Skip to content

one year

January 4, 2010

top image: let’s get lost, nyc (my photo)
middle image: new york’s two-colored snow (my photo)
bottom images: 1. Untitled (by mollusk), 2. little peek (2) (by m a v)

lately, i’ve been inspired by winter colors – whites and browns, dark and light. these images felt appropriate for the start of january.
. . . . . . .

hi, friends.
today marks the one year anniversary of ‘the blue hour’! it all started on january 4, 2009.  it’s fun to see how much things have changed since that day. you’ll notice a few cosmetic changes around here – new fonts and a new blog header that i really like. i felt like freshening things up. i hope you like it.

i have been, and continue to be, amazed and touched by the interest and the support everyone has shown in my photos this year. i do not usually respond to individual comments, but i want you to know that i read and appreciate every single one of them. your feedback has been invaluable as i learn and grow as a photographer. i never imagined that i’d build such a wonderful community here … that is largely because of you. so, thank you. i hope you continue to like what you see in the coming year.

i spent the holidays thinking (a lot) about photography, this website, and my hopes for 2010. over the next week or so, i’ll share some of those thoughts. it’s taking me some time to settle in to the new year, and i like that slow pace. but there is some exciting stuff to come, so stay tuned.

2 things i’d like to share with you as i celebrate 1 year here …

+ first, as i looked back through my archives, re-reading old posts, looking at photographs and thinking about the inspiration i’ve found and shared here, i was struck by how much things evolved throughout the year. the prompts were different — sometimes it was a new season, or i was learning to use a new camera, or i had discovered a new website or favorite photographer. i realized how the act of keeping this blog has allowed me to develop my aesthetic sense, and this impacts every part of my daily life — not just my photography. i’m very thankful for that.

+ second, i read luisa’s post the other day and i wanted to mention it here — i can certainly identify with her words about the process of moving away from a city that you know and love, surrounded by friends and family and the familiar, and the long process of getting settled in a new place. luisa’s thoughts about the role of her blog and her readers in the midst of such upheaval were spot-on. i couldn’t say it any better myself.  i’ve been very thankful for this space as i packed up and left brooklyn and moved to london. for one thing, it allows me to keep in touch with friends and family back home. but posting here has been a constant in my life during a period of uncertainty.  and i’ve only recently understood how important that is to me as i explore a new and mostly unfamiliar place.

one last thing to share with you today – my friend jamie posted a fun interview with me at his company’s blog a couple of weeks ago and i’ve been meaning to post it. check it out here if you are interested.

here’s to the next year, which will be full of good stuff.  cheers!

35 Comments
  1. January 4, 2010 8:49 am

    Happy new year, and happy blog birthday, Brian! I agree that our online spaces provide a sense of constancy during periods of upheaval. A home away from home, to be sure. Here’s to a wonderful new year full of inspiration and growth!

  2. January 4, 2010 8:50 am

    p.s. love the new look! i love sprucing things up when the new year arrives, i spent last week doing the same.

  3. January 4, 2010 8:54 am

    Brian,
    I try to leave comments every chance I get, because I myself enjoy reading the ones I get. It’s a big part of sharing photography and keeping a blog. I can understand that you don’t reply to all of them, but I know that we don’t do it for that. It’s a way of communication, not necessarily the same way we communicate face to face, question and answer, comment and reply.
    I am very happy that I discovered your blog.
    I will read that article, because I am moving in two months to a new (small!) town in the coast, 400 kms. from the big city (Buenos Aires) where I lived my entire life. So…
    Well, and Happy New Year!! And blog anniversary too!

  4. Jean Prescott permalink
    January 4, 2010 9:03 am

    Oh, my goodness, Luisa must have had a quite compelling reason to move to Germany because it sounds as though it was a painful, painful experience. I suppose I understand. I’ve never gone transcontinental, but I’ve moved other places in the country and am always drawn “home” to where the ancestors’ bones lie. Love the new header photo. Happy New Year and blog birthday. Please, please do continue to inspire us with your UK adventures and photos. I feel only just a little bit guilty, experiencing London through your postings. You are my/our surrogate adventurer, and you seem to see things much more closely and selectively than I ever could. Thanks for that.

  5. Pam permalink
    January 4, 2010 9:23 am

    Congratulations on hitting the year mark! I love your photos b/c they show aspects of life that are so different from what I see where I live. Awesome new banner too.

  6. January 4, 2010 9:31 am

    Congrats, Mr. Ferry, on an amazing first year. Love all the little nips and tucks around here. Well done, on all counts.

  7. January 4, 2010 9:33 am

    Great Re-VAMP…HAPPY 2010!
    Thanks for directing over to Luisa…what a great Gal…I can relate…it’s NOT easy to make that LONG and FAR move.
    enjoying your pics as always.
    Char

  8. January 4, 2010 9:39 am

    hi brian. the new font + header look fresh. really nice.
    i enjoyed the interview and love the photos that were included. i’m sure it was hard to choose from among all of your great ones. looking forward to what else you have to share in the new year. best wishes!

  9. January 4, 2010 9:40 am

    Happy New Year and congrats, Brian!
    I love looking back over archives and watching the natural progression of things. We are so lucky to be able to easily do that these days.
    It’s been exciting to watch your work change and grow and I am so hopeful for you in this new year. Good luck with all that is to come, friend.

  10. January 4, 2010 9:49 am

    happy anniversary brian. i know for me, the blue hour has bumped right to the top of my google reader. i love the idea of you using your photography to explore and navigate london. and i love it even more that we get to come along with you. 2010 is going to bring good things. just you wait.

