Skip to content

one sunny day

January 25, 2010

. . . . . . .

on new year’s day, london had brilliant sunshine.  i spent most of the afternoon wandering around with my camera and soaking it all in. i wish a little bit of that sunshine would come back again soon (no luck this past weekend, sadly).

sun or not, the weekend was very good. the highlight was saturday night, when i stopped by a bar and the owner’s brother was playing some amazing music from the 60s and 70s on a vintage turntable, nice & loud. it definitely got everyone dancing. now i really need to find a record player soon.

and a link to start the week: the xx, VCR (a cool video for a song that’s been on heavy rotation the past few months). enjoy. 

i’ll be back soon with new film shots to share and some books i’m liking.

25 Comments
  1. January 25, 2010 12:34 pm

    it looks so beautiful. i’m always amazed at how the light influences us so much, our moods, everything.

  2. January 25, 2010 12:39 pm

    You’ve outdone youself Brian. This is a beautiful, evocative set. Thank you for the glimpse of sunshine these grey days!

  3. January 25, 2010 12:40 pm

    the sun will come back! i promise.

    that video made my morning. i was just reading a review of the xx in the new yorker last night:

    “Play the album a few times and all of a sudden other pop music sounds abrasive and overstuffed and shouty.”

    so true.

  4. January 25, 2010 1:10 pm

    So true Stephanie…
    I love these images you’ve shot of London…the Sun sure does change things.
    I really love the river one with the house reflected in it.
    AND very envious…I would love to dine at the River Cafe!
    Char

  5. January 25, 2010 1:18 pm

    nice shots brian. they are all very green.

  6. January 25, 2010 1:26 pm

    oh what lovely sunshine! i hope it’s back to charm your days soon…

  7. January 25, 2010 3:39 pm

    nice light! my favorite is the park w/the iron fence. hope you see the sun soon.

  8. January 25, 2010 4:08 pm

    We’re drowning here in Boston today, so this little bit of sun was most welcome. Hope your week is off to a great start.

  9. marthasnail permalink
    January 25, 2010 4:27 pm

    love that song so much and sunshine is always welcome in my book. we have brilliant sunshine today and i’m off to enjoy it at the beach. cheers.

  10. January 25, 2010 4:29 pm

    these photos are lovely. i could use a generous dose of sunshine right about now.

  11. January 25, 2010 7:27 pm

    yay for sunshiney days! they will soon return.

  12. January 25, 2010 7:33 pm

    That first photo up there makes me especially happy. And how did I miss the xx? Loving that link. Thanks, friend.

  13. January 25, 2010 8:02 pm

    These photos make me homesick for my favourite Dublin parks!

  14. January 26, 2010 4:00 am

    i have yet to experience london basked in sunshine during my trips there. how lucky to be you – to not only walk in its light, but on new year’s no less. a harbinger of things to come?

  15. January 26, 2010 4:43 am

    hi brian,

    the sunshine in these photos are so beautiful it almost makes me cry. and when you are in a place like london where it’s not THAT rare to have sun-less days for two weeks straight during winter, it really must be special and feels even brighter. hope it’ll come back soon!

  16. January 26, 2010 5:58 am

    Sunshine in London is fantastic.

  17. January 26, 2010 6:23 am

    Bravo, great pictures. (That looks like my cycle route home through Islington!)

  18. January 26, 2010 8:57 am

    Lovely pictures, this is how I picture the old English. Thank you for letting me see London through your eyes.

  19. January 26, 2010 11:57 am

    i was hoping you’d post some shots yesterday, and sure enough you put these up.. incredible

  20. January 26, 2010 1:33 pm

    looks pretty nice for January, even if it hasn’t been replicated again. i can’t believe how green London is in the winter. great stuff.

  21. January 26, 2010 4:01 pm

    love the photos (and xx of course as well, though their youth makes me black with envy)….

  22. January 26, 2010 4:26 pm

    Beautiful shots and I’ve hit repeat on this song all morning…loving it for sure.

  23. January 27, 2010 4:09 pm

    what a grate views! lovely sunshine!

  24. January 28, 2010 12:18 am

    Thanks for the link. I can’t get enough of that song and ended up picking up the album too. Hoping that I’ll see them live when they come to Toronto in April.

  25. breadsandroses permalink
    February 2, 2010 10:28 am

    I see my beloved Highbury Crescent up there! You’ve captured a sunny day in the Fields so perfectly…I often feel my heart flutter when I’m walking down the path from Higbury and I first catch a glimpse of the Fields. Next time you should knock on my door and say hi – I promise there will be something sweet baking in the oven.

Comments are closed.