Skip to content

everyday: monday

March 15, 2010

. . . . . . . . . .

this week, i feel the need to keep things simple around here. and i could also use some practice noticing things around me. i haven’t taken many photos in the past 10 days and whenever that happens, i feel like my eyes are closed and i know that i’m not taking the time to appreciate the simple moments in my daily life.   it’s important to me to keep looking, noticing, appreciating – even when my days are busy and they feel so rushed.  it’s one of my favorite things about photography … it forces me to slow down and look.

in this spirit, i’m going to snap a few simple photos each day this week and share them here, in hopes of opening up my eyes and appreciating the good things each day. 

also, i think this piece is worth a read.

have a great day.

30 Comments
  1. March 15, 2010 8:22 am

    what nice lines and I agree sometimes it is just so good to realize and get a moment and appreciate it….I really like the first image a lot…

  2. March 15, 2010 8:26 am

    i look forward to seeing what your eyes see this week…

  3. March 15, 2010 8:29 am

    Happy to read your words Brian. Beautiful glimpses too. Maybe to remember them better I have a break now from painting, and bake! Lemons I have, and polenta. Have a good afternoon!

  4. March 15, 2010 8:33 am

    thank you for the recommended read.
    i’m having a lot of the same thoughts. i really love photography for some of the same reasons.
    looking forward to seeing your week, brian!

  5. March 15, 2010 9:00 am

    My eyes locked on the Nike’s. How could they not? Yes, time to slow down and click away.

  6. March 15, 2010 9:06 am

    I loved the piece. And I’m looking forward to more everyday pictures, I find them hugely inspiring.

  7. March 15, 2010 9:09 am

    Oh these are great, I love the light that you captured. You are doing with your photography what I aspire to do – capture ordinary things and make them beautiful. I look forward to seeing more pictures! :)

  8. March 15, 2010 9:21 am

    yes, this sounds like a great idea, brian.

  9. March 15, 2010 9:25 am

    sounds like a great idea! maybe i should play along. :)

  10. March 15, 2010 10:50 am

    Brian, what wonderful shots. Beauty in the everyday.

  11. March 15, 2010 10:56 am

    love the name of your blog, sir. lovely pictures as well. can’t quite figure out how to follow, but I’ll try to remember to check back in.

  12. Jean Prescott permalink
    March 15, 2010 12:04 pm

    You have inspired me to pay closer attention to the minutiae of daily living, all the tiny details without which we would probably fly off into the ether. I should be able to do that even with my dinky little digital camera. And the link? Great story. Nuggets like that one are always appreciated.

  13. March 15, 2010 12:36 pm

    everything perfect brian. just right. i’ve been thinking lately i’d like to give myself more morning time. springs seems like a good time to start. good as any, yes?

  14. March 15, 2010 12:44 pm

    this is exactly the kind of sentiment i need to remind myself of. slow down, savor the moment. photography really does help one appreciate the moment…

  15. March 15, 2010 2:25 pm

    These pictures are beautiful with all that spring light. The humble subjects are honest and familiar. Plus, you have the nicest shoes.

  16. March 15, 2010 2:52 pm

    i love photography because it reminds to me to see the potential in everything around me. to slow down. to breathe. your images are simple inspiration!

    thanks for the link, as well! delightful read & recipe!

  17. March 15, 2010 3:43 pm

    i can so relate to that. very true.

  18. March 15, 2010 3:59 pm

    Lovely simplicity, and a very good read indeed.

  19. March 15, 2010 4:24 pm

    Yes, I know the feeling. I’ve found that since I’ve been writing my blog, I’ve drifted away from taking as many photos or cooking as much. I don’t like this change because that is truly me and what makes me happy. I have also set the wheels in motion to reduce the time spent on my blog and focus on capturing the small, beautiful things in life that fill me with joy.
    I love the way you have shared these thoughts with everyone.

  20. March 15, 2010 4:53 pm

    Again, I’m stunned. I can’t belive how beautifully you capture ordinary objects.

  21. March 15, 2010 5:46 pm

    Simplicity at some of it’s best…these are really great.

  22. marthasnail permalink
    March 15, 2010 7:00 pm

    thanks for the leanne shapton link. i really enjoyed the essay.

    also, i think this week is going to be fantastic. eager to see more everyday photos.

  23. March 15, 2010 8:28 pm

    I’ve been gone, and I just remembered, “Oh! Brain’s blog! I get to look at days and days of pictures!” Cheered me right up. And now you’re going to do every day this week? Beside myself. I think you could make anything lovely. I think you could come over here and make the cat box look lovely.

  24. March 15, 2010 10:33 pm

    That’s the perfect way to put it — like my eyes are closed. My eyes have been closed for over a month. I’ll look forward to what you find this week.

    And thanks for the link to that NY Times post. Really wonderful.

  25. March 15, 2010 10:53 pm

    some really wonderful light, esp in the 1st photo. love your footwear collection! simplicity is a wonderful thing.

  26. March 16, 2010 10:21 am

    i totally know what you mean. i miss having more time to see things and decide what and how to shoot these days. i am always reminded of that when i see film photography, but never digital. isn’t that odd?

  27. March 16, 2010 10:27 am

    great idea, brian. good luck in your eye opening!

  28. emily g permalink
    March 16, 2010 1:53 pm

    thanks, brian. looking forward to these simple moments of yours.

  29. March 16, 2010 6:30 pm

    i love the sentiment of this post. thank.you. for the inspiration to do the same :)

    xo Alison

  30. March 24, 2010 5:18 pm

    i like
    the idea
    of every day
    in theory…
    wish i could
    be inspired
    by the everyday.
    it grates on me.
    i need a fresh
    perspective-
    yours inspires me.

Comments are closed.