Skip to content

current favorites

January 22, 2010

the top 2 photos are mine.

1. Untitled, by anotherfaceinthecrowd; 2. Untitled, by Jimbus.org; 3. dark, by marthasnail; 4. Untitled, by mädchen.; 5. Untitled, by cloudsfollower; 6. Untitled, by t.h.murphy; 7. + foggy lights, by Interludio; 8. light, by christieannyoung; 9. Untitled, by Scarlett Rose; 10. Untitled, by aaron macdonald

. . . . . . . . .

is it friday already??
it’s been a while since i last shared friday flickr favorites, so i thought i’d put together a big group of them today. all of these images have been on my mind lately, as i’m settling into my flat and putting up some art and arranging furniture. i’m into those colors above — brown, tan and black. we’ll see where it leads me … i’m going thrifting for a few items this weekend and i’ll have these images and colors in my head, i think.

+ have you read this excellent post from tommy?
+ johan is posting again and i really like this photo
+ penelope dullaghan at this joy + ride made me stop and think this week
+ a first look at heidi’s new cookbook
+ i’m looking forward to this exhibition of new work by william eggleston this weekend
+ i could really go for a healthy dose of sunshine this weekend, too. london is dark and grey, grey, grey.

thanks for all of your nice comments this week.  i’ll be back next week to share some printed visual inspiration.  until then, be well.

18 Comments
  1. January 22, 2010 7:48 am

    Such a beautiful collection of photos. Thanks for sharing, Brian.
    Here’s to a weekend filled with good food and drinks :-)

  2. January 22, 2010 7:52 am

    Photo number 2 captures such great use of the futura font.

    Like something out of a Wes Anderson film.

  3. marthasnail permalink
    January 22, 2010 8:12 am

    thanks for including my photo—it allowed me to see it in a new way. this is such a fantastic grouping, brian! doesn’t heidi’s book sound great? also, i’m happy to hear you enjoyed this joy+ride. happy happy weekend!

  4. January 22, 2010 10:06 am

    I love your two shots! So calm and clean.
    And I LOOOVE that post of tommy’s, it has to be my favourite!

  5. January 22, 2010 10:35 am

    i love this first photo of yours. and thanks for adding my foggy london light to this brilliant mosaic. it felt like it belonged to this group of images since forever, such a wonderful atmosphere to them.

  6. January 22, 2010 10:46 am

    brown, tan, and black…such a good combo.

    I have spent the week looking at an Eggleston book by Taschen.

  7. January 22, 2010 11:04 am

    serious eye candy. yum.

  8. January 22, 2010 11:30 am

    great collection, brian. hope you thrift some good finds this weekend.

  9. January 22, 2010 1:35 pm

    So much good stuff, Brian. Thank you for pointing out that post of Tommy’s. Amazing.

    Happy weekend! Happy thrifting!

  10. January 22, 2010 2:42 pm

    That top photo is perfectttt. Would pair nicely with your recent ‘9:00 a.m.’ Flickr post.

  11. January 22, 2010 4:14 pm

    your pictures are beautiful, too!
    have a great weekend :)

  12. January 22, 2010 8:51 pm

    the colors in these photos are very soothing to me. good luck thrifting.

  13. January 22, 2010 9:07 pm

    hey Brian –
    the blue hour has become one of my go-to sources for visual inspiration.
    i was very flattered to check in and find one of my shots among the above.
    i love your photos and the overall aesthetic. keep up the wonderful work!
    -Tom (t.h.murphy)

  14. Molly permalink
    January 22, 2010 10:36 pm

    Your quickly becoming one of my favourite photographers. :) I love all of it.

  15. January 23, 2010 1:33 am

    so sad to miss that eggleston by not being in london. will have to make do with the book at home… looking forward to your comments on that exhibition. thx for the inspiring photos.

  16. January 23, 2010 9:36 am

    hi there! my name is mike and i have a little blog. im planning to include you in my blogroll and im asking permission if thats okay with you! ^^ (i hope it is)
    anyway, ive been a constant visitor and you always amaze me^^
    thanks!

  17. January 23, 2010 2:25 pm

    wow – my first time here and SO happy to have found you. you have an amazing eye and everything is just so lovely.

  18. January 24, 2010 5:11 pm

    I just stumbled across your blog & I love your photos!
    Great colours and sense of calm.
    Anyway…just wanted to say hi.

Comments are closed.