Skip to content

FOLK

January 26, 2010

. . . . . . . . . . .

i picked this shirt up on sale this weekend … i love it (and so i gave it a little photoshoot).

it’s a bit different from the many (too many) other shirts in my closet.  it’s a pintuck shirt from FOLK, a london-based clothing store.  the interesting details caught my eye in the store, and i think all of their men’s stuff is spot-on.  it’s interesting yet simple clothing and all of it is well-designed and well-made.  this year, i’m trying to be more mindful about the things i spend money on. quality over quantity. this is the sort of brand that i like to support.

they are having a great sale right now (on the website too, for men and women), in case you are interested.

you can read an interview HERE with the designer and founder, cathal mcateer.
and a video of their spring/summer line HERE (it’s a bit … spooky).

…………..

and i can’t stop looking at this loft apartment – i think it’s so well done.

have a good one.

22 Comments
  1. January 26, 2010 8:09 am

    Such great details!

  2. January 26, 2010 8:15 am

    i love the loft too, especially the furnitures!

  3. January 26, 2010 8:16 am

    that sir, is a good shirt. great seaming.

  4. January 26, 2010 8:38 am

    Love the shirt, but that loft. Gahhhhhhh….

  5. January 26, 2010 8:51 am

    i always return to the photos of that loft, love.
    funny, just 2 or 3 days ago i emailed the link to a friend. so beautiful.

  6. Jean Prescott permalink
    January 26, 2010 8:58 am

    Great versatile shirt…old-fashioned removable collar…beautiful fabric. Loved the FOLK Web site, too, though — oh, my goodness — things are pricey in jolly old London. And the loft owner is spot-on my personal style. I would be happy to house-sit, squat, do whatever I had to do to move into that space. Thank you so much, Brian.

  7. January 26, 2010 9:05 am

    oh my..this loft is perfection..so many details but also full of simple beauty…very nice

  8. January 26, 2010 9:15 am

    beautiful photos! love that yellow sweater in the video too.
    can you believe i have actually been to that loft apt. it is extremely beautiful and she has pet birds that fly free around the apt!

  9. January 26, 2010 10:05 am

    cute shirt (and awesome loft, thanks for the link!)

  10. dc sarah permalink
    January 26, 2010 10:10 am

    seriously?!?! how do you find this stuff? that loft is basically my ideal of the perfect home (throw in a bit more art though). i don’t say that lightly-i am an interior designer so i look at this stuff, oh, all day.

    yay for quality over quantity. have been *trying* to do that to. cheers!

  11. haeshu permalink
    January 26, 2010 10:16 am

    loving the collar details. and all the LIGHT in that loft. sigh.

  12. January 26, 2010 10:24 am

    quality over quantity – that is a good thing to strive for.

  13. January 26, 2010 11:05 am

    I popped over from a link on Bye Bye Pie’s blog. My husband and I just moved back to the states after six years in England. We miss it. Alot.

    Your photographs are stunning!

  14. January 26, 2010 11:24 am

    I am the Bye Bye, Pie blog writer of which Joyce, above me here, speaks. I linked to you today because I am obsessed with your beautiful pictures. And now I have loft envy. Usually I am just loftily envious.

  15. January 26, 2010 11:29 am

    Oh Folk! Last time I was in there, they played “Skinny Love”. A perfect Saturday on Lambs Conduit Street. Have you seen Monocle’s profile?
    http://www.monocle.com/sections/edits/Web-Articles/Lambs-Conduit-Street/

  16. January 26, 2010 2:18 pm

    Love the lighting, and that shirt looks so nice! I’ll definitely be checking out FOLK’s website…

  17. January 26, 2010 2:51 pm

    anything you touch turns into gold !

  18. January 26, 2010 2:52 pm

    i am really tempted. looks like a perfect ‘boyfriend/oversized/walk of shame’ shirt to me… ;)

  19. newgrass permalink
    January 27, 2010 12:49 am

    I’m a huge fan of Folk. You nailed it with the interesting but simple, well made and well designed comment. It’s all in the details and they do it right; unique but not overbearing. Just stumbled on this blog and am really digging it.

  20. January 27, 2010 12:52 am

    Thanks for pointing me in some directions I like.

  21. January 27, 2010 3:22 am

    Lovely-looking shirt, such a soft purple-grey-blue. Great hanger too.
    Have you seen dwell magazine? Looks to me like it has some similarities with LoftLife.

  22. January 27, 2010 11:40 am

    brian… thank you for sharing… your mind is amazing… thanks for being so aware.. all the best to you…*

Comments are closed.