Skip to content

my wall

February 5, 2010

. . . . . . . . . .

sometimes when things are really busy, i like to take a break for a few minutes and look at some visuals. it’s a nice change of pace for me – and i always feel rejuvenated afterwards.

so in that spirit, today i thought i’d share some of the visuals i’ve put up at home recently. i envision that this will be an art wall where i don’t frame anything … and it can be a flexible, constantly-rotating group of images and things that inspire and provide a breath of fresh air.

i hope you enjoy your weekend, friends.

33 Comments
  1. February 5, 2010 8:53 am

    these are some great visuals brian, we’re still working on hanging up art in our new home, and i’ll admit i’m having a hard time making a commitment to a hole in the wall (even though these are now officially OUR walls), maybe i should start with something simple like this.

    happy weekend!

  2. February 5, 2010 8:58 am

    art walls are the best.

  3. marthasnail permalink
    February 5, 2010 9:01 am

    i’m smiling. love your display and hope you have a fantastic weekend in store.

  4. February 5, 2010 9:06 am

    Your wall feels really fresh Brian, and I hope it does rejuvenate you. It makes me feel a little lighter, thank you for showing us.
    Have a good weekend!

  5. February 5, 2010 9:29 am

    I love looking at walls like this. And that you can change as the mood strikes.

  6. dc sarah permalink
    February 5, 2010 9:31 am

    i love seeing other people’s inspiration boards. and it, ahem, inspires me to refocus on mine. thanks for the peek.

  7. February 5, 2010 9:49 am

    should do one of those… yours is pure comfort food….

  8. February 5, 2010 9:53 am

    Inspiration walls are such a great thing for a room. I used to do collages but want to make more use of my bare walls. The first and second photos of your wall are my favorite.

  9. February 5, 2010 10:16 am

    You’re such an inspiration. I can’t wait to have a room of my own so I may post an art wall too. What better way to keep “the flow” going? Happy weekend!

  10. Jean Prescott permalink
    February 5, 2010 10:18 am

    Your display legitimizes the one in my bedroom/office (yes, I know you’re not supposed to work in your bedroom but if not there, where?). You have inspired me to mount one in the livingroom area, as well…mainly because framing costs a fortune but also because, as you say, it is much more fluid and adaptable to changes in mood, season, whatever. Thank you, Brian.

  11. Stephanie permalink
    February 5, 2010 10:46 am

    i absolutely love this. such a great way to spark creativity!

  12. February 5, 2010 10:53 am

    I do the same thing. those images look great,
    Foster

  13. February 5, 2010 10:58 am

    looks great! i spent all yesterday evening putting up new pictures and art. it was refreshing.

  14. February 5, 2010 11:07 am

    lovely idea.

  15. February 5, 2010 12:55 pm

    I love your wall! I’ve done something similar in my study; lots of my kids’ artwork combined with anything else that catches my eye/inspires me.

  16. February 5, 2010 1:46 pm

    i love your wall !!!

    have a nice weekend, dear brian

    :)

  17. February 5, 2010 1:50 pm

    Lovely – I love little peaks into what kind of visuals are inspiring other creative folks around the web. A glimpse at someone else’s inspiration is always a treat!

  18. February 5, 2010 2:26 pm

    s’nice brian. have a lovely weekend!

  19. February 5, 2010 2:30 pm

    I’ve been meaning to do this for some time. Thanks for the inspiration.

    Have a good weekend.

  20. janet permalink
    February 5, 2010 7:09 pm

    you make the good life appear to be within everyone’s reach. that is an art in itself! thank you!

  21. February 5, 2010 8:30 pm

    lovely! i used to have an inspiration pinboard when i lived in a much smaller apartment. now i have a big house and plan on a wall of inspiration for the myriad design & photo stuff i’m always collecting!

  22. February 6, 2010 3:11 pm

    Love your site. I am keen on taking pictures of evry day events as a diary. I can see I will be dropping by your blog regularly for inspiration!

  23. February 6, 2010 6:43 pm

    your picture wall is most beautiful. wonderful photographs, and that key is superb.

  24. sarah chong permalink
    February 6, 2010 11:34 pm

    nice to get a peek at where you live!
    lovely photos

  25. February 7, 2010 10:35 am

    beautiful. i’m completely into mood boards and how they evolve over time…

  26. February 7, 2010 11:32 am

    You’ve inspired me so much, Brian. (And I’m sure there will be many of us with taped-up photos on our walls soon.) I keep waiting for frames, and the money to buy them, and the perfect moment. Screw it. I put up my first photo yesterday because of you.

    Lu and me at Bouchon

  27. February 7, 2010 12:15 pm

    You’re world is very inspiring. There is something about freedom in your approach of photography. This way of taking time to look at some pictures and making links between them is a very good exercise. I m often doing this when I am scattered in my work.
    Taking time to see, to look, to observe.

  28. February 8, 2010 12:30 am

    I just came across your blog and enjoy it very much. Your pictures are stunning.

  29. February 8, 2010 2:12 am

    hmmm, I love such walls..it is so inspiring..and so great that you can add and change things all the time…

  30. February 8, 2010 6:34 pm

    i too
    love such walls.
    i need my own
    inspiration wall.

  31. February 8, 2010 8:46 pm

    I love your choice of images… very inspiring…
    i’m breathing better after i looked at them :)

  32. February 10, 2010 1:54 pm

    I’m not sure how I’ve gone so long without finding your gorgeous site. My favorite picture is the black leather-y chair against the white wall. Furniture posing as people (in a way) are always great shots.

Trackbacks

  1. in my head «

Comments are closed.