Skip to content

food & photos

April 1, 2010

. . . . . . . . .

by now, most of my friends have gotten used to the fact that i whip out my camera and snap photos at a meal. when i get to share meals with two lovely ladies who also do the same thing, watch out. people around us were a little perplexed, but it was great fun.

sometimes, i think i should stop taking so many damn photos of my meals … but then i realize that these are the moments when i am happiest, and i love having a record of good food shared with good people. it’s my visual food journal, i guess.

tomorrow is the beginning of a 4-day holiday weekend here in the U.K. i’m hoping to be free from work for at least some of that time, and i. cannot. wait.  i’ve been working too hard lately.  whether you celebrate easter or not, i hope you have a fantastic weekend.  thanks for all of your nice comments this week.

37 Comments
  1. April 1, 2010 6:07 am

    love love your photos :-))

  2. April 1, 2010 6:11 am

    i love all of these, they make me want to go out for a big meal with loads of friends

  3. April 1, 2010 6:12 am

    these are just wonderful!

  4. April 1, 2010 6:13 am

    Have a lovely easter weekend too Brian. Looking forward to see some photos from your holidays. Katarina

  5. April 1, 2010 6:51 am

    food, glorious food. and you capture it so well. wishing you a relaxing weekend and a very happy april.

  6. marthasnail permalink
    April 1, 2010 6:53 am

    looks like a fabulous time. enjoy your long weekend!

  7. April 1, 2010 7:32 am

    all beautiful! i especially like the shot of the table and chairs. it’s so crisp looking.

  8. April 1, 2010 7:44 am

    That place looks amazing, with it’s dark window shutters and shiny red chairs. Enjoy your long weekend!

  9. Suzie permalink
    April 1, 2010 7:47 am

    i m just like you. all my friends got used to me snapping my meals XD
    have a great weekend =)

  10. April 1, 2010 8:07 am

    looks like a wonderful time. and it’s so nice to be surrounded by others who have your same weird habits (not that I think they’re weird!). also- never stop taking photos of your meals. seriously.

  11. April 1, 2010 8:08 am

    great shots brian, you captured the light in there perfectly.
    i like the camera bokeh to my left!
    p.s. i’ll have some variations on this theme to share when i’ve finished scanning…

  12. April 1, 2010 9:21 am

    looks like that was QUITE the meal. i aspire to capture my food as well as you do someday. enjoy the much-deserved break!! i’m taking one too and heading up to brooklyn this weekend.

  13. April 1, 2010 9:56 am

    those red chairs are calling my name. wonderful photos as always, brian :)

    xo Alison

  14. April 1, 2010 10:03 am

    I love what you said about photographing your food, I feel the same and didn’t realize that’s why I take so many photos of it! :)

  15. April 1, 2010 10:08 am

    such fun!
    enjoy your long weekend, brian.

  16. April 1, 2010 10:13 am

    oooh long weekend. good on you. i hope you get some rest too. lately when i’ve gone to dinner with flickr friends i’ve been talking so much, i never get to the camera. case in point with miss turner. :)

  17. April 1, 2010 10:24 am

    i love your food shots, too! keep on taking such great photographs :)

  18. April 1, 2010 10:25 am

    Keep the food shots coming – you know i’m a fan (and you put up with me doing it too for so long)!

  19. April 1, 2010 11:17 am

    I love the saturation in these shots. Enjoy the long weekend, and happy Easter to you.

  20. April 1, 2010 11:36 am

    Enjoy the weekend, Brian.

  21. April 1, 2010 11:56 am

    how i
    adore
    that first shot.
    must be fun
    to dine
    with other
    crazy photographers.
    usually i am the only one.

  22. April 1, 2010 11:58 am

    LOVE shots four and six. Awesome!

  23. April 1, 2010 12:35 pm

    I’m with Hannah. I am far too busy talking with my hands to take photos.

    Brian, these are all so great. But I am particularly in love with the red chairs and green lanterns. Holy moly. Like swoony love.

  24. April 1, 2010 2:11 pm

    haha. i am one of those who take photos of food. and i love it.
    yesterday i was showing my photos to my mom and every time when she saw a photo of food she said something like: “again. you are crazy.”.
    yes, there are many people who don’t understand me but i don’t care. :)

  25. April 1, 2010 2:42 pm

    Lovely images! I make my husband take the food pictures for my blog because I am way too shy to do it myself!

  26. April 1, 2010 2:54 pm

    Oh, gorgeous images here Brian.
    I adore that shot of Claire with her SX70.
    You are doing amazing things with the LCA!

  27. April 1, 2010 4:09 pm

    Oh those red chairs cushions
    and that black window ……. too perfect !!!!!!!

  28. April 1, 2010 4:50 pm

    I wish I could have seen the scene you guys caused with three cameras out at once, that sounds hilarious! I’m so glad you aren’t deterred by others’ reactions because your food photos are always beautiful.

  29. April 2, 2010 12:22 am

    Claire! Charlotte! And that burger! That must be the most perfect burger I have ever seen.

    Have a great long weekend, Brian.

  30. April 2, 2010 1:58 am

    Ah! Food photos. How lovely. It’s making me hungry. My friends still give me weird looks when I whip out my camera during meals.

  31. April 2, 2010 8:16 am

    ha! i do this all the time, taking photos before eating whenever and wherever, well almost :)
    burgers and beer, it’s perfect! lovely shots!!

  32. April 3, 2010 9:05 pm

    oh my! i can only wish to be sitting with you snapping photos…
    i do feel a little shy when i take out my camera at cafes…but i channel you and do it anyway.
    xo

  33. April 6, 2010 9:54 am

    damn these are good. you are a ninja with your camera,
    foster

  34. April 6, 2010 9:05 pm

    would you get a LOAD of those chairs. dang, those are fine…

  35. Pen permalink
    April 6, 2010 10:59 pm

    I become frustrated when I serve a dish that I’ve lovingly cooked to a table and they spend FOREVER taking pictures of it. Eat it up before it gets cold!

  36. April 7, 2010 11:34 am

    oh *sigh*

    what a perfect combination. the pictures, i mean, and the day as such.

  37. April 10, 2010 8:29 pm

    The table and chairs waiting for patrons … poetry.

Comments are closed.