Skip to content

inspired

March 2, 2010


top image is mine.
the 1st and 4th images are by venetia scott for margaret howell.
image 2: Untitled, by wailintse
image 3: Untitled, by marthasnail
. . . . . . . .

two things i can’t get out of my head lately: first, getting outside, possibly to the ocean, seeing fog and stones and water and lots of sky. second, the large photos hanging in margaret howell in london, which were shot by photographer venetia scott. if you are in london, i highly recommend stopping in to see the photos in person. really amazing.

have a great day.

20 Comments
  1. March 2, 2010 10:20 am

    i love that photo of yours. and the title inspired me (!) :) happy tuesday, cheers!

  2. March 2, 2010 10:22 am

    one more reason to visit london! love all these photos together. such a nice, calming feel.

  3. March 2, 2010 10:36 am

    I’ve had images of stones tossing in my thoughts lately too. Your shot is so nice and that photo of Shari’s is one of my faves.

  4. March 2, 2010 10:40 am

    shari’s photo is amazing!

  5. March 2, 2010 10:40 am

    gorgeous collection.

  6. March 2, 2010 11:13 am

    Love these Venetia Scott shots, amazing. And the ocean, god I miss it.

  7. Terri permalink
    March 2, 2010 11:32 am

    I love that you are blogging about my adopted home town these days. I like heading to Whitstable in Kent at this time of year, lovely pebble beaches, not too far by train from London and the seafood is to die for.

  8. March 2, 2010 11:56 am

    That bowl carrying the stones is beautiful. So many lovely textures and colors going on in that picture. Love it. :-)

  9. March 2, 2010 12:05 pm

    brian, i agree. i’m desperate to go for some long, nature-filled rambles…as soon as the weather starts to cooperate…..

  10. March 2, 2010 12:45 pm

    Hey Brian, I love looking through your blog (once a week maybe) and just becoming more and more relaxed as I scroll down. Not very good at commenting, but I do read every post. I don’t know how you make your photos so… quiet. I just put a few in my sketchbook for my next project (doing photography in Cornwall), and posted one on my blog ( http://sunniva.tumblr.com/ ) – if that’s all right. If not I’ll take it down at once:)

  11. March 2, 2010 1:31 pm

    Hey! Venetia Scott is Marc Jacobs’ stylist.

  12. March 2, 2010 1:38 pm

    those black and white shots by venetia scott caught my attention a while ago – so simple and so beautiful. in combination with this blue toned ocean shots it gets even better.

  13. Jean Prescott permalink
    March 2, 2010 2:25 pm

    Love the shot of the stones. What is that bowl made from? Horn? Tortoise shell? It is quite something. And I think you have the right idea about outdoors, fog, ocean sounds and smells. I am absolutely ready for spring. Have a lovely week.

  14. March 2, 2010 3:12 pm

    beautiful photo, that one!

  15. March 2, 2010 3:56 pm

    adore that first photo. i just found a paper towel filled with stones and seashells i collected during our road trip to prince edward island last summer. at first i was not sure how i’ve gone this many months without out them, but now that i’ve found them i want nothing more than to be immersed in that special gray fog of the maritime. there’s nothing like the atlantic…

    xo Alison

  16. March 2, 2010 4:57 pm

    A beautiful collection, and I am now longing to travel. Overseas, anywhere. New sights, sounds and all that wonder. Maybe soon I will.

  17. March 2, 2010 5:16 pm

    One of the best collages and seeing the sea makes wish to be there soon. Beautiful.

  18. March 2, 2010 8:26 pm

    The top photo – the stones in the horn bowl – stunning! And the portrait in B&W is exquisite!

  19. March 3, 2010 7:18 am

    Just wanted to let you know that I think your blog is stunning–I can’t wait to check out more of your photos! Found you via the blog Love is Forever…

  20. March 3, 2010 7:19 am

    Oops–I meant Forever is Today!

Comments are closed.