Skip to content

foreign cities

December 9, 2009

the top 3 images are mine.
bottom images: 1. ° (by bryter later), 2. Untitled (by elizabeth taylor), 3. .13 (by tom_tom), 4. Untitled (by Astrid.)

……………….

today i’m sharing photos taken in foreign cities, after reading this excellent quote from the wonderful bill bryson:

“is there anything, apart from a really good chocolate cream pie and receiving a large unexpected check in the post, to beat finding yourself at large in a foreign city on a fair spring evening, loafing along unfamiliar streets in the long shadows of a lazy sunset, pausing to gaze in shop windows or at some church or lovely square or tranquil stretch of quayside, hesitating at street corners to decide whether that cheerful and homey restaurant you will remember fondly for years is likely to lie down this street or that one? i just love it. i could spend my life arriving each evening in a new city.”

(i’ve just read bryson’s book “notes from a small island” and i cannot recommend it enough, even if you have no plans to travel to the U.K. anytime soon.  hilarious & wonderful. read this book!)

22 Comments
  1. December 9, 2009 8:00 am

    That’s the first Bill Bryson book I read and I can recommend almost all of them. I’m on book #4 right now. He is such an amazing writer. That passage you quoted makes me want to pack my bags right now.

  2. December 9, 2009 8:04 am

    that’s a wonderful quote.
    and oh to live in a mews!

  3. December 9, 2009 8:21 am

    Excellent quote! I have so far only read one Bill Bryson book; Made in America. It was on the curriculum when I studied English 10 (!) years ago. It was the most fun book I read during the whole semester!

    Thanks for including my Paris photo in this lovely collection of photos.

  4. December 9, 2009 8:33 am

    Ironically, I lost the book “The Lost Continent: Travels in Small-Town America” when I moved in September. I love Bryson. I think I need to pick up a few more of his books.

  5. December 9, 2009 8:53 am

    oh, i love that book! and such an excellent quote. love all of these shots, too.

  6. December 9, 2009 9:18 am

    a wonderful quote. glad you’re enjoying your foreign city. i love seeing it through your eyes.

  7. December 9, 2009 1:26 pm

    great quote. so so true. and i love the collection of images today. very awesome.

  8. December 9, 2009 3:51 pm

    Yes! Amen! I LOVE Bill Bryson. I’m convinced he’s my soul mate. Thank you for that quote, I needed it today.

  9. December 9, 2009 3:57 pm

    Beautiful! Thanks for the glimpses of foreign cities–that was a great escape for me this afternoon from my stay at home life in Vegas.

  10. December 9, 2009 4:58 pm

    completely gorgeous shots.

  11. December 9, 2009 6:22 pm

    gorgeous shots, and such a good read! glad you enjoyed it.

  12. emelle permalink
    December 9, 2009 9:27 pm

    garrison keillor mentioned bill bryson on the writer’s almanac this morning – which perhaps was your inspiration – great quote. great post.

  13. December 9, 2009 10:06 pm

    This book looks great and it also made me think of one that came out a couple years back called “The Anglo Files” by Sarah Lyall…it received a good review from the NY Times. Wonderful photographs all around!

  14. December 9, 2009 10:44 pm

    the first three pictures are so london, so nice!

  15. December 10, 2009 12:20 am

    Oh, that is indeed a great quote. (although after a lot of years of arriving in a new city each night, sometimes the comfort of the predictable can be really quite wonderful)

    Thank you for the inclusion, Brian. So glad you are enjoying life in London.

  16. December 10, 2009 9:59 am

    Your pics look like they are from another era! And I just love that quote. It’s a keeper…

  17. December 10, 2009 1:59 pm

    An inspiring quote (and the photos don’t suck, either)!

    Many thanks, as always.

  18. Kristin permalink
    December 10, 2009 4:58 pm

    I’m loving all your London photos…they are definitely making me miss the city!

  19. December 11, 2009 3:01 am

    this is such a nice quote…and the images just fit perfect…

  20. December 11, 2009 9:50 am

    he is wonderful isn’t he.
    i often listen to his books while walking.
    happy weekend brian.

  21. Melinda permalink
    December 15, 2009 9:25 pm

    Brian, you inspired me about the pictures I take in my travels. Thanks!

Trackbacks

  1. “Driving Home for Christmas” «

Comments are closed.