Skip to content

what i will remember

December 31, 2009


……….

i had big plans to share a comprehensive “year-in-review” post and to remember 2009 with photos i snapped over the past 365 days. but i’m having trouble putting my thoughts and photos together like that. maybe it’s because i always feel a little more quiet and introspective at this time of year. or maybe it’s just the jet-lag.

instead, i’m sharing a few new photos from NY and london, my 2 homes in 2009.  and i will say this: i feel very lucky for 2009. a lot of it was unexpected. if you had told me on january 1 that i would be living in london on december 31, i would’ve laughed in your face. but here i am. funny how that works, huh?

365 days ago, i also did not expect to meet so many wonderful people through this blog in 2009. many online friends became real-life friends this year, and it has been nothing short of wonderful. personally and creatively, these individuals have put a smile on my face numerous times, given me bright bursts of inspiration, written me funny and thoughtful emails, and have given me unfailing support and encouragement. (and yes, i’m still speechless over this.)

so in honor of new friends, i wanted to remember those moments in 2009.  it started with tapas and wine with meg (an old friend) and luisa (a new friend). i met amisha and jen for drinks and eats, and in june we spent the most perfect day in brooklyn with shari and tom.  in september, i headed west to portland and seattle, where i chatted with abby over breakfast and coffee. next, a delicious lunch with stephanie at clyde common, complete with lots of laughs and the feeling that i had known her for a long time. i took a train up to seattle, and i met anna, jon, and alexandria – they were excellent tour guides and we enjoyed beers, conversation, a photo walk and a special meal at delancey. and i can’t i forget a saturday morning spent with molly, where we talked for hours and once again, it felt like we were old friends.  finally, towards the end of the year, i shared drinks, laughs, a delicious meal and sweet potato pie in brooklyn with maria and CDR, two very special people that i am happy to consider friends.

of course, these are only the wonderful people that i met in person. there are so many others that i’ve had the good fortune to “meet” online. you know who you are. and i hope i can sit down for a drink with you soon.

when i look back on 2009, i feel fortunate and i remember a year that included many good things – food & drink, concerts and music, travel, a big move, new discoveries, and a 30th birthday. what i will remember the most are the good times with the people in my life. i think that’s the measure of a successful year, don’t you? the chance to spend your days surrounded by good people. whether online or in person, thank you all for filling 2009 with such excellent memories.  i am certain that 2010 will include more new friends (especially some people here in europe) and i can’t wait for that. 

more soon … about my hopes for 2010 and the 1-year anniversary of this blog. 

in the meantime, cheers and a happy new year to you!!

38 Comments
  1. December 31, 2009 9:02 am

    Happy New Year Brian! It has been so great experiencing this year along with you here. 2010 is going to be even better, I just know it!

  2. December 31, 2009 9:16 am

    What a beautiful post. You have such a nice blog..and I love the pictures you take
    a happy new year to you too
    Maria

  3. December 31, 2009 9:35 am

    to me that’s what it’s all about really – making friends and this expression of ours through photography to reach out. sounds like a great year.

  4. December 31, 2009 9:46 am

    It’s so funny, isn’t it? How this blogging thing makes connections and new friendships… I’ve so enjoyed reading your posts and seeing your photographs. A happy new year to you, brian.

  5. marthasnail permalink
    December 31, 2009 10:12 am

    i hope 2010 is just as great. happy new year, brian!

  6. Maureen permalink
    December 31, 2009 10:16 am

    happy new year brian!

  7. December 31, 2009 10:25 am

    Happy New Year Brian. Looking forward to the 2010-blogging. Great, great post.

  8. December 31, 2009 10:29 am

    last day of 2009 brian, and i hope that whatever you do today, you have a smile on your face and a spring in your step (or booty). happy new year friend. i’m keeping hope for a 2010 sit down with you, as long as you bring the k1000.

  9. Adam permalink
    December 31, 2009 10:29 am

    Brian,

    Over the last month or so I have become acquainted with your photos and words on this blog, and I’ve found it to be a very peaceful addition to my morning – there is something calming and inspiring about the way you mix the two. Never too much, just enough to make you think and feel good. Merry Xmas and a Happy New Year to you. There are many places here in Chicago that I think you’d find to fit your themes; if you ever pass this way, let me know.

    Best regards from a somewhat new and, up until now, silent reader,

    Adam

  10. December 31, 2009 10:35 am

    goodstuff, brian.
    good good stuff.

  11. December 31, 2009 10:47 am

    Indeed I feel lucky to have stumbled across your photos and words. You inspire us all on a daily basis and your kind spirit and good taste always shines through.
    Thank you for being the wonderful person that you are and I wish you many good moments to come in 2010!
    Happy New Year!

  12. December 31, 2009 11:24 am

    you are good people, brian. i just know it.i will raise a glass to you and all of my inspiring flickr friends tonight, and wish you the best in 2010. i’ll be back here in ny, looking and reading as our new year unfolds.

  13. December 31, 2009 12:02 pm

    best to your in this new year brian…

  14. December 31, 2009 12:11 pm

    happy new year, brian! i feel like i’ve known you for a long time too.

  15. December 31, 2009 12:35 pm

    Happy New Year, Brian!

    Thanks for sharing so many inspiring images with us. Wellfleet was one of favourite new finds in 2009 and I look forward to seeing what you do in 2010!

    Jane

  16. December 31, 2009 12:46 pm

    I just discovered your lovely blog yesterday and I’m quite smitten with it! I think I spent over 3 hours just perusing some of your older posts. I look forward to reading about your experiences in London in the new year. Happy New Year to you and thanks for the great gift of your blog!

  17. sweetcomice permalink
    December 31, 2009 3:22 pm

    bless your heart for sharing the world outside your window with me….i know you give many of us great hope by noticing the perfect in imperfections, by the depth of your gratitude, the graceful way you make choices. I posted a poem on my blog for you. I know that your photos have been part of my inspiration for writing this last year. I am grateful for that.
    Georgia

  18. December 31, 2009 3:38 pm

    thank you so much for continually updating with photos and music and other artists. i’ve been somewhat of a silent reader, but with the year coming to a close, just though i’d say how much i love and enjoy reading your blog. it sparks much inspiration. hope you are warm and safe this winter season!

  19. December 31, 2009 3:54 pm

    Cheers Brian, happy new year to you! Your blog is quite new (ish) to me, always worth a visit. I keep trying to guess where some of your london pics are taken…!

  20. December 31, 2009 6:24 pm

    Happy New Year! How crazy is this world we live in now? We meet new friends online and it’s no longer creepy and strange. Love it. Here’s to health and happiness in 2010.

  21. December 31, 2009 7:05 pm

    Beautifully worded…happy new year Brian!

  22. Jean Prescott permalink
    December 31, 2009 9:57 pm

    Your photos and meanderings, especially the playlists, brighten my days, Brian…always. You have been a joy and continue to be so, even from half a planet away. Be happy, be safe, find adventure and love and have a rip-snorting 2010.

  23. December 31, 2009 10:07 pm

    happy new year to you, brian! it was wonderful getting to meet you that sunny saturday in september. and it is such a pleasure to be inspired by you daily here and on flickr. you’ve got so much creativity and thoughtfulness, i’m glad to know you! all the best. (and a hi from jon)

  24. January 1, 2010 12:29 pm

    brian, here’s to a new year, a drink soon and plenty more film!

  25. January 1, 2010 1:34 pm

    Happy 2010 Brian..may many more fabulous finds and friends find their way in your life this year. Thanks for sharing all you’ve seen, tasted and heard.

  26. Robin permalink
    January 1, 2010 5:46 pm

    Happy New Year Brian! I’ve been following your blog for a few months and just love your photos and comments. Thank you for staying with it and I wish you many blessings in 2010!

  27. January 1, 2010 7:18 pm

    I knew you would find just the right way, Brian. All those swirling thoughts and words and feelings, and they came out just right. And also great. Of course.

    Happy New Year! Here’s to 2010, and to the start of an awesome, awesome year.

  28. January 2, 2010 1:24 am

    your photography is absolutely breathtaking and inspiring. i’ve been reading your blog for a few months now, and there’s something so warm and nostalgic about it. i can’t wait to see what you do in 2010. wishing you a very happy new year!

  29. pewna taka permalink
    January 2, 2010 9:32 am

    Hi Brian, Happy New Year!
    I’m so glad I found your blog some weeks ago. I could re-write the whole Adam’s comment… And I agree there is something calming and inspiring here.
    All the best to you!
    Cheers from Poland.

  30. January 2, 2010 1:34 pm

    Happy 2010, Brian! I’m so very happy to have met you, friend, and I hope we get to share a meal again very soon.

  31. January 2, 2010 2:00 pm

    happy new year brian! so glad to have found your blog. can’t wait to see what 2010 holds in store for you.

  32. January 2, 2010 7:41 pm

    this is nice brian. happy new year.

  33. January 3, 2010 10:03 am

    hey, I just looking this website thesedays to study Eng, and set your website up a link on my website without your permission. Is it ok? sorry about that. And happy new year! I’m Alice from south korea by the way.

  34. January 3, 2010 2:23 pm

    It’s been a great inaugural year for the Blue Year. Really looking forward to seeing what fun and beauty you capture in 2010 through your blog.

  35. January 4, 2010 6:56 am

    happy new year, brian! you are a maker of magic.

  36. January 6, 2010 8:13 am

    I thought I already commented on this but clearly I did not.

    First of all, I adore this entire collection of photos and that hotel sign in particular has, once again, left me weak in the knees.

    And I don’t really know what else to say except thank you. For a wonderful year, for your beautiful images, for your monthly mixes and for your friendship. 2010 2010, here we go!

  37. January 6, 2010 5:24 pm

    Beautiful post, Brian! Your words and pictures always brings a piece of ‘quiet’ to my day!
    Happy New Year!

  38. January 28, 2010 11:56 am

    my god, your photos take my breath away.
    the composition, the mood…
    i feel
    transported

Comments are closed.