Skip to content

people

April 16, 2010


. . . . . .

top photo is mine (obviously), hiding behind my camera.

bottom photos: 1. Morning, 2. Untitled, 3. Untitled, 4. Untitled, 5. Untitled, 6. Taken by my mother.
be sure to click on the photo link to view the full size. it’s worth it.

. . . . . .

i am inspired by people who do something well that i can’t do myself. when it comes to photography, i am inspired by photographers who shoot interesting portraits and photos of people. i don’t have much practice and it’s something i desperately would like to get better at shooting. the photos above all capture something really wonderful, i think … most (if not all) of them were shot with film and they take advantage of some beautiful light. these photos are all very natural – they capture people in a moment, quietly and gracefully. i prefer this to a staged portrait. i hope to work up the courage to to take photos like this eventually.

friday! that means the weekend is ahead. i’m going to meet friends to sit outside in the sun, and i’m also looking forward to a sunday roast and the weekend papers. whatever you do, have a super weekend. see you next week.

22 Comments
  1. April 16, 2010 8:02 am

    well, well, well. hello mr. ferry. nice to put a face to the blog. i know what you mean about portrait photography. i don’t feel comfortable having the camera pointed in my direction so it stands to reason that i don’t know how to make other people feel comfortable in front of the camera. instead i focus on details. a smile, interlaced fingers, feet, a strand of hair.

    happy weekend to you.

  2. April 16, 2010 8:04 am

    i know what you mean about being inspired by people who do something well that you can’t. that’s how i feel about anyone who can draw or sing.

    love the first photo. have a wonderful weekend!

    xo Alison

  3. April 16, 2010 8:12 am

    I wish I was a better portrait photographer as well. I think I’m also at my best when I focus on small details and gestures but there’s something to be said for stepping out of one’s comfort zone. One photographer I really like, Liz Kuball, did a project called Portrait Month a few years ago, where she made a portrait a day for a month straight to get over her unease about portraiture. Maybe I’ll do that…

    Also, since I work on the weekends, Friday is technically my Wednesday. So I’m counting down the days to Monday, which is my Saturday. (Phew!) Hope you have a great weekend too!

  4. April 16, 2010 8:44 am

    i’ve been really enjoying shooting people lately…these shots are great inspiration.
    happy weekend!

  5. victoria permalink
    April 16, 2010 9:01 am

    Very nice. I find it much easier to shoot people than anything else. I wonder what makes that so? You did a wonderful job on the self portrait.

  6. April 16, 2010 9:11 am

    after seeing that exhibition, it’s all i’ve been thinking about. portraits of people. or even just portraits of nathan. i’m working on it. happy weekend, brian!

  7. April 16, 2010 10:05 am

    I love off the cuff shots (and my Flickr stream is full of strangers & friends in these random activities)..the problem I have is getting them to pose for me…so I joined the 100 Strangers group.

    Although I am still at number 6, I feel at least I now have a mission and a reason to shoot these photos! :)

    Hope you have a great weekend!! :)

  8. Jean Prescott permalink
    April 16, 2010 11:05 am

    Your dad’s a handsome guy; think we must have achieved adulthood in the same era. Can’t evaluate YOUR looks since you’ve covered half your face with a camera. And you already take some smashing photos (as your new Brit buds might say).

  9. April 16, 2010 11:17 am

    Portraits are tough. My favorites are the ones that really capture what person is doing while not looking to staged or posed. I think your favorites really show that.

    Happy weekend!

  10. April 16, 2010 11:19 am

    I love portraits. I have a friend who takes really beautiful candid portraits and honestly, they seem to capture the essence of each person. I aspire to be that good one day.

    Enjoy the weekend.

  11. April 16, 2010 11:52 am

    i totally know what you mean! i love your shots of things, places, and moments and i don’t think every photographer needs to shoot both. you are so great at capturing subtle moments that portrait photographers would often overlook.

  12. April 16, 2010 12:04 pm

    I would like to shoot more portraits as well. I find it much more of a challenge.

    Have a good weekend.

  13. April 16, 2010 12:10 pm

    lovely faces!

  14. April 16, 2010 12:23 pm

    Oh I love portraiture, my dream would be to travel the world taking photos of amazing and interesting faces ….. so great to see you peeking behind your camera !!!

  15. April 16, 2010 12:57 pm

    These are wonderful choices to share…quite inspiring to step outside the box of the normal.

  16. April 16, 2010 1:43 pm

    I also wish I’d take more portraits. rthanks for reminding me about it. x

    ps. love your mirror selfportraits.

  17. sunneschii permalink
    April 16, 2010 1:46 pm

    I like the mood of all these pictures. And even though they weren’t taken by the same photorapher, they look well together.

  18. April 16, 2010 1:58 pm

    thanks again Brian for including me in your selection… Have a great week-end!

  19. margaret permalink
    April 16, 2010 2:50 pm

    bf! you are like a sophisticated Wilson from Home Improvement, hiding behind your camera like that. love the pic of your dad. Have a great weekend!

  20. April 16, 2010 3:21 pm

    Same! I like hiding behind my camera and I’m scared of pointing my camera at people. Let’s exchange ideas on how to work on this next time.

  21. elizabeth permalink
    April 16, 2010 5:49 pm

    thank you for giving us a glimpse of your face.

  22. April 17, 2010 9:18 am

    I just love the sound of a Sunday Roast. It sounds so, well, British.

Comments are closed.