Skip to content

what i’m hoping for

January 7, 2010

some photos snapped during holiday feasts

. . . . . . . .

i don’t make resolutions, per se. instead, i try to make a list of things that i’d like to do. and if i don’t do all of them, it’s ok. i can’t be too hard on myself about this stuff.

in that spirit, here are some things i’m hoping to do in 2010 …
+ be brave and make some new friends in london
+ host some meals + gatherings in my new flat (i miss doing this)
+ be more mindful
+ learn to cook a few classic dishes perfectly and add them to my repertoire (the perfect bolognese, coq au vin, etc.)
+ travel. lots.
+ get comfortable with the metric system
+ shoot black & white film
+ challenge myself creatively

but what i’m looking forward to right now, above all else, is having the time to settle … into my flat, into a new city, into my job. normally, the first few months of the year can seem a bit boring; no big holidays coming up, dreary weather hanging around. but i am excited that things have slowed down a bit. the last 3 months of 2009 were great, but so hectic.

hoping your 2010 is a fruitful one. cheers!

32 Comments
  1. January 7, 2010 12:16 pm

    Morning…or afternoon should we say.
    I wish I was still in UK I have a lovely bunch of really great friends who I would have iontroduced you too…your list sounds wonderful…and hmmm, you think you have the perfect bolognese eh?
    Interesting. You’ll make your partner a very happy one.
    Char

  2. January 7, 2010 12:17 pm

    Those pictures are gorgeous…I’ve wanted to try my hand at coq au vin too. And definitely try your hand at black and white. It’s a gorgeous film.

  3. January 7, 2010 12:24 pm

    hope it all you wish for and then some. those sounds like some lovely plans!

  4. January 7, 2010 12:26 pm

    I could give you a recipe for the coq au vin. I don’t know if it’s perfect, but my friends usually love it ;)
    Happy new year!

  5. January 7, 2010 12:29 pm

    these photos all have an elegance about them, brian.
    i wish the best for you and what you’re hoping for.
    and good luck with the metric system! we americans never quite followed through on that one, did we? :-)

  6. marthasnail permalink
    January 7, 2010 12:37 pm

    i love tara’s comment. an elegance, to be sure. you capture these moments so well. i think your list is very doable. i wish you bravery, mindfulness, and rewarding challenges in 2010.

  7. January 7, 2010 12:38 pm

    I love the photograph collection you’ve put together over the holiday season here. Absolutely gorgeous posts. What an atmosphere they have. Happy 2010!

  8. January 7, 2010 12:58 pm

    more cooking and more traveling are on my list too.
    new friends, definitely.
    and the imperial system. I do miss the metric a lot!

  9. January 7, 2010 1:00 pm

    I wonder what kind of work do you have there in London. Does it take too much of your time? I hope it doesn’t, so you can enjoy your new home.

  10. January 7, 2010 1:06 pm

    some lovely goals, especially the settling part.

  11. January 7, 2010 1:22 pm

    Great photos, I especially like the feel in the third one – like a great meal gone by. Your goals are good too, best of luck! I agree with you on resolutions. I have a few I would like to complete but taking a roll a film a week is one I do hope to accomplish.

  12. January 7, 2010 2:00 pm

    beautiful photographs. sadly i am in oxford, otherwise i would have offered up my friends as well.

    as for the perfect recipe, i suggest nigel slater’s appetite (and kitchen diaries for a nice winter, tucked under your sheets read). i think cooking is not meant to be about just following a formula blindly, but about finding that right recipe that is yours- and nigel gets that. plus his books are beautiful as well…

  13. January 7, 2010 4:47 pm

    Add Beef Wellington to your repertoire. I just had my first one over in Ireland – and it was incred! And perfect for you over in England.

  14. January 7, 2010 4:52 pm

    the first point from your list has been on my list for over 5 years now:)

  15. January 7, 2010 5:14 pm

    sounds like a great list! loving these photos. they set the mood for the new year just right.

  16. Jean Prescott permalink
    January 7, 2010 5:40 pm

    Your photos continue to delight and amaze. I tried to describe them to a photographer friend the other day. He was complaining about assignments (he works for the daily newspaper where I used to work) made by editors who have no imagination and appear to be unwilling to let him use his own. HE found exactly the word I was looking for: glimpses…as if you almost overlooked, say, the cutlery on the tablecloth but decided at the last second to shoot it. I’m fairly certain no such thing crossed your mind, but it’s the impression given by the image, and I find it warm and intimate and quite nice. Thanks for sharing them.

  17. January 7, 2010 5:48 pm

    so right. i like them all, especially #1, #4 and #5

  18. thefty permalink
    January 7, 2010 7:00 pm

    I’m beginning to feel that hosting meals and gatherings is what it’s all about. I feel happiest when planning an evening in, and when my friends arrive, and I even enjoy the clean-up afterwards.

    I’m hoping for more of these, too.

    Meanwhile, England’s such a weird mix of the metric and imperial system, don’t you think? I do.

  19. January 7, 2010 8:45 pm

    Happy new year Brian. Good luck in London, it was too bad we never had the chance to meet up in Brooklyn. Will be keeping an eye out on your adventures from over here.

  20. January 7, 2010 11:51 pm

    Quiet January days are here and I could not be more pleased. Here’s to slow starts, lolling and newness. Here’s to a bright 2010 for us all.

  21. January 8, 2010 12:25 am

    Looks like a good drinking crowd. That I can appreciate :) Lovely photos.

  22. January 8, 2010 12:54 am

    nice ‘hopes’. I always want to shoot black and white…but never do. i guess i feel that its lacking that spark. maybe ill give that a shot this year too.
    awesome pic of the candle in the window. very soothing.
    -t

  23. January 8, 2010 2:55 am

    I am just love love loving your blog – totally inspired… xxxx

  24. January 8, 2010 4:19 am

    Hope you make some lovely friends in London. It was my home once, now we are in Brighton. But we visit and love the creative buzz. Be inspired, love your photos.

  25. January 8, 2010 4:45 am

    enjoy perfecting all of those recipes. sounds like a tasty thing to do.

    and don’t worry about the silly metric system. you’ll notice that they are even starting to report to snow in inches instead of cms because there’s been confusion. haha, love it.

    enjoy your first snowy london winter!

  26. January 8, 2010 6:31 am

    Wish you the best for 2010, Brian ! And the metric system is much much easier than cooking a coq au vin …

  27. January 8, 2010 8:51 am

    Most excellent thoughts and beautiful images. All the best in 2010.

  28. January 8, 2010 9:23 am

    love the photos,brian. happy new year.
    here`s a link to one of my posts,you`ll know why when you see it:)
    hope you have a great year full of good surprises!
    best from snowy berlin
    anja
    http://missyerem.blogspot.com/2009/12/blog-challengebest-tea.html

  29. January 9, 2010 10:46 am

    amazing amazing photos.

  30. January 10, 2010 8:58 am

    Those gold-rimmed glasses in the third photo are beautiful! And the fourth photo is full of quiet and peaceful atmosphere.

  31. January 13, 2010 2:30 pm

    these are so warm and lovely.

  32. March 16, 2010 6:16 pm

    Lovely pictures! Also love the “get comfortable with the metric system” comment! Haha!

Comments are closed.