Skip to content

brunches

March 31, 2010

. . . . . . . .

confession time: i really don’t like brunch. i know this might surprise some of you, but if i have my choice, i’d rather eat breakfast and then lunch, separately. i do enjoy a long and leisurely meal during the day, but i’d take a sunday roast over a brunch any time. i don’t know why, really. but breakfast is my favorite meal of the day, so combining it with lunch (and waiting to eat breakfast until after noon) is crazy to me.   how i survived 4 years living in new york city and feeling this way is a mystery to me.

but this weekend i had a brunch that was on the early side, it included potato and beer waffles with american-style bacon (or streaky bacon, as they say in the U.K.), and a few cups of great coffee. i cannot complain.

a few things that have caught my eye this week:
+ peter nencini embroidered dining chairs (via ‘all the mountains’)
+ storyville (via ben)
+ a project for my weekend
+ hilarious: the adventures of chopped-off head girl, part 1 (thanks, sam)

23 Comments
  1. March 31, 2010 8:19 am

    I would love to try sunday roast one day. I think I will request that of my friends the next time i visit london!

  2. March 31, 2010 8:35 am

    but what I really want to know is: how do you feel about scones?

    • March 31, 2010 8:37 am

      hahaha. k, as long as we’re eating at ‘jack the horse’ you know how i feel….

  3. danny permalink
    March 31, 2010 8:44 am

    hi brian – really love your blog and your work, you seem to do london better than most londoners i know! just wondered where your brunch was as i love the sound of potato and beer waffles!

    • March 31, 2010 10:51 am

      hey danny, thanks! this was at the modern pantry in clerkenwell.

  4. March 31, 2010 8:51 am

    oh my. how DID YOU live in new york for that long? personally, i love brunch, but then again I am a fan of sleeping in so there you go!

  5. March 31, 2010 8:57 am

    I am a major brunch lover BUT brunch has to start around 10am and go till 1ish. No one wants to see me wait until 12:30 to eat, trust me. I get crazy angry. But 10am brunch? Heaven. Especailly with a mimosa or two (or three).

    And I foresee some bottle lamps in my near future, darn you!!

  6. Ben permalink
    March 31, 2010 9:07 am

    I’m really over paying £10 for poached eggs on toast I think. I can’t really justify it. I have them every morning and it costs me about 70p. Book Club is my pick though.

    You should take your camera to The Regency Cafe.

  7. March 31, 2010 9:09 am

    Sunday roast will always defeat the brunch !!
    Brunch is more continental to me, I guess that when I was visiting Britain every two months, I never thought about having brunch.

    But now, I am so intrigued by the potato and beer waffles !

  8. March 31, 2010 9:32 am

    love those dining chairs. thanks for sharing :)

    xo Alison

  9. March 31, 2010 9:58 am

    :)
    Love this post! Beautiful photos aw always.
    I am right there with ya…the thought of waiting to eat, then waiting another hour at a crowded restaurant with a group of people makes me wanna have a panic attack.
    Sunday roasts are the perfect amount of lazy for me.
    ***
    I’m interested to see how that lamp turns out.
    Hope you have a lovely day.

  10. March 31, 2010 10:17 am

    Brian, I agree with you 100% and I think you are the very first person I’ve ever encountered who feels that way!

  11. Sam permalink
    March 31, 2010 11:06 am

    You are not going to know what I’m talking about til you’ve come home/gotten DVDs and watched the entire new season of Parks & Recreation, but: “I’ve only had one breakfast today. I’m getting hungry.”

    The way to do it is breakfast by ten, lunch/snacks at two, dinner at eight. It’s the only kind schedule for a weekend.

    • Sam permalink
      March 31, 2010 2:19 pm

      (oh, and you are welcome)

  12. dave permalink
    March 31, 2010 12:07 pm

    Brunch? F*** Brunch! Make up your mind! Breakfast? YES! Lunch? YES YES! Sunday roast? YES YES YES! Brunch is the culinary equivalent of the Slanket.

  13. marthasnail permalink
    March 31, 2010 12:36 pm

    these 2 photos pair nicely. i think i’d choose two separate meals as well. still don’t have a favorite brunch spot in VT but i do have a fave bkfst place.

  14. March 31, 2010 2:17 pm

    your weekend sounds like mine. beer & brunch (breakfast, i suppose since it was 10am). thanks for the good laugh (edith zimmerman). totally needed that today.

  15. Kee permalink
    March 31, 2010 3:41 pm

    Hi Brian! My mom just moved to London and I am planning a visit this summer (yay!). Do you have any suggestions for breakfast places??? It is my favorite meal of the day too! And even more importantly… any great coffee shops you’ve found? I’ve seen a lot of great photos of coffee/coffee shops on your blog so I imagine you’ve scouted out some great places. Any advice would be much appreciated!

  16. March 31, 2010 6:05 pm

    I much prefer second breakfast to brunch. And lunch? Well, why eat lunch when you could just have *third* breakfast?

  17. March 31, 2010 7:29 pm

    I totally agree! I feel robbed of a meal if I eat brunch, and I like food too much to enjoy being robbed of a meal!

  18. April 1, 2010 1:43 am

    I absolutely agree that it’s better to have breakfast and then lunch, especially when one can’t stomach a lot of food at once!

  19. April 1, 2010 11:59 am

    i so agree
    with you
    about brunch.
    that bottle lamp project
    looks cool…
    at first i was
    worried
    it was a little
    “dorm room”
    but they really made
    them look amazing!

  20. April 11, 2010 2:02 pm

    I only like brunch if the restaurant also offers lunch items, since I dislike breakfast foods (except in Europe when you can get smoked salmon and things like that……….

Comments are closed.