Skip to content

currently on my radar

February 9, 2010

. . . . . . . . .

i saw these good-looking artichokes at the market this weekend, so i picked them up and tried my hand at making carciofi alla guidea (roman fried whole artichokes) inspired by the dish we ate at the river café.  mine were nowhere near as good as the restaurant version, but still very tasty with sea salt and lemon. 

some other things on my radar screen right now:

+ mcsweeney’s recommends (yes, it’s on my blog list to the right — but it’s worth a special mention here)
+ this video (via montmarte)
+ new friends 
+ logs, smelts, cabin
+ truck furniture
+ i need a new pair of sunglasses, and i like these
+ music to pump me up: the new hot chip album
+ music to calm me down: laura veirs

have a great day.

23 Comments
  1. February 9, 2010 9:22 am

    I am curious which recipe you are going to make with these…

  2. February 9, 2010 9:56 am

    I LOVE that video! Thanks for the link.

  3. February 9, 2010 10:06 am

    the second photo from the bottom.
    and yes to mcsweeney’s recommends and new sunglasses.

  4. February 9, 2010 10:19 am

    great links! can’t go wrong with pfe. amazing!

  5. February 9, 2010 11:05 am

    artichokes
    are my most
    favorite thing
    ever.
    especially
    fried whole ones.
    yum.
    i love the
    new hot chip.
    thanks for
    the
    great
    links!

  6. February 9, 2010 11:15 am

    my father eat them raw.
    i love these photos.

  7. February 9, 2010 11:56 am

    mcsweeneys is great, thanks for the tip

  8. February 9, 2010 12:08 pm

    adore the purple/green colors of the artichokes.

  9. February 9, 2010 12:54 pm

    gorgeous, gorgeous images!

    is there anything more lovely than that soft purple and green?

    and I second (third?) mcsweeneys

  10. February 9, 2010 12:59 pm

    love laura veirs album artwork by carson ellis!

  11. dc sarah permalink
    February 9, 2010 1:06 pm

    lovely, fantastic photos. these totally made my day and made me dream of spring. too bad we could get another foot and half of snow here in dc today.

  12. February 9, 2010 1:37 pm

    amazing.
    as usual.
    and that vanessa bruno video
    made me so happy
    thank you.

  13. February 9, 2010 2:43 pm

    very nigel slater-esque. love it.

  14. February 9, 2010 2:59 pm

    that top image is tops. as are the links. ( esp. Truck Furniture.)

  15. maggie permalink
    February 9, 2010 4:54 pm

    brian,

    i understand you’re planning a trip to paris.

    i’m sure l’avant comptoir is on your list… but just to make sure, i recommend you try their artichokes at the bar. no-nonsense and absolutely elegant. served whole with olive oil for dipping. the incredibly attentive barman will swoop in to steal your plateau as you finish the last leaf. bewildering, yes, but you won’t think about it twice when he presents you with the perfectly roasted heart about five minutes later.

  16. February 9, 2010 8:37 pm

    I love, love the third picture down especially! So beautiful showing the flower aspect of the artichoke.

  17. February 9, 2010 9:29 pm

    Have been working a lot, as you have, so it was nice to come back here and look at your pictures. I would have eaten all the food from the other day, too.

  18. Liz permalink
    February 9, 2010 9:54 pm

    i know i have been totally MIA from this blog recently, but being snowed in for days has given me serious time to catch up on your london pics and posts! lovely as always. have fun with iz and sar this weekend. let’s catch up soon!

  19. February 10, 2010 5:40 pm

    I was just thinking about artichokes the other day too! It was about this time last year that I tried my first artichoke steamed, then pulled apart leaf by leaf to dip in homemade mayonnaise. Mmm. I wish they would start appearing in markets here!

  20. February 11, 2010 12:40 am

    I love the River Cafe and I love the artichokes in their beautiful light.

  21. February 11, 2010 6:26 pm

    What great color! I can not wait for artichokes to start appearing in my neck of the woods. Beautiful.

  22. February 17, 2010 1:11 pm

    perfect lighting as per usual!

  23. February 19, 2010 7:07 pm

    laura veirs song ‘spelunking’ is the third most played song in my iTunes, which is odd because her other songs don’t get that much play time, truthfully. but the lyrics to that song? i think she sings exactly what love is.

Comments are closed.