Skip to content

friends come to london town

March 1, 2010

……………

some photos from a fun weekend when i had friends in town last month. we did lots of eating, drinking, shopping and walking. it’s so fun to show people my new life here in london. it makes me really appreciate living here, i think.

this weekend, i spent some time looking through the portfolio of photographer nick haggard, who i discovered in vol. 8 of lines and shapes. all of his photos are pretty amazing, but i think this set in particular is stunning.   look at photo #4 in that set – seriously brilliant. 

the sun is out in london today and i realize how much i’ve missed it.  it’s a good omen for march, i think.  february kicked my butt and i’m hoping this month will be a bit easier. 

hope your day is a nice one.

25 Comments
  1. March 1, 2010 8:32 am

    Sun is indeed out, thank heavens. And you have a photo of my favourite car…the Karmann Ghia. How cheering is that!

  2. March 1, 2010 8:48 am

    Looks like a fun weekend indeed. Great shots, Brian.

  3. March 1, 2010 8:53 am

    fun times! i love that last shot… the cute little ‘best of the season juice’ sign!

  4. March 1, 2010 9:03 am

    i am such a wine lush… so it gets me every time you post photos of red wine. swoon. also. love the link. very much drawn to photo 20 in that series. have a great week.

  5. March 1, 2010 9:03 am

    what a wonderful set of shots-loving the pink coffee cup and those twinkly lights! february kicked my butt, too, but the sun is out here in dc as well, and i saw some crocuses trying to peek out when i was on a walk this weekend. things are looking up!

  6. March 1, 2010 9:16 am

    The first two photos go so great together. Looks like you had a great weekend.

  7. marthasnail permalink
    March 1, 2010 9:45 am

    ooh. margaret howell. jealous. i think a stroll around london town would do me some good. love these photos, brian.

  8. March 1, 2010 9:47 am

    Looks like a wonderful weekend. You capture London so very well.

  9. March 1, 2010 9:54 am

    really great touches of green sprinkled throughout your last two posts looks so perfect for heading in to March. Always such inspiring composition, Brian. Your work makes me re-consider the way I fill my own frames. (pretty sure I’ve said that before, but … Thanks.)

  10. Suzie permalink
    March 1, 2010 1:59 pm

    yes yes, thank god the sun is out.
    but i wonder how long that will last… in London!
    really like your pictures….
    you make me wonder why do i feel bored in London … maybe i should expore like you do! =) thanks for inspiring.

  11. March 1, 2010 2:02 pm

    i’m pretty sure that i love every single photo that you take.

  12. March 1, 2010 3:09 pm

    hello Brian. I’ve been following your blog and flickr for some time now. I really love your photography and the fact that you are a faithful film user. I was wondering if you could tell me what film speed you used in the photos in this post. I am experimenting with more film and indoor lighting lately and developing is so expensive so I want to leave as little room for error as possible. I very much appreciate it and look forward to your updates every time it shows up on my Reader.

  13. March 1, 2010 3:22 pm

    this weather is incredible, eh. i love march already!

  14. March 1, 2010 4:26 pm

    What a splendid weekend. Love the lights, the scarves tied just so, the black polish against fuschia cup. Brilliant. :-)

  15. Evan permalink
    March 1, 2010 5:06 pm

    Pretty awesome shots, I’ve always been a fan, but oh boy… so many ass kissers on this blog.

  16. March 1, 2010 6:55 pm

    that second photo is beyond gorgeous. bravo!

    xo Alison

  17. March 1, 2010 10:22 pm

    Wow, Brian, your photos just keep getting better! I’ve been enjoying your blog so much that I gave it a shout out on my blog a couple weeks ago for other friends to enjoy too :-)

  18. Kimberly permalink
    March 1, 2010 11:10 pm

    Hey Brian, I was just wondering what kind of camera/lens you use. I really love your photos and was just hoping you could tell me. Thanks!

  19. March 2, 2010 5:53 am

    i love each of these photos so much that it makes my heart ache for london.

  20. March 2, 2010 9:16 pm

    need to get me a batch of those gerberas to battle the ongoing grayscale…

  21. March 3, 2010 4:17 pm

    wow, great blog. i absolutely love your photos. you have a new follower

  22. March 4, 2010 9:09 pm

    my god, these shots are making me thirsty.
    for both wine and coffee simultaneously, which is kind of weird…

  23. margaret permalink
    March 5, 2010 12:20 am

    LOVE these!!!!!

  24. March 11, 2010 12:00 pm

    Looks like you had a great weekend! May I ask where the pictures where taken? I’m always looking for new places to go when I’m London.

  25. May 29, 2011 1:18 am

    In my browser, Safari, the graphics are on top of some of the text here.

Comments are closed.