the getting locked out part, but seeing your experiences. And the fact you just missed Jaime Oliver!

  10. December 7, 2009 11:47 am

    nice pictures as usually…..

    But blowing up stuff with your equiment …. I guess that’s because we have 220V in europe and 110V in the US. It get’s too powerful …. :o)

    And before I forget: welcome to the expat club. Even though I’m in Sweden, but I know the feeling.

  11. December 7, 2009 12:46 pm

    love these shots! i’ve also locked myself inside my apartment and have been dealing with some old-fashioned fuse boxes lately … good luck with those.

  12. December 7, 2009 12:47 pm

    december is my favorite month, too, brian! your weekend sounds adventurous–can’t wait to see your new goodies.

  13. December 7, 2009 1:27 pm

    Hi Brian, just found your blog via Simply Photo. Having lived in the UK for 15 years and missing it terribly this is a wonderful place to come for some nostalgia and Brit culture. I haven’t read all the back posts so not sure if you’ve been to Columbia Road Market (Sundays only) yet, and Spitalfields? Those were my favorite hangouts for many many years, Columbia Road has barely changed and when I went there on a fleeting visit two weeks ago it was comforting to see that the same guy still works at my favorite cafe in the little alleyway. He must have been there 15 years at least now! Cheers, K.

  14. Jean Prescott permalink
    December 7, 2009 1:55 pm

    Good coffee, lovely pastries, friendly people. Sounds nice to me. Thanks for sharing.

  15. December 7, 2009 1:58 pm

    I think crackers could be considered “explosives”! (by overly jobsworth airport employees anyway) Monmouth Coffee has saved my life many a time too…

    Have you been to Labour & Wait yet?

  16. December 7, 2009 3:46 pm

    what did you cook? We have Christmas crackers every year! Mom orders them straight from England!

  17. December 7, 2009 5:18 pm

    oh monmouth just makes the best coffee….very nice images Brian..what a great time you have

  18. December 7, 2009 10:00 pm

    Christmas crackers are so much fun! It’s a Christmas Eve dinner tradition in my family. We have way too many photos with gold paper crown atop our heads (coupled with silly faces).

  19. December 7, 2009 10:27 pm

    Christmas crackers are so fun! my friend brought some back a few years ago. Sounds like you are having some fun adventures! Trying to get in the Christmas spirit myself. loving your photos.

  20. December 7, 2009 11:00 pm

    These photos actually “feel” kind of December to me. Hope you’re starting to feel it, too.

  21. December 8, 2009 7:16 am

    your food photos always make me want to get on a plane and visit the very place you’ve documented. today’s pastries look very enticing …

  22. December 8, 2009 10:46 am

    these photos make me want to transport immediately into this cafe for a cup of tea. what a quaint little place.

    can’t wait to see more of your shots from london.

  23. December 8, 2009 9:23 pm

    As a New Yorker who lived in London for 5 years, You make me miss all the things I loved about living there. Borough Market was my favorite. Be sure to grab a chicken sandwich from there. You can’t miss it. They have long lines for their goods.

  24. December 9, 2009 1:49 am

    Yes, you’ll need a converter as well as an adapter. They also come with both in one plug as opposed to having to buy two things. Even with both, the sounds that it makes also made me feel like it would explode or something.

    Hit up Laduree if you are into macarons.

  25. Deborah permalink
    December 15, 2009 1:19 pm

    I am loving your photos. My husband and I are moving to London on the 30th Dec this year. Your photos have made me even more excited than I was before (I didn’t think it was possible). Now on a mission to find some step down converters for some of my kitchen toys that we can’t bear to part with.

Comments are closed.