Skip to content

a Lomo LC-A

December 22, 2009

. . . . . . . .

so, i treated myself to a birthday present and bought a used Lomo LC-A on ebay. as you can see, my first roll was less than successful. i don’t know if there’s something wrong with the lens or if i’m simply terrible at estimating distances (the latter is very likely). most of the photos were completely out-of-focus … i’m a little disappointed.

any tips?  i’m not going to give up so easily … i’ll buy some cheap film and keep at it. i’m considering this my first project for 2010. i love the tones this camera produces.

i was originally inspired to find a good, used Lomo LC-A after looking at these amazing photos, matt’s awesome cross-processed set, and mariana’s wonderful shots.

completely unrelated: this new yeasayer song is going to be my anthem for 2010. i can’t stop listening to it.

18 Comments
  1. December 22, 2009 5:02 pm

    yes, love that song a lot. and these are great… your eye for a good scene come through. look forward to seeing more.

  2. December 22, 2009 5:33 pm

    uhm, out of focus, though still awesome!

  3. December 22, 2009 5:40 pm

    perhaps a little blur, but the colors are still there. and lovely.
    tightrope (from dark was the night) is in my 2009 soundtrack, and i welcome ambling alp as the year closes as well.

  4. December 22, 2009 5:55 pm

    oooooooh, lovely colours!! the first few lomo rolls are always hit miss, in fact ALL rolls of lomo shots are, that’s just the way it goes. I used to get between 2-10 good shots out of 36… so yes, keep at it with the cheap film! I’m going to bust mine out too in the new year, I just have to remember to get the batteries for it…

  5. marthasnail permalink
    December 22, 2009 6:14 pm

    i know how it feels to get back a roll of film and not be happy with what you find. i really like the mood of the marlow shot. i’m looking forward to seeing more, brian. i’m glad you are making this your first project for 2010. it’s going to be great! love your anthem.

  6. December 22, 2009 7:28 pm

    They may be blurry, but you posted them.

  7. December 22, 2009 7:29 pm

    I love the tones of the Lomo, too, and I found I had the best luck when I tried not to think at all about what I was doing. Tall order!

  8. December 23, 2009 2:30 am

    I adore these shots actually.

  9. December 23, 2009 4:14 am

    They’re all atmospheric; I like the second one best.
    In the vein of your ‘completely unrelated’, I’ve been listening to J Tillman (thanks for pointing him out a while ago) and really like ‘Earthly bodies’. I’ve just figured out who he reminds me of – John Martyn:

    Merry Christmas and Happy New Year!

  10. December 23, 2009 7:10 am

    That’s the LCA for you, Brian. It takes a while to get used to the focus. It gets harder to find it with low light too, because it will obviously choose a wider aperture and therefore have a small depth of field.

    Pretty much the same guesstimating rules apply for the LCA as for the Diana, but missing the guess will cause more blur obviously. I had the same experience as you did, and I did exactly what you’re doing, I kept practicing. What you can/should do, is take some measuring tape and lay it out to at least get a feel for the closer focussing.

    My basic rule is, if it’s within arm’s reach, use the closest setting, for the others, it’s pretty much guessing. Usually, if you think it’s two meters away, chances are that it’s even further away. I’m guessing that was the case with some of these photos.

    The LCA is a surprisingly nice camera, but in the end part of its whole experience is to embrace its flaws (at least to a certain extent), and to practice, practice, practice. Don’t give up on it yet, when you throw in some Agfa Precisa the fun really starts.

    If you come to Berlin we can do some Lomo sessions :)

  11. December 23, 2009 8:04 am

    Well with Lomo you just have to be patient.
    It took me time to get used to my Holga, I used to mess up a lot of film actually. But I always have 4 to 6 fantastic shots on one film…
    So, you just ave to have fun and your LCA will give you happiness !

  12. December 23, 2009 8:16 am

    i actually love the blur and out of focus look with lomos. to me, that can be part of their charm; but that is just a personal preference :) i think these are beautiful.

  13. December 23, 2009 9:30 am

    I think that blurry or not (and I think they are all just soft and lovely), they still have that signature Ferry touch and I still want to wrap up in them like the perfect wool sweater.

  14. Heather permalink
    December 23, 2009 3:13 pm

    You and I seem to be on similar paths — life and musical. I just posted yesterday on my FB about how I can’t stop listening to this song, and I’m just leaving NYC. :)
    Trading you places, it seems! Happy holidays!

  15. December 29, 2009 4:12 pm

    I am not sure why these aren’t successful…remember how Ms. Diana is? Unpredictable and that’s the charm. These are so lovely, Brian.

  16. February 8, 2010 4:32 am

    YES! This song is so my 2010 inspiration as well! best of luck and take care
    -Amanda

  17. September 18, 2011 12:47 pm

    i am actually thinking the same. Of getting a lomo lc-a for my birthday. Obviously off ebay because life doesnt come cheap for a uni student. I found it really useful reading this becasue i guess im going to go through the same problems with it not going right. But i always find that those that you want to go right will more or less always go worng. Sometimes the beauty in a shot is the mistakes? Let me know if i got any better for you? :)

  18. September 18, 2011 12:48 pm

    :)

Comments are closed.