Skip to content

i was hoping for a snow day

January 6, 2010

. . . . . . .
but instead of a snow day, i snapped a few photos out my window this morning.

also this morning, i am reminded of a line from a story by james joyce: his soul swooned slowly as he heard the snow falling faintly through the universe and faintly falling, like the descent of their last end, upon all the living and the dead.”   it’s one of my favorites.

i’m enjoying these related visuals today:

+ one
+ two
+ three

a good day to you.

25 Comments
  1. January 6, 2010 6:43 am

    i’ve only experienced one snow day in over ten years in london but i secretly have my fingers crossed for tomorrow…

  2. January 6, 2010 6:50 am

    Well, I hope you’ll get your snow day soon! I am just so thoroughly enchanted by the snow lately. These shots, and the one’s you’ve linked to are wonderful. I am in love with Shari’s from the passenger seat series.

    Oh, and The Dead is one of my favorites. Was so happy to read this line here. Happy Wednesday, Brian.

  3. January 6, 2010 7:21 am

    That quote reminded me of The Dead, John Huston’s movie, and all it’s mood.

  4. January 6, 2010 7:30 am

    and a great day to you too…I am really digging your pictures and love the horse visual you chose to share…thanks!
    Char

  5. January 6, 2010 7:56 am

    Oh James Joyce. Swoony indeed.

    This makes me smile, and you know how I feel about winter. I have to concede that winter does photograph beautifully. And you have, of course, photographed it beautifully.

  6. January 6, 2010 8:11 am

    These pictures make me forget that I am dreading todays snowstorm. I am a sucker for patterns in the snow.

  7. thefty permalink
    January 6, 2010 8:15 am

    STRIPY SNOW! Didn’t see that one coming.

  8. marthasnail permalink
    January 6, 2010 8:55 am

    great quote. i just love how the road looks and thanks for linking over to my new project. maybe your snow day will come tomorrow. we’re back to blue skies…at least this morning and i’m glad.

  9. January 6, 2010 10:06 am

    i hope you get your snow day soon too. in fact, i’d take one as well. these are lovely photos.

  10. January 6, 2010 10:06 am

    that`s a lovely quote,brian! happy new year!

  11. January 6, 2010 10:09 am

    really like the quote (and the mood of the shots). we had a nice snow flight last night as well, and the light was very fairyland.

    that being said, being a phd student means you can give yourself a snow day off, so i guess i am lucky too :)

  12. January 6, 2010 10:42 am

    Nice shots. Very grey. Big city snow days? Rare. But you know that.

  13. January 6, 2010 11:50 am

    “The Dead” is a great story. I love how Dubliners is set up to resurface in Portrait and then in Ulysses. Joyce weaves a beautiful world that becomes so real in its continuity. The snow looks lovely. I wish we had a snow day here. And I could stay home. And drink mulled cider.

  14. January 6, 2010 12:14 pm

    i really love the second image and the quote is quite perfect

  15. January 6, 2010 12:47 pm

    Beautiful.

  16. January 6, 2010 6:44 pm

    nice alliteration. love the horse pic too. if we’re lucky, we’ll get some snow tonight (in texas). more likely, it will be ice.

  17. elizabeth permalink
    January 6, 2010 8:44 pm

    a snow day used to mean walking with our dog along the creek hidden from the houses. rIsking a stream crossing on slippery logs, climbing hills slowly learning age. and home again to command him to the corner to a fierce towel drying. then red cold feet propped by the fire and a cup of cocoa burning the over eager tongue. thanks for stirring memories.

  18. January 7, 2010 12:05 am

    “Out of the bosom of the Air,
    Out of the cloud-folds of her garments shaken,
    Over the woodlands brown and bare,
    Over the harvest-fields forsaken,
    Silent, and soft, and slow
    Descends the snow.”

    Henry Wadsworth Longfellow

    What a welcome back to London Brian! Enjoy!

  19. sarah chong permalink
    January 7, 2010 1:13 am

    especially love the footprints and the last flickr.

  20. January 7, 2010 1:19 am

    Love the umbrella in the snow…stunning!

  21. January 7, 2010 12:09 pm

    I think the transition of adults not liking snow as much is they aren’t always allowed to stay home for the day cause the buses aren’t running. I remember as a kid, I loved the snow. It meant freedom. Now, it means the end of freedom, as in the possibility of being trapped on the road somewhere on my way to work. In my heart I really do love snow, I just wish I were 12 years old again.

  22. January 7, 2010 8:21 pm

    I love love love the middle photo. Beautiful.

  23. AMN permalink
    January 14, 2010 1:19 am

    Gorgeous photos. But the snow is making me think twice about flying to London for a weekend getaway.

  24. Fif permalink
    January 14, 2010 6:07 am

    Love the central image!

  25. January 15, 2010 1:14 am

    Your photos never fail to brighten my day, lift me, make me feel inspired and calm, all at the same time.
    Thank you for sharing your beautiful images.

Comments are closed.