  11. January 4, 2010 10:45 am

    Congratulations, Brian, on your one year refresh! While I really love the photography emphasis in this blog, I also appreciate the other things you bring here, especially around food and cooking and markets. We share a love of British chefs, I think, (while you’re in London, check out Valentine Warner’s shows) and the pleasures of lingering at the table after a splendid meal.
    I also want to thank you for your music recommendations. In particular, I’ve become a big fan of Mumford and Sons and am about to secure (I hope!) some tickets for their show in SF this February.
    Good luck with your transition to London and developing the resiliency to have your heart in two places. I look forward to all that you’ll bring us in 2010!

  12. January 4, 2010 10:46 am

    happy new year and happy 1st! thanks for sharing the interview and luisa’s post; it’s so much easier to move when one’s younger (as I was when I moved here), it doesn’t feel so huuuuge. can’t really imagine doing it again… hope 2010 will be great for you!

  13. January 4, 2010 11:18 am

    Happy Anniversary Mr. Ferry. I am very glad I found your blog…here’s to a great 2010!

  14. Carrie permalink
    January 4, 2010 11:18 am

    Happy New Year Brian, and congrats on your one-year anniversary! I hope that 2010 will be a wonderful one for you. Can’t wait to live vicariously through you during all of your London adventures!

  15. January 4, 2010 11:20 am

    Happy Anniversary to The Blue Hour! Brian, I love this space and your photography, and I’m so happy I stumbled upon you somehow in 2009 (or did you stumble upon me? Hmm..) Either way, I’m so glad it happened. 2010 is sure to be better than ever. Cheers!

  16. January 4, 2010 11:34 am

    Happy Anniversary to you, Brian! As someone else mentioned, this blog is at the top of my list these days. So glad you’re continuing to post as you explore and get to know London. And yes, I seriously dig the new look.

  17. Rose permalink
    January 4, 2010 11:45 am

    Hi, Brian, I just started following your blog recently and really enjoy the photos and peak into British life. Your new header is really nice. Actually, I’m reading Neverwhere by Neil Gaiman now and it reminds me of this blog, it’s about a young guys adventures in London, above and below.
    All best for the new year!

  18. January 4, 2010 11:49 am

    Happy blog birthday, and life changes. A beautiful new year to you.

  19. January 4, 2010 12:09 pm

    I believe I started following your blog shortly after it became ‘the blue hour’, since then it has become one of my daily go-to-websites, bookmarked and all. Love the new header and the fonts/colors are great as well. Keep it up Brian. Looking forward to 2010 here in blogland. -t

  20. January 4, 2010 12:53 pm

    Happy New Year and Happy 1st, Brian! I can’t remember how I found your blog but I’m always happy to visit. Thank you!

  21. dc sarah permalink
    January 4, 2010 1:08 pm

    Love the new look! I’m a sans-serif girl myself. Happy new year, again, and looking forward to seeing what you have in store this year. cheers!

  22. January 4, 2010 1:52 pm

    happy anniversary day to you and your blog Brain: )
    i just discovered your lovely blog a while ago…I love the images and way you write very much…reading on your blog, or seeing you have a new post is always a bit like opening a very nice magazine you wait for to come out…
    happy new year to you..and a great time in London..it is such a great city..
    Maria

  23. January 4, 2010 2:59 pm

    Such a Fantastic 1st year !

  24. January 4, 2010 3:31 pm

    Happy 1st year friend! Lovely changes and so glad you decided a year ago to blog. It is inspiring to see your view of things through photographs. I love the journey.

  25. January 4, 2010 3:51 pm

    happy anniversary brian! i’m so glad i discovered your blog this past year (however that happened, anyways). i too love looking back at my archives and seeing the evolution of what i’ve written about, how i’ve written, and especially my photography. can’t wait to see what 2010 holds for you. good things, i’m sure.

  26. marthasnail permalink
    January 4, 2010 3:58 pm

    i’ve enjoyed following along last year and am excited for what you will share in the future. the new look is fabulous as is the interview. such thoughtful answers. so glad we have become friends. you inspire me daily. cheers.

  27. January 4, 2010 5:15 pm

    sorry i’m only coming at the end of this one year experience, but I really like the blog so far (and the top two photos which are yours- really nice athmospheric pieces)…

    i look forward to coming back…

  28. January 4, 2010 7:39 pm

    congratulations ~!~ one year is a good milestone.

  29. January 5, 2010 9:00 am

    Happy blog anniversary; thanks for sharing all that you have shared with us.
    The old one was good too, but this is a great new look for your blog for the new year – clean and precise, accessible and aesthetically pleasing.
    Enjoyed the Jamie interview too!

  30. January 5, 2010 3:43 pm

    the blue hour is one of my favourite parts about the nordic winter.
    your blue hour is one of my favourite corners on the internet.

  31. Roselie permalink
    January 5, 2010 6:22 pm

    happy blog birthday!!

  32. January 6, 2010 8:04 am

    very well said. happy happy one year, brian! you already know that this place has been a constant for me in all my shifting winds this year. what a wonderful community you’ve built, my friend. here’s to a lot more awesome in 2010.

  33. January 7, 2010 10:50 pm

    so terribly late, but sincere nonetheless in saying happy, happy anniversary brian. so happy to have you sharing all this with us.

  34. Melinda permalink
    January 16, 2010 11:37 pm

    Happy 1st Brian, looking forward to your 2010 in pictures and blogs. You’ve inspired me to look through my camera and really “see”. Thank you!

  35. January 28, 2010 11:24 am

    happy anniversary. a friend sent me your way because she thought i might love your blog. she was right. especially because i’ve been thinking lately of uprooting from montreal to london. quite enjoying following your journey through your photos and words. cheers!

Comments are closed.