Skip to content

december glow on film

December 14, 2009

…………………

i believe that it was a combination of low-speed slide film + december darkness that produced the photographs above. at first, i was really not into the warm yellow/orange tones in these photos. but when i lined them up and took a second (and a third) look, they spoke to me. together, they evoke that feeling of escaping from the cold this time of year. stepping into a warm room with a fire roaring and candles lit on the table, lingering over a hearty meal and a few beers or some red wine. so i’m sharing them anyway, and in a year i will remember what this december has felt like to me.

and speaking of looking back, ‘the blue hour’ is almost 1 year old. how fast 2009 has gone by!  i do want to reflect on the year almost past. so i’ll be doing some of that later this week.

in the meantime, one thing to share today … i barely made it to the exhibition for ‘gentlemen of bacongo’ here in london before it closed yesterday, and it was AWESOME. my jaw hit the floor as soon as i walked in. you can see many of the photos HERE as a slideshow.  so very excellent.

more tomorrow.

17 Comments
  1. Jeffrey permalink
    December 14, 2009 12:35 pm

    Great work, Brian. The warm yellow/orange tones produce a warm, elegant and refined composition. Almost aged and melancholic.

    jeffrey

  2. December 14, 2009 12:42 pm

    My room is freezing as I’m writing (some heat problems) and looking at these photos just made me warmer. The 1st and the 5th ones are my favorite of this set. Your pictures are always so simple and yet so beautiful. Really, that’s what I call talent…

  3. marthasnail permalink
    December 14, 2009 1:01 pm

    you have me longing for a small chandelier. beautiful golden glow. plus, the exhibit looks so good. i’m glad you made it.

  4. December 14, 2009 1:22 pm

    i always thought i’d live in london for a time– but i’m wondering if i should put that dream to bed. it’s VERY lovely to see bits of it this way.

  5. aerussell permalink
    December 14, 2009 1:29 pm

    Beautiful photographs! I agree, they look stunning together and make me feel all warm and cozy inside.

  6. December 14, 2009 2:21 pm

    Beautiful! I especially like images three and five. Thank you!

  7. December 14, 2009 4:21 pm

    these are really nice, brian. the last two are a great capture.

  8. December 14, 2009 4:26 pm

    mmmmh, it’s warm and cozy and wintery!

  9. December 14, 2009 4:32 pm

    these are lovely brian, I’m really enjoying you guiding me through a very different and charming london… I’m always looking forward to more of your posts!

  10. December 14, 2009 7:24 pm

    you are one of my favorite (favourite) photographers. i just adore your images. i know that compliment is rather bland, but i’ve been meaning to say it for awhile now. bravo to nearly a year of blogging. keep it up!

  11. December 15, 2009 7:05 am

    I like the tones. It looks kind of archaic and warm definetly. Hope you enjoyed it.

  12. December 15, 2009 7:51 am

    One year, that’s it? I was sure you have been around forever and that I just didn’t know about you. Well cheers to a year completed and many more to come.

    (love the photo with the hats)

  13. December 15, 2009 1:23 pm

    The Holly Bush pub and Spaniards Inn in Hampstead are lovely to go to during these winter months..when London is verging on snowfall..

  14. Melinda permalink
    December 15, 2009 8:57 pm

    I discovered you because of this, 2008: Project 365 (Set). Do you have any plan of doing something like it but about London? Your photos are calming and gorgeous!
    Thank you :)

  15. Liz permalink
    December 16, 2009 9:54 am

    really lovely photos, brian. they all look like they’ve been steeped in tea–perfect for london.

  16. December 16, 2009 3:06 pm

    Oh wow. I really really love these. So nice Brian.

  17. December 17, 2009 5:31 pm

    i love the tones. very warm. where is this place in london?

Comments are closed